Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
6 quakes Mag. 1+
1 quake Mag. 3+
Number of quakes vs long-term average, past 7 days
Earthquake activity above average

Latest quakes in or near Poland - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 2.3 earthquake 2 km east of Lubin, Lower Silesia, Poland -
Strongest past 30 daysMag. 3.3 10.7 km southeast of Glogow, Lower Silesia, Poland - Feb 11, 2024 -
Updated: Mar 2, 2024 20:41 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Poland in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake in or near Poland, find out which quakes are happening right now!
There were no significant confirmed earthquakes in or near Poland in the past 24 hours.
In the past 30 days, Poland has had 33 quakes of magnitudes up to 3.3:
  • 9 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 17 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 7 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Number of quakes per year

Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Check for new quakes now!
in sec
Pause automatic refreshing
Showing all recent or significant quakes in the past 30 days, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance (33 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Mar 1, 02:46 pm (Warsaw)
Mar 1, 13:46 GMT
2.3

1 km
2 km east of Lubin, Lower Silesia, Poland Info
Thursday, February 29, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 29, 08:35 pm (Warsaw)
Feb 29, 19:35 GMT
2.2

1 km
12 km east of Glogow, Lower Silesia, Poland Info
Wednesday, February 28, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 28, 11:07 pm (Warsaw)
Feb 28, 22:07 GMT
3.0

10 km
16 km north of Lubin, Lower Silesia, Poland
I FELT IT - 1 report
Info
Tuesday, February 27, 2024 GMT (2 quakes)
Feb 27, 10:00 am (Bratislava)
Feb 27, 09:00 GMT

1.3

10 km
41 km (25 mi) to the S Banska Bystrica, 35 km southwest of Deutschendorf, Presov, Slovakia Info
Feb 27, 05:47 am (Warsaw)
Feb 27, 04:47 GMT
2.5

1 km
1.9 km east of Polkowice, Lower Silesia, Poland Info
Monday, February 26, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 26, 10:35 am (Warsaw)
Feb 26, 08:35 GMT

2.1

1 km
6.8 km east of Lubin, Lower Silesia, Poland Info
Saturday, February 24, 2024 GMT (2 quakes)
Feb 24, 06:53 pm (Warsaw)
Feb 24, 16:53 GMT
2.2

1 km
7.2 km south of Glogow, Lower Silesia, Poland Info
Feb 24, 03:01 pm (Warsaw)
Feb 24, 14:01 GMT
2.5

1 km
10.7 km southeast of Glogow, Lower Silesia, Poland Info
Friday, February 23, 2024 GMT (1 quake)
Feb 23, 05:51 pm (Warsaw)
Feb 23, 16:51 GMT
2.7

10 km
9.6 km northwest of Legnica, Lower Silesia, Poland Info
Thursday, February 22, 2024 GMT (4 quakes)
Feb 22, 02:35 pm (Bratislava)
Feb 22, 13:35 GMT
2.0

0 km
18 km (11 mi) to the SE 17 km north of Humenné, Presov, Slovakia Info
Feb 22, 12:54 pm (universal)
Feb 22, 12:54 GMT

2.9

0 km
29 km (18 mi) to the S 18 km northwest of Humenné, Presov, Slovakia 1 reportInfo
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.5 x 1010 joules (9.6 megawatt hours, equivalent to 8.26 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Poland Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Quakes, magnitude and depth over time

Past 48 hrs
Past 7 days
14 days
30 days
1 year
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time
Earthquake depth plot
Depth and magnitude of quakes over time

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: PLSN Station Belsk, Poland (BEL/PL network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station PLSN Station Belsk, Poland: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 1,900 quakes on average per year in Poland:
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 0.1 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 10 years)
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 7.2 quakes per year
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 60 quakes per year
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 165 quakes per year (or 13.8 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 182 quakes per year (or 15.2 quakes per month)
Poland has relatively few earthquakes. However, Poland has had at least 73 quakes above magnitude 4 since 2014, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 1 to 5 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near Poland by magnitude

7 days
30 days
90 days
365 days
3 years
10 years
Table
Mag
 
Number of quakes (6 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
1 quake
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (16.67%)
2+
4 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (66.67%)
below M2
1 quake
(16.67%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (33 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
9 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (27.27%)
2+
17 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (51.52%)
below M2
7 quakes
(21.21%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (82 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (2.44%)
3+
18 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (21.95%)
2+
48 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (58.54%)
below M2
14 quakes
(17.07%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (193 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
1 quake
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.52%)
4+
9 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (4.66%)
3+
60 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (31.09%)
2+
94 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (48.7%)
below M2
29 quakes
(15.03%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (467 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
1 quake
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.21%)
4+
24 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (5.14%)
3+
166 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (35.55%)
2+
167 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (35.76%)
below M2
109 quakes
(23.34%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (1,874 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
1 quake
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.05%)
4+
72 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (3.84%)
3+
538 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (28.71%)
2+
1,063 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (56.72%)
below M2
200 quakes
(10.67%)
Total number<M2M2+M3+M4+M5+M6+M7+
Past 7 days6 quakes141----
Past 30 days33 quakes3179----
Past 90 days82 quakes948182---
Past 365 days193 quakes21946091--
Past 3 years467 quakes89167166241--
Past 10 years1,874 quakes1741,063538721--
Magnitude 0.0+, within up to 50 km (31 mi) distance, updated

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Magnitude and seismic energy over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: Past 90 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 30 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 7 days
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 24 hours
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 2023
Magnitude and seismic energy over time: 2024 so far

Magnitude and energy distribution

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Magnitude and energy distribution: Past 90 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 30 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 7 days
Magnitude and energy distribution: 24 hours
Magnitude and energy distribution: 2023
Magnitude and energy distribution: 2024 so far

Poland Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in Poland?

Poland has relatively few earthquakes. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 1,900 quakes on average per year in Poland. However, Poland has had at least 73 quakes above magnitude 4 since 2014, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 1 to 5 years.

When was the latest earthquake in Poland?

The last earthquake in Poland occurred 1 day 7 hours ago and had a magnitude of 2.3:

A light magnitude 2.3 earthquake hit 2 km (1.2 mi) away from Lubin, Lower Silesia,  Poland, in the early afternoon of Friday, Mar 1, 2024 at 2.46 pm local time (Europe/Warsaw GMT +1). The quake had a very shallow depth of 1 km (0.6 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

How many quakes were there in Poland in the past 30 days?

In the past 30 days, Poland has had 9 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 17 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There have been also 7 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

What was the strongest quake in Poland in the past 30 days?

The strongest earthquake in Poland in the past 30 days had a magnitude of 3.3 and occurred 3 weeks ago:

A light magnitude 3.3 earthquake hit 10.7 km (7 mi) away from Glogow, Lower Silesia,  Poland, in the morning of Sunday, Feb 11, 2024 at 8.54 am local time (Europe/Warsaw GMT +1). The quake had a very shallow depth of 10 km (6 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Poland

Strongest in 10 years

Mag. 5.0 earthquake 41 km east of Prešov, Presov, Slovakia - Oct 9, 2023 -
The largest quake that occurred in or near Poland during the past 10 years was a magnitude 5.0 earthquake that hit Presov,  Slovakia, 21 weeks ago on Monday, Oct 9, 2023, at 08:23 pm local time (Europe/Bratislava GMT +2).

Strongest since 1900

41 years ago, Lower Silesia,  Poland, was hit by a magnitude 5.8 quake on Saturday, Aug 6, 1983, at 03:20 am local time (Europe/Warsaw GMT +2). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near Poland in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes in or near Poland in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Oct 9, 2023 18:23 GMT
Oct 9, 2023 08:23 pm (Bratislava)
5.0

8.3 km
23 km (14 mi) to the S 41 km east of Prešov, Presov, Slovakia 778 reportsInfo
Sep 26, 2023 15:54 GMT
Sep 26, 2023 05:54 pm (Warsaw)
4.5

5 km
17 km northwest of Lubin, Lower Silesia, Poland 5 reportsInfo
Sep 19, 2023 16:04 GMT
Sep 19, 2023 06:04 pm (Warsaw)
4.6

5 km
12 km north of Lubin, Lower Silesia, Poland 14 reportsInfo
Apr 7, 2022 16:58 GMT
Apr 7, 2022 06:58 pm (Warsaw)
4.7

8.4 km
8.6 km northwest of Lubin, Lower Silesia, Poland 11 reportsInfo
Jul 8, 2020 05:19 GMT
Jul 8, 2020 07:19 am (Warsaw)
4.8

3 km
4.1 km northwest of Polkowice, polkowicki, Dolnośląskie, Poland 53 reportsInfo
Apr 3, 2019 18:18 GMT
Apr 3, 2019 08:18 pm (Warsaw)
4.6

750 km
19 km northeast of Zamość, Lublin, Poland 1 reportInfo
Jan 29, 2019 12:53 GMT
Jan 29, 2019 01:53 pm (Warsaw)
4.7

10 km
3.7 km southwest of Grębocice, Lower Silesia, Poland 34 reportsInfo
Sep 15, 2018 16:35 GMT
Sep 15, 2018 06:35 pm (Warsaw)
4.6

2 km
3.4 km south of Grębocice, Lower Silesia, Poland 5 reportsInfo
Dec 26, 2017 11:15 GMT
Dec 26, 2017 01:15 pm (Warsaw)
4.6

10 km
1.8 km southwest of Polkowice, Lower Silesia, Poland 4 reportsInfo
Dec 16, 2016 06:46 GMT
Dec 16, 2016 08:46 am (Warsaw)
4.6

1 km
7.6 km north of Polkowice, Lower Silesia, Poland 1 reportInfo
Dec 30, 2010 08:56 GMT
Dec 30, 2010 10:56 am (Warsaw)
5.0

5 km
13 km northwest of Lubin, Lower Silesia, Poland Info
Dec 31, 1999 20:44 GMT
Dec 31, 1999 10:44 pm (Warsaw)
5.4

5 km
9.9 km southwest of Glogow, Lower Silesia, Poland Info
Mar 25, 1989 12:46 GMT
Mar 25, 1989 02:46 pm (Warsaw)
5.3

10 km
3.4 km east of Glogow, Lower Silesia, Poland Info
Aug 6, 1983 01:20 GMT
Aug 6, 1983 03:20 am (Warsaw)
5.8

10 km
7.3 km southwest of Glogow, Lower Silesia, Poland Info
Apr 27, 1983 11:24 GMT
Apr 27, 1983 01:24 pm (Warsaw)
5.1

10 km
7.2 km southwest of Rybnik, Silesia, Poland Info
Mar 24, 1977 07:32 GMT
Mar 24, 1977 09:32 am (Warsaw)
5.0

33 km
30 km northwest of Legnica, Lower Silesia, Poland Info

Map of largest quakes in or near Poland

[smaller] [bigger]

Earthquakes in or near Poland

Quakes in nearby regions

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings