Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Nunavut on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 1, 2022 15:47 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 7
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 31 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 207 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Nunavut has had 1 quake of magnitude 7.7, 4 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, 31 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 207 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 5.1 | Canada -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.7 | 299 km N of Clyde River, Nunavut, Canada -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (243 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Jul 12, 2022 12:58 pm (GMT -4) (Jul 12, 2022 16:58 GMT)
5.1

8 km
1859 km (1155 mi)Canada More
Jul 7, 2022 5:35 pm (GMT -5) (Jul 7, 2022 22:35 GMT)
4.1

18 km
1964 km (1220 mi)92 km north of Clyde River, Nunavut, Canada More
May 13, 2022 4:03 pm (GMT -4) (May 13, 2022 20:03 GMT)
4.1

18 km
2548 km (1583 mi)256 km southeast of Salluit, Nord-du-Québec, Quebec, Canada More
Nov 4, 2021 15:30 GMT
4.2

18 km
1794 km (1115 mi)113 km northeast of Pangnirtung, Nunavut, Canada More
Nov 4, 2021 11:19 GMT
4.0

18 km
1794 km (1115 mi)111 km east of Pangnirtung, Nunavut, Canada More
Oct 29, 2021 9:48 am (GMT -4) (Oct 29, 2021 13:48 GMT)
5.2

18 km
1878 km (1167 mi)162 km north of Pangnirtung, Nunavut, Canada 2 reportsMore
Sep 26, 2021 3:55 am (GMT -5) (Sep 26, 2021 08:55 GMT)
4.5

18 km
2115 km (1314 mi)Canada More
Sep 4, 2021 1:58 pm (GMT -5) (Sep 4, 2021 18:58 GMT)
4.0

18 km
2093 km (1301 mi)Canada More
10 Jun 7:20 am (GMT -4) (Jun 10, 2021 11:20 GMT)
4.8

5 km
2572 km (1598 mi)245 km south of Salluit, Nord-du-Québec, Quebec, Canada 3 reportsMore
24 May 12:12 pm (GMT -4) (May 24, 2021 16:12 GMT)
4.4

18 km
1808 km (1123 mi)Canada More
Feb 12, 2021 18:56 GMT
4.1

18 km
1595 km (991 mi)Arctic Ocean, Canada More
Dec 9, 2020 6:44 pm (GMT +0) (Dec 9, 2020 18:44 GMT)
4.2

18 km
2021 km (1256 mi)127 km north of Cornwallis Island, Nunavut, Canada More
Nov 22, 2020 9:50 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 23, 2020 03:50 GMT)
5.3

18 km
1995 km (1240 mi)140 Km N From Fort Ross, NU, Canada 1 reportMore
Nov 3, 2020 12:37 pm (GMT -7) (Nov 3, 2020 19:37 GMT)
4.0

18 km
1815 km (1128 mi)196 Km NE From Mould Bay, NT, Canada More
Nov 3, 2020 2:05 am (GMT -7) (Nov 3, 2020 09:05 GMT)
4.3

18 km
1819 km (1130 mi)200 Km NE From Mould Bay, NT, Canada More
Oct 22, 2020 1:22 am (GMT -6) (Oct 22, 2020 07:22 GMT)
4.4

18 km
2155 km (1339 mi)141 Km SE From Resolute, NU, Canada More
Oct 20, 2020 11:47 am (GMT -5) (Oct 20, 2020 16:47 GMT)
4.3

18 km
2032 km (1263 mi)136 km northwest of Clyde River, Canada, Nunavut More
Oct 20, 2020 16:42 GMT
4.1

18 km
2034 km (1264 mi)137 km northwest of Clyde River, Canada, Nunavut More
2020-05-06 08:55:04 -07:00 (May 6, 2020 15:55 GMT)
4.9

13 km
1320 km (820 mi)373 km east of Fort Smith, Northwest Territories, Canada 2 reportsMore
Apr 21, 2020 00:35 GMT
4.1

10 km
1839 km (1143 mi)297 km northwest of Clyde River, Canada, Nunavut 1 reportMore
2019-11-20 08:25:43 -06:00 (Nov 20, 2019 14:25 GMT)
4.2

10 km
1727 km (1073 mi)264km SE of Resolute, Canada More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.3 x 1016 joules (6423 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 5.5 x 106 tons of TNT or 345.4 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Kullorsuaq, Greenland (KULLO/DK network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Kullorsuaq, Greenland: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Nunavut Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in or near Nunavut?

The last earthquake in or near Nunavut occurred 12 weeks ago: Strong mag. 5.1 earthquake - Canada on Tuesday, Jul 12, 2022 at 12:58 pm (GMT -4).

How many quakes were there in or near Nunavut since 1900?

Since 1900, Nunavut, Canada had 243 quakes up to magnitude 7.7.

What was the strongest quake in or near Nunavut since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in or near Nunavut since 1900 occurred 89 years ago: Major magnitude 7.7 earthquake - 299 km north of Clyde River, Nunavut, Canada, on Monday, November 20, 1933 at 23:21 GMT.

Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings