Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G. on Sunday, 10 January 2016

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake  - NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G. on Sunday, 10 January 2016
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 53.0 to 60.0 km.
Date & time: Sun, 10 Jan 13:58:00 UTC
Magnitude: 4.6
Depth: 60.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 5.62°S / 151.95°E (Papua New Guinea)
Nearest volcano: Bamus (103 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Sun, 10 Jan 2016
Sun, 10 Jan 13:57 UTCM 4.6 / 52.7 km- 147km S of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sun, 10 Jan 13:58 UTCM 4.7 / 62 kmNew Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 13 Jan 2016
Wed, 13 Jan 23:53 UTCM 4.6 / 35 km - [info]- New Britain region, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Tue, 26 Jan 2016 (7 earthquakes)
Tue, 26 Jan 03:10 UTCM 6.1 / 24 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 26 Jan 10:49 UTCM 4.7 / 29 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 26 Jan 15:47 UTCM 5.2 / 25 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 26 Jan 19:22 UTCM 4.6 / 39.8 km - [info]- 100km SSE of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Tue, 26 Jan 20:03 UTCM 5.4 / 24 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 26 Jan 21:34 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 26 Jan 22:06 UTCM 5.0 / 35 km - [info] NEW IRELAND REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Fri, 5 Feb 2016
Fri, 5 Feb 04:12 UTCM 4.6 / 64 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Thu, 11 Feb 2016
Thu, 11 Feb 23:46 UTCM 5.0 / 44 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sun, 14 Feb 2016
Sun, 14 Feb 14:36 UTCM 4.8 / 203 km - [info]New Britain Region, PNG[Map]GeoAu
Tue, 16 Feb 2016
Tue, 16 Feb 19:07 UTCM 5.1 / 75 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Wed, 17 Feb 2016
Wed, 17 Feb 05:31 UTCM 4.7 / 65 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Thu, 18 Feb 2016
Thu, 18 Feb 17:36 UTCM 4.8 / 42.2 km - [info]- 110km SSW of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Thu, 18 Feb 20:47 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sat, 20 Feb 2016
Sat, 20 Feb 18:34 UTCM 4.3 / 58 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Tue, 1 Mar 2016
Tue, 1 Mar 18:30 UTCM 4.7 / 49.2 km - [info]- 41km SE of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Thu, 3 Mar 2016
Thu, 3 Mar 04:14 UTCM 4.4 / 10 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Wed, 9 Mar 2016
Wed, 9 Mar 16:06 UTCM 4.8 / 60 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 16 Mar 2016
Wed, 16 Mar 16:04 UTCM 4.8 / 69 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 22 Mar 2016
Tue, 22 Mar 07:24 UTCM 4.5 / 51 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 23 Mar 2016
Wed, 23 Mar 12:20 UTCM 4.6 / 189 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 23 Mar 18:33 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Mon, 11 Apr 2016
Mon, 11 Apr 00:50 UTCM 4.8 / 51 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Wed, 20 Apr 2016
Wed, 20 Apr 10:41 UTCM 5.0 / 47 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 17 May 2016
Tue, 17 May 04:55 UTCM 5.1 / 10 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Fri, 27 May 2016
Fri, 27 May 15:03 UTCM 5.1 / 68 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Wed, 1 Jun 2016
Wed, 1 Jun 15:24 UTCM 4.8 / 52 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 21 Jun 2016
Tue, 21 Jun 08:38 UTCM 5.3 / 10 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sun, 17 Jul 2016
Sun, 17 Jul 10:44 UTCM 4.6 / 62 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 27 Jul 2016
Wed, 27 Jul 12:22 UTCM 4.8 / 89 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sat, 30 Jul 2016
Sat, 30 Jul 16:14 UTCM 4.7 / 48 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Thu, 11 Aug 2016
Thu, 11 Aug 11:20 UTCM 4.7 / 111 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 23 Aug 2016
Tue, 23 Aug 20:15 UTCM 5.2 / 10 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 30 Aug 2016
Tue, 30 Aug 19:05 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info] NEW IRELAND REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Tue, 30 Aug 21:12 UTCM 4.5 / 15 km - [info] NEW IRELAND REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Thu, 1 Sep 2016
Thu, 1 Sep 08:55 UTCM 5.0 / 32 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Fri, 2 Sep 2016
Fri, 2 Sep 03:28 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sat, 10 Sep 2016
Sat, 10 Sep 15:06 UTCM 4.8 / 182 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 13 Sep 2016
Tue, 13 Sep 21:16 UTCM 4.8 / 40 km - [info] NEW IRELAND REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 12 Oct 2016
Wed, 12 Oct 03:21 UTCM 5.7 / 10 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Wed, 12 Oct 04:06 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]- New Ireland region, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Mon, 17 Oct 2016
Mon, 17 Oct 18:37 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]- 113km SSE of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Tue, 25 Oct 2016
Tue, 25 Oct 18:15 UTCM 4.9 / 62 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Fri, 28 Oct 2016
Fri, 28 Oct 05:26 UTCM 5.8 / 59 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sun, 13 Nov 2016
Sun, 13 Nov 16:32 UTCM 4.9 / 88 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sun, 20 Nov 2016
Sun, 20 Nov 00:55 UTCM 4.6 / 39 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 23 Nov 2016
Wed, 23 Nov 21:03 UTCM 4.5 / 151 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sun, 4 Dec 2016
Sun, 4 Dec 04:41 UTCM 5.0 / 51 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sat, 17 Dec 2016
Sat, 17 Dec 11:27 UTCM 6.4 / 34 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: