Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Moderate mag. 5.2 earthquake - Tonga Islands on Thursday, 14 January 2016

Moderate mag. 5.2 earthquake  - Tonga Islands on Thursday, 14 January 2016
Jan 14 13:18: Magnitude recalculated from 5.1 to 5.2.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 150.0 to 149.0 km.
Date & time: Thu, 14 Jan 05:39:40 UTC
Magnitude: 5.2
Depth: 149.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 16.12°S / 174.08°W (Tonga)
Nearest volcano: Tafahi (50 km)
Primary data source: GFZ
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Thu, 14 Jan 2016
Thu, 14 Jan 05:39 UTCM 5.2 / 147 km TONGA[Map]EMSC
Thu, 14 Jan 05:39 UTCM 5.1 / 147 km- 46km SW of Hihifo, Tonga[Map]USGS
Thu, 14 Jan 05:39 UTCM 5.3 / 166 kmTonga Islands[Map]GeoAu

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Sun, 17 Jan 2016
Sun, 17 Jan 02:27 UTCM 4.5 / 187.1 km - [info]- 84km SW of Hihifo, Tonga[Map]USGS
Sun, 24 Jan 2016
Sun, 24 Jan 00:10 UTCM 4.6 / 35 km - [info] TONGA[Map]EMSC
Wed, 27 Jan 2016
Wed, 27 Jan 23:21 UTCM 5.0 / 78 km - [info]Samoa Islands Region[Map]GeoAu
Sun, 7 Feb 2016
Sun, 7 Feb 02:03 UTCM 5.8 / 46 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Tue, 9 Feb 2016
Tue, 9 Feb 22:35 UTCM 4.7 / 10 km - [info] SAMOA ISLANDS REGION[Map]EMSC
Thu, 11 Feb 2016
Thu, 11 Feb 13:47 UTCM 4.9 / 40 km - [info] TONGA[Map]EMSC
Fri, 12 Feb 2016
Fri, 12 Feb 14:09 UTCM 4.9 / 13.2 km - [info]- 66km S of Hihifo, Tonga[Map]USGS
Mon, 29 Feb 2016
Mon, 29 Feb 23:42 UTCM 4.8 / 56 km - [info] TONGA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 8 Mar 2016
Tue, 8 Mar 05:36 UTCM 6.1 / 10 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Fri, 11 Mar 2016
Fri, 11 Mar 21:56 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info]Samoa Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Mon, 14 Mar 2016
Mon, 14 Mar 15:39 UTCM 5.1 / 10 km - [info] SAMOA ISLANDS REGION[Map]EMSC
Sat, 2 Apr 2016
Sat, 2 Apr 13:52 UTCM 4.4 / 80 km - [info]- 57km SSW of Hihifo, Tonga[Map]USGS
Tue, 19 Apr 2016
Tue, 19 Apr 20:05 UTCM 4.4 / 134.2 km - [info]- 5km SSE of Hihifo, Tonga[Map]USGS
Sat, 21 May 2016
Sat, 21 May 07:45 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]- 129km NE of Hihifo, Tonga[Map]USGS
Fri, 3 Jun 2016
Fri, 3 Jun 08:28 UTCM 4.8 / 343 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Sat, 4 Jun 2016
Sat, 4 Jun 09:18 UTCM 5.2 / 56 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Fri, 10 Jun 2016
Fri, 10 Jun 10:52 UTCM 5.3 / 50 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Fri, 10 Jun 17:32 UTCM 4.8 / 36 km - [info] SAMOA ISLANDS REGION[Map]EMSC
Wed, 22 Jun 2016
Wed, 22 Jun 02:37 UTCM 4.5 / 46.2 km - [info]- 65km S of Hihifo, Tonga[Map]USGS
Fri, 1 Jul 2016
Fri, 1 Jul 22:42 UTCM 4.6 / 35 km - [info] TONGA[Map]EMSC
Sun, 10 Jul 2016
Sun, 10 Jul 13:41 UTCM 5.7 / 10 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Sun, 10 Jul 13:44 UTCM 5.9 / 10 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Mon, 11 Jul 2016
Mon, 11 Jul 03:38 UTCM 4.8 / 287 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Sat, 23 Jul 2016
Sat, 23 Jul 20:09 UTCM 5.9 / 10 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Tue, 26 Jul 2016
Tue, 26 Jul 10:50 UTCM 4.7 / 10 km - [info] SAMOA ISLANDS REGION[Map]EMSC
Wed, 27 Jul 2016
Wed, 27 Jul 23:56 UTCM 4.7 / 20 km - [info] TONGA[Map]EMSC
Thu, 28 Jul 2016
Thu, 28 Jul 15:44 UTCM 5.1 / 16.4 km - [info]- 165km SE of Hihifo, Tonga[Map]USGS
Sat, 10 Sep 2016
Sat, 10 Sep 09:41 UTCM 4.4 / 89.5 km - [info]- 62km SW of Hihifo, Tonga[Map]USGS
Tue, 27 Sep 2016
Tue, 27 Sep 08:01 UTCM 5.2 / 163 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Fri, 30 Sep 2016
Fri, 30 Sep 19:50 UTCM 4.7 / 180 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Mon, 10 Oct 2016
Mon, 10 Oct 08:35 UTCM 5.6 / 10 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Mon, 10 Oct 13:16 UTCM 5.2 / 10 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Tue, 25 Oct 2016
Tue, 25 Oct 11:46 UTCM 5.0 / 141 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Tue, 25 Oct 16:10 UTCM 5.8 / 10 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Wed, 26 Oct 2016
Wed, 26 Oct 05:19 UTCM 6.0 / 10 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ
Thu, 10 Nov 2016
Thu, 10 Nov 11:49 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info] TONGA[Map]EMSC
Sun, 4 Dec 2016
Sun, 4 Dec 14:14 UTCM 4.8 / 146 km - [info]Tonga Islands[Map]GFZ

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: