Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.9 earthquake - 60km SE of Hasaki, Japan on Thursday, 28 May 2015

Light mag. 4.9 earthquake  - 60km SE of Hasaki, Japan on Thursday, 28 May 2015
Date & time: Thu, 28 May 22:13:49 UTC
Local time at epicenter: Friday, May 29, 2015 07:13:49
Magnitude: 4.9
Depth: 23.9 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 35.315°N / 141.2616°E (Japan)
Nearest volcano: Oshima (182 km)
Primary data source: USGS
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Thu, 28 May 2015
Thu, 28 May 22:13 UTCM 4.7 / 10 kmNear East Coast of Honshu, Japan[Map]GFZ
Thu, 28 May 22:13 UTCM 4.9 / 25 kmNEAR EAST COAST OF HONSHU, JAPAN[Map]EMSC

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Fri, 29 May 2015
Fri, 29 May 16:06 UTCM 4.8 / 62 km - [info]Eastern Honshu, Japan[Map]GFZ
Wed, 3 Jun 2015
Wed, 3 Jun 18:11 UTCM 4.2 / 33 km - [info]OFF EAST COAST OF HONSHU, JAPAN[Map]EMSC
Mon, 8 Jun 2015
Mon, 8 Jun 20:44 UTCM 4.5 / 70 km - [info]EASTERN HONSHU, JAPAN[Map]EMSC
Wed, 10 Jun 2015
Wed, 10 Jun 10:25 UTCM 4.7 / 51 km - [info]NEAR EAST COAST OF HONSHU, JAPAN[Map]EMSC
Tue, 23 Jun 2015
Tue, 23 Jun 16:32 UTCM 4.3 / 31 km - [info]NEAR EAST COAST OF HONSHU, JAPAN[Map]EMSC
Sun, 5 Jul 2015
Sun, 5 Jul 14:06 UTCM 4.4 / 114 km - [info]NEAR S. COAST OF HONSHU, JAPAN[Map]EMSC
Mon, 6 Jul 2015
Mon, 6 Jul 09:30 UTCM 4.5 / 60 km - [info]EASTERN HONSHU, JAPAN[Map]EMSC
Thu, 9 Jul 2015
Thu, 9 Jul 16:15 UTCM 4.7 / 50 km - [info]EASTERN HONSHU, JAPAN[Map]EMSC
Fri, 24 Jul 2015
Fri, 24 Jul 19:30 UTCM 4.9 / 47 km - [info]Near East Coast of Honshu, Japan[Map]GFZ
Wed, 29 Jul 2015
Wed, 29 Jul 12:34 UTCM 4.2 / 43.9 km - [info]- 1km N of Mitsukaido, Japan[Map]USGS
Tue, 4 Aug 2015
Tue, 4 Aug 15:51 UTCM 4.0 / 57 km - [info]NEAR EAST COAST OF HONSHU, JAPAN[Map]EMSC
Thu, 6 Aug 2015
Thu, 6 Aug 01:45 UTCM 4.7 / 50 km - [info]NEAR EAST COAST OF HONSHU, JAPAN[Map]EMSC
Sun, 9 Aug 2015
Sun, 9 Aug 09:18 UTCM 4.5 / 57 km - [info]NEAR EAST COAST OF HONSHU, JAPAN[Map]EMSC
Mon, 10 Aug 2015
Mon, 10 Aug 09:44 UTCM 4.6 / 44.4 km - [info]- 4km NNW of Iwai, Japan[Map]USGS
Thu, 13 Aug 2015
Thu, 13 Aug 00:42 UTCM 4.2 / 63.7 km - [info]- 1km N of Yotsukaido, Japan[Map]USGS
Tue, 18 Aug 2015
Tue, 18 Aug 19:16 UTCM 4.7 / 79.3 km - [info]- 78km SSE of Katsuura, Japan[Map]USGS
Fri, 11 Sep 2015
Fri, 11 Sep 20:49 UTCM 5.0 / 53 km - [info]Near S. Coast of Honshu, Japan[Map]GFZ
Sat, 24 Oct 2015
Sat, 24 Oct 04:13 UTCM 4.3 / 67 km - [info]NEAR EAST COAST OF HONSHU, JAPAN[Map]EMSC
Sat, 31 Oct 2015
Sat, 31 Oct 14:20 UTCM 4.7 / 52 km - [info]NEAR EAST COAST OF HONSHU, JAPAN[Map]EMSC
Tue, 3 Nov 2015
Tue, 3 Nov 23:56 UTCM 4.4 / 8 km - [info]NEAR EAST COAST OF HONSHU, JAPAN[Map]EMSC
Sat, 7 Nov 2015
Sat, 7 Nov 13:44 UTCM 4.9 / 108 km - [info]Eastern Honshu, Japan[Map]GFZ
Wed, 11 Nov 2015
Wed, 11 Nov 21:24 UTCM 3.0 / 74 km - [info]CENTRAL CHIBA PREF[Map]NIED
Thu, 12 Nov 2015
Thu, 12 Nov 02:35 UTCM 2.9 / 69.4 km - [info]WESTERN SAITAMA PREF[Map]NIED
Thu, 12 Nov 03:37 UTCM 2.7 / 40.4 km - [info]E OFF IBARAKI PREF[Map]NIED
Thu, 12 Nov 08:59 UTCM 2.6 / 50.1 km - [info]SW IBARAKI PREF[Map]NIED
Thu, 12 Nov 15:57 UTCM 3.3 / 39.3 km - [info]NEAR CHOSHI CITY[Map]NIED
Thu, 12 Nov 23:29 UTCM 3.3 / 71.6 km - [info]CENTRAL CHIBA PREF[Map]NIED
Fri, 13 Nov 2015
Fri, 13 Nov 09:10 UTCM 2.8 / 58.7 km - [info]EASTERN SAITAMA PREF[Map]NIED
Fri, 13 Nov 12:17 UTCM 3.2 / 44.9 km - [info]E OFF IBARAKI PREF[Map]NIED
Fri, 13 Nov 12:58 UTCM 3.1 / 95.8 km - [info]KUJUKURI COAST BOSO PEN[Map]NIED
Fri, 13 Nov 20:57 UTCM 3.3 / 52.9 km - [info]SW IBARAKI PREF[Map]NIED
Sat, 14 Nov 2015
Sat, 14 Nov 17:55 UTCM 2.8 / 31.4 km - [info]E OFF IBARAKI PREF[Map]NIED
Sun, 15 Nov 2015
Sun, 15 Nov 20:42 UTCM 2.9 / 43.9 km - [info]E OFF IBARAKI PREF[Map]NIED
Mon, 16 Nov 2015
Mon, 16 Nov 16:52 UTCM 3.0 / 60.5 km - [info]SOUTHERN IBARAKI PREF[Map]NIED
Mon, 16 Nov 17:39 UTCM 3.0 / 97.4 km - [info]SOUTHERN IBARAKI PREF[Map]NIED
Mon, 16 Nov 18:52 UTCM 3.2 / 36.6 km - [info]FAR E OFF IBARAKI PREF[Map]NIED
Mon, 16 Nov 19:00 UTCM 3.1 / 31.1 km - [info]FAR E OFF IBARAKI PREF[Map]NIED
Mon, 16 Nov 21:42 UTCM 2.6 / 66.2 km - [info]SW IBARAKI PREF[Map]NIED
Tue, 17 Nov 2015
Tue, 17 Nov 22:46 UTCM 2.9 / 38.9 km - [info]SOUTHERN IBARAKI PREF[Map]NIED
Wed, 18 Nov 2015
Wed, 18 Nov 00:01 UTCM 2.9 / 41.7 km - [info]E OFF IBARAKI PREF[Map]NIED
Wed, 18 Nov 14:22 UTCM 2.8 / 32.8 km - [info]NEAR CHOSHI CITY[Map]NIED
Thu, 19 Nov 2015
Thu, 19 Nov 06:00 UTCM 3.0 / 64.2 km - [info]SAGAMINADA[Map]NIED
Fri, 20 Nov 2015
Fri, 20 Nov 00:23 UTCM 2.8 / 58 km - [info]SW IBARAKI PREF[Map]NIED
Fri, 20 Nov 03:37 UTCM 3.3 / 50.8 km - [info]NEAR CHOSHI CITY[Map]NIED
Tue, 24 Nov 2015
Tue, 24 Nov 06:31 UTCM 3.0 / 78.8 km - [info]SW IBARAKI PREF[Map]NIED
Tue, 24 Nov 17:26 UTCM 3.2 / 72.7 km - [info]CENTRAL CHIBA PREF[Map]NIED
Wed, 25 Nov 2015
Wed, 25 Nov 03:38 UTCM 2.6 / 37 km - [info]NEAR CHOSHI CITY[Map]NIED
Wed, 25 Nov 15:43 UTCM 2.6 / 43.6 km - [info]E OFF IBARAKI PREF[Map]NIED
Thu, 26 Nov 2015
Thu, 26 Nov 06:25 UTCM 2.6 / 69.5 km - [info]SW IBARAKI PREF[Map]NIED
Fri, 27 Nov 2015
Fri, 27 Nov 07:56 UTCM 3.9 / 19.2 km - [info]NEAR CHOSHI CITY[Map]NIED

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: