Latest earthquakes in or near Nicaragua, past 30 days

Updated 8 Mar 2021 09:26 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Nicaragua was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.2, 13 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 76 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 93 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 12 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 5.2 quake Departamento de Jinotega, 54 km north of Matagalpa, Nicaragua, 7 Feb 2021 12:02 pm (GMT -6)
Biggest quake today: 3.2 quake North Pacific Ocean, 78 km southwest of Leon, Nicaragua, 7 Mar 2021 11:10 am (GMT -6)
Most recent quake: 3.0 quake North Pacific Ocean, 96 km southwest of Rivas, Nicaragua, 8 Mar 2021 12:00 am (GMT -6)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 3.2 or higher (69 out of 195 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Mon, 8 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
8 Mar 2021 12:00 am (GMT -6) (8 Mar 2021 06:00:22 GMT)
3.0

23 km
(108 km)North Pacific Ocean, 96 km southwest of Rivas, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
7 Mar 2021 9:23 pm (GMT -6) (8 Mar 2021 03:23:18 GMT)
2.9

35 km
(60 km)North Pacific Ocean, 75 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Sun, 7 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
7 Mar 2021 11:10 am (GMT -6) (7 Mar 2021 17:10:03 GMT)
3.2

5 km
(95 km)North Pacific Ocean, 78 km southwest of Leon, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
7 Mar 2021 1:39 am (GMT -6) (7 Mar 2021 07:39:07 GMT)
3.9

5 km
(77 km)Departamento de La Paz, 20 km southwest of Comayagua, Honduras
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sat, 6 Mar 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
6 Mar 2021 7:15 am (GMT -6) (6 Mar 2021 13:15:02 GMT)
3.5

27 km
(102 km)North Pacific Ocean, 90 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
6 Mar 2021 6:21 am (GMT -6) (6 Mar 2021 12:21:43 GMT)
3.4

37 km
(56 km)North Pacific Ocean, 64 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 10:10 pm (GMT -6) (6 Mar 2021 04:10:42 GMT)
3.2

5 km
(43 km)13 km southwest of Choluteca, Honduras
I FELT IT
MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 10:02 pm (GMT -6) (6 Mar 2021 04:02:43 GMT)
3.3

35 km
(63 km)North Pacific Ocean, 72 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 7:41 pm (GMT -6) (6 Mar 2021 01:41:11 GMT)
3.7

13 km
San Cristobal (8 km)21 km northeast of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Fri, 5 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
5 Mar 2021 5:01 am (GMT -6) (5 Mar 2021 11:01:16 GMT)
3.7

35 km
(65 km)North Pacific Ocean, 75 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
5 Mar 2021 4:01 am (GMT -6) (5 Mar 2021 10:01:00 GMT)
3.3

32 km
(71 km)North Pacific Ocean, 99 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
4 Mar 2021 11:07 pm (GMT -6) (5 Mar 2021 05:07:11 GMT)
3.3

18 km
(140 km)North Pacific Ocean, 131 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thu, 4 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Mar 2021 10:06 am (GMT -6) (4 Mar 2021 16:06:05 GMT)
4.6

72 km
(57 km)North Pacific Ocean, 83 km south of Managua, Nicaragua
I FELT IT - 7 reports
MoreMap
Wed, 3 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
3 Mar 2021 3:10 pm (GMT -6) (3 Mar 2021 21:10:19 GMT)
3.2

35 km
(60 km)North Pacific Ocean, 74 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 6:01 am (GMT -6) (3 Mar 2021 12:01:15 GMT)
3.5

20 km
(100 km)North Pacific Ocean, 104 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
3 Mar 2021 2:37 am (GMT -6) (3 Mar 2021 08:37:47 GMT)
3.4

10 km
San Cristobal (6 km)20 km northeast of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 2 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2 Mar 2021 1:20 pm (GMT -6) (2 Mar 2021 19:20:45 GMT)
3.2

16 km
San Cristobal (156 km)North Pacific Ocean, 144 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 de febrero del 2021 11:55 pm (1 Mar 2021 05:55:00 GMT)
4.1

11 km
(88 km)North Pacific Ocean, 76 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica MoreMap
Sat, 27 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Feb 2021 10:54 pm (GMT -6) (27 Feb 2021 04:54:00 GMT)
3.4

88 km
Arenal (8 km) - Costa RicaSan Ramon, 38 km west of Quesada, San Carlos, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica MoreMap
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Feb 2021 5:13 pm (GMT -6) (26 Feb 2021 23:13:21 GMT)
3.4

10 km
Zapatera (6 km)28 km southeast of Granada, Nicaragua MoreMap
Thu, 25 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
24 Feb 2021 11:22 pm (GMT -6) (25 Feb 2021 05:22:14 GMT)
3.4

