Help Ukraine

Earthquakes in or near New York State, USA

Updated May 20, 2022 06:45 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 6 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 24 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 131 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
Since 1900, New York has had 6 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 24 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, and 131 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 3.1 | 24 km W of Kanata, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.6 | 12 mi NE of Moultonborough, Carroll County, New Hampshire, USA -

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near New York, USA | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 3 or higher (161 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
May 10, 2022 10:12 am (GMT -4) (May 10, 2022 14:12 GMT)
3.1

12 km
2587 km (1607 mi)Renfrew County, 38 km west of Kanata, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada 138 reportsMoreMap
Jul 14, 2021 23:35 GMT
3.2

2 km
2665 km (1656 mi)New York, USA, 13 mi west of Cornwall, Ontario, Canada 134 reportsMoreMap
Mar 13, 2021 7:50 pm (GMT -5) (Mar 14, 2021 00:50 GMT)
3.3

18 km
2641 km (1641 mi)57 km south of Ottawa, Ontario, Canada 280 reportsMoreMap
Nov 8, 2020 9:10 am (GMT -5) (Nov 8, 2020 14:10 GMT)
3.6

10 km
2758 km (1714 mi)59 miles south of Boston, Massachusetts 3928 reportsMoreMap
9 Sep 2020 9:00am EDT (Sep 9, 2020 06:00 GMT)
3.1

5 km
2731 km (1697 mi)Monmouth County, New Jersey, 1.5 mi east of Freehold, USA 701 reportsMoreMap
2020-05-06 10:03:40 -05:00 (May 6, 2020 15:03 GMT)
3.1

10 km
2787 km (1732 mi)19 km southwest of Cowansville, Montérégie, Quebec, Canada 40 reportsMoreMap
2020-03-11 05:43:39 -05:00 (Mar 11, 2020 10:43 GMT)
3.1

13 km
2706 km (1681 mi)2.6 mi west of Kingsbury, Washington County, New York, USA 120 reportsMoreMap
2020-01-13 05:38:00 -05:00 (Jan 13, 2020 10:38 GMT)
3.3

10.7 km
2712 km (1685 mi)30 km southeast of Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, Montérégie, Quebec, Canada 129 reportsMoreMap
2019-06-12 19:30:57 -05:00 (Jun 13, 2019 00:30 GMT)
3.4

27 km
2364 km (1469 mi)6.3 mi northeast of East Rutherford, Juniata County, Pennsylvania, USA 144 reportsMoreMap
2019-04-09 06:22:43 -05:00 (Apr 9, 2019 11:22 GMT)
3.0

7.1 km
2670 km (1659 mi)North Atlantic Ocean, 43 mi southeast of Hampton Bays, Suffolk County, New York, USA 3 reportsMoreMap
Nov 28, 2015 05:16 GMT
3.7

3 km
2648 km (1645 mi)New York, USA, 4 mi south of Cornwall, Ontario, Canada 100 reportsMoreMap
Sep 27, 2015 03:16 GMT
3.0

1 km
2635 km (1637 mi)16 mi southeast of Richmondville, Schoharie County, New York, USA 4 reportsMoreMap
2015-07-15 18:00:18 -04:00 (Jul 15, 2015 22:00 GMT)
3.7

10.2 km
2670 km (1659 mi)15 km south of Hawkesbury, Prescott and Russell United Counties, Ontario, Canada 47 reportsMoreMap
Monday, January 12, 2015 06:36:38 (Jan 12, 2015 11:36 GMT)
3.3

6.5 km
2797 km (1738 mi)17 mi northeast of Norwich, New London County, Connecticut, USA 11 reportsMoreMap
Monday, March 10, 2014 02:26:45 (Mar 10, 2014 06:26 GMT)
3.0

2.5 km
2113 km (1313 mi)6.3 mi east of Boardman, Mahoning County, Ohio, USA MoreMap
Feb 7, 2014 15:45 GMT
3.1

13 km
2731 km (1697 mi)20 km south of Saint-Rémi, Montérégie, Quebec, Canada 1 reportMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.3 x 1013 joules (14.6 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 12581 tons of TNT or 0.8 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

New York Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in New York?

The last earthquake in New York occurred 12 days ago: Light mag. 3.1 earthquake - Renfrew County, 38 km west of Kanata, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, on Tuesday, May 10, 2022 at 10:12 am (GMT -4).

How many quakes were there in New York since 1900?

Since 1900, New York, USA had 161 quakes up to magnitude 5.6.

What was the strongest quake in New York since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in New York since 1900 occurred 81 years ago: Strong mag. 5.6 earthquake - 12 mi northeast of Moultonborough, Carroll County, New Hampshire, USA, on Tuesday, December 24, 1940 at 13:43 GMT.

Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.