14 km
(105 km)North Pacific Ocean, 113 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica MoreMap
24 de febrero del 2021 11:22 pm (25 Feb 2021 05:22:00 GMT)
4.2

15 km
(107 km)North Pacific Ocean, 114 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica MoreMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
24 de febrero del 2021 4:46 am (24 Feb 2021 10:46:00 GMT)
4.0

112 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (26 km)33 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
24 Feb 2021 3:04 am (GMT -6) (24 Feb 2021 09:04:49 GMT)
3.6

35 km
(44 km)North Pacific Ocean, 52 km northwest of Liberia, Costa Rica MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 6:52 pm (GMT -6) (24 Feb 2021 00:52:54 GMT)
3.3

10 km
(37 km)13 km northwest of Siguatepeque, Departamento de Comayagua, Honduras 1 reportMoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 4:27 am (GMT -6) (23 Feb 2021 10:27:30 GMT)
3.8

18 km
(59 km)North Pacific Ocean, 110 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica MoreMap
23 de febrero del 2021 4:27 am (23 Feb 2021 10:27:00 GMT)
3.8

18 km
(120 km)North Pacific Ocean, 110 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
22 Feb 2021 3:27 pm (GMT -6) (22 Feb 2021 21:27:01 GMT)
4.8

35 km
(105 km)North Pacific Ocean, 99 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 3:05 pm (GMT -6) (22 Feb 2021 21:05:01 GMT)
4.6

35 km
(106 km)North Pacific Ocean, 91 km southwest of Corinto, Nicaragua MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 3:05 pm (GMT -6) (22 Feb 2021 21:05:00 GMT)
3.8

36 km
(114 km)North Pacific Ocean, 114 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
22 Feb 2021 3:53 am (GMT -6) (22 Feb 2021 09:53:31 GMT)
3.2

23 km
(84 km)North Pacific Ocean, 79 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica MoreMap
22 de febrero del 2021 3:53 am (22 Feb 2021 09:53:00 GMT)
4.0

14 km
(85 km)North Pacific Ocean, 83 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica 1 reportMoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
17 Feb 2021 9:34 am (GMT -6) (17 Feb 2021 15:34:14 GMT)
3.3

13 km
(144 km)North Pacific Ocean, 158 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
16 Feb 2021 5:57 am (GMT -6) (16 Feb 2021 11:57:49 GMT)
3.5

22 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (102 km)North Pacific Ocean, 97 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
16 Feb 2021 4:02 am (GMT -6) (16 Feb 2021 10:02:20 GMT)
3.2

10 km
(37 km)Departamento de Cabañas, 15 km northeast of Sensuntepeque, El Salvador MoreMap
16 Feb 2021 2:06 am (GMT -6) (16 Feb 2021 08:06:02 GMT)
3.2

26 km
(81 km)North Pacific Ocean, 73 km south of Usulutan, El Salvador MoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
15 Feb 2021 12:44 pm (GMT -6) (15 Feb 2021 18:44:29 GMT)
3.9

36 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (80 km)North Pacific Ocean, 48 km southwest of San Rafael del Sur, Nicaragua MoreMap
15 Feb 2021 2:26 am (GMT -6) (15 Feb 2021 08:26:16 GMT)
3.5

28 km
(134 km)North Pacific Ocean, 144 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 9:20 pm (GMT -6) (15 Feb 2021 03:20:45 GMT)
3.2

27 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (101 km)North Pacific Ocean, 99 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 4:34 pm (GMT -6) (14 Feb 2021 22:34:07 GMT)
3.3

31 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (105 km)North Pacific Ocean, 98 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 3:15 pm (GMT -6) (14 Feb 2021 21:15:55 GMT)
3.2

39 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (97 km)North Pacific Ocean, 88 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
14 de febrero del 2021 3:22 am (14 Feb 2021 09:22:00 GMT)
3.8

15 km
(43 km)North Pacific Ocean, 64 km northwest of Liberia, Costa Rica MoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
13 Feb 2021 4:46 pm (GMT -6) (13 Feb 2021 22:46:19 GMT)
3.2

18 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (101 km)North Pacific Ocean, 68 km southwest of San Rafael del Sur, Nicaragua MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 4:46 pm (GMT -6) (13 Feb 2021 22:46:03 GMT)
4.2

10 km
(152 km)14 km southeast of Siuna, North Caribbean Coast, Nicaragua 1 reportMoreMap
13 Feb 2021 4:11 pm (GMT -6) (13 Feb 2021 22:11:30 GMT)
3.7

23 km
(78 km)Santa Cruz, 45 km northwest of Nicoya, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 8:28 am (GMT -6) (13 Feb 2021 14:28:20 GMT)
3.3

10 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (108 km)North Pacific Ocean, 114 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 11:08 pm (GMT -6) (13 Feb 2021 05:08:19 GMT)
3.6

10 km
(112 km)North Pacific Ocean, 94 km southwest of Rivas, Nicaragua MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 8:18 pm (GMT -6) (13 Feb 2021 02:18:29 GMT)
3.6

10 km
(75 km)49 km east of Matagalpa, Nicaragua MoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
12 Feb 2021 5:10 pm (GMT -6) (12 Feb 2021 23:10:25 GMT)
4.2

10 km
(338 km)Caribbean Sea, Honduras MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 11:41 pm (GMT -6) (12 Feb 2021 05:41:33 GMT)
3.6

65 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (45 km)North Pacific Ocean, 52 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (7 earthquakes)
11 Feb 2021 7:07 am (GMT -6) (11 Feb 2021 13:07:14 GMT)
3.9

13 km
(188 km)North Pacific Ocean, 199 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 4:15 am (GMT -6) (11 Feb 2021 10:15:58 GMT)
3.7

37 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (106 km)North Pacific Ocean, 97 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 3:22 am (GMT -6) (11 Feb 2021 09:22:17 GMT)
3.6

22 km
(118 km)North Pacific Ocean, 126 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 3:08 am (GMT -6) (11 Feb 2021 09:08:30 GMT)
3.2

172 km
Maderas (28 km)32 km southeast of Rivas, Nicaragua MoreMap
11 de febrero del 2021 3:08 am (11 Feb 2021 09:08:00 GMT)
3.2

172 km
Maderas (25 km)32 km southeast of Rivas, Nicaragua MoreMap
11 Feb 2021 12:34 am (GMT -6) (11 Feb 2021 06:34:24 GMT)
3.6

10 km
(105 km)Departamento de El Paraiso, 39 km east of Tegucigalpa, Honduras MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 8:40 pm (GMT -6) (11 Feb 2021 02:40:48 GMT)
4.8

23 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (95 km)North Pacific Ocean, 86 km south of Leon, Nicaragua 5 reportsMoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
10 Feb 2021 4:04 pm (GMT -6) (10 Feb 2021 22:04:51 GMT)
4.0

144 km
Mombacho (16 km)Granada, 59 km south of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 1:26 pm (GMT -6) (10 Feb 2021 19:26:02 GMT)
3.6

25 km
San Cristobal (92 km)North Pacific Ocean, 79 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 10:57 pm (GMT -6) (10 Feb 2021 04:57:55 GMT)
3.8

18 km
(100 km)Caribbean Sea, 69 km north of Puerto Limon, Costa Rica MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 9:53 pm (GMT -6) (10 Feb 2021 03:53:34 GMT)
3.3

22 km
(147 km)North Pacific Ocean, 190 km south of San Salvador, El Salvador 2 reportsMoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
08 de febrero del 2021 11:32 pm (9 Feb 2021 05:32:00 GMT)
3.6

23 km
(111 km)North Pacific Ocean, 97 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
8 Feb 2021 4:53 am (GMT -6) (8 Feb 2021 10:53:47 GMT)
3.8

26 km
Nejapa-Miraflores (141 km)North Pacific Ocean, 147 km southwest of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 4:42 am (GMT -6) (8 Feb 2021 10:42:01 GMT)
3.9

10 km
(237 km)Departamento de Jinotega, 257 km east of Tegucigalpa, Honduras 1 reportMoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
7 Feb 2021 12:02 pm (GMT -6) (7 Feb 2021 18:02:59 GMT)
4.3

91 km
(37 km)North Pacific Ocean, 30 km south of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 12:02 pm (GMT -6) (7 Feb 2021 18:02:51 GMT)
5.2

10 km
(68 km)Departamento de Jinotega, 54 km north of Matagalpa, Nicaragua 1 reportMoreMap
6 Feb 2021 7:17 pm (GMT -6) (7 Feb 2021 01:17:00 GMT)
3.7

15 km
(116 km)North Pacific Ocean, 94 km west of Nicoya, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica MoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
6 Feb 2021 4:39 pm (GMT -6) (6 Feb 2021 22:39:00 GMT)
4.1

3 km
(102 km)North Pacific Ocean, 88 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica 1 reportMoreMap
6 Feb 2021 5:44 am (GMT -6) (6 Feb 2021 11:44:27 GMT)
3.4

18 km
(120 km)North Pacific Ocean, 123 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Interactive map
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.7 x 1012 joules (2.42 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 2080 tons of TNT or 0.1 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrsMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Français | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel