Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS on Monday, 18 January 2016

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake  - FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS on Monday, 18 January 2016
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 48.0 to 51.0 km.
Date & time: Mon, 18 Jan 15:10:28 UTC
Magnitude: 4.6
Depth: 51.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 52.18°N / 171.25°W (United States)
Nearest volcano: Amukta (51 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Mon, 18 Jan 2016
Mon, 18 Jan 15:10 UTCM 4.6 / 40.4 km- 50km S of Amukta Island, Alaska[Map]USGS

shake map
(shakemap: USGS)
"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Tue, 19 Jan 2016
Tue, 19 Jan 18:16 UTCM 2.7 / 25 km - [info]- 110km SE of Yunaska Island, Alaska[Map]USGS
Tue, 19 Jan 18:16 UTCM 4.0 / 51.4 km - [info]- 72km ESE of Yunaska Island, Alaska[Map]USGS
Sat, 23 Jan 2016
Sat, 23 Jan 10:26 UTCM 2.8 / 70.9 km - [info]- 70km S of Amukta Island, Alaska[Map]USGS
Mon, 15 Feb 2016
Mon, 15 Feb 22:09 UTCM 2.6 / 25 km - [info]- 123km ESE of Atka, Alaska[Map]USGS
Wed, 17 Feb 2016
Wed, 17 Feb 06:30 UTCM 3.4 / 26.5 km - [info]- 111km SE of Yunaska Island, Alaska[Map]USGS
Fri, 19 Feb 2016
Fri, 19 Feb 06:06 UTCM 4.4 / 20 km - [info] FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Fri, 19 Feb 11:26 UTCM 4.4 / 35 km - [info] FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Mon, 22 Feb 2016
Mon, 22 Feb 02:33 UTCM 3.0 / 29.6 km - [info]- 111km SSW of Amukta Island, Alaska[Map]USGS
Fri, 26 Feb 2016
Fri, 26 Feb 14:43 UTCM 3.1 / 32.8 km - [info]- 110km ESE of Atka, Alaska[Map]USGS
Thu, 31 Mar 2016
Thu, 31 Mar 23:38 UTCM 4.0 / 20.8 km - [info]- 83km SSW of Nikolski, Alaska[Map]USGS
Fri, 1 Apr 2016
Fri, 1 Apr 18:35 UTCM 4.0 / 42.2 km - [info]- 87km SSW of Nikolski, Alaska[Map]USGS
Sat, 2 Apr 2016
Sat, 2 Apr 23:23 UTCM 5.2 / 10 km - [info]Fox Islands, Aleutian Islands[Map]GFZ
Fri, 22 Apr 2016
Fri, 22 Apr 11:15 UTCM 2.6 / 44.6 km - [info]- Andreanof Islands, Aleutian Islands, Alaska[Map]USGS
Sat, 23 Apr 2016
Sat, 23 Apr 20:15 UTCM 3.9 / 26 km - [info] FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Fri, 6 May 2016
Fri, 6 May 14:21 UTCM 4.2 / 35 km - [info] FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sun, 15 May 2016
Sun, 15 May 12:29 UTCM 2.6 / 25 km - [info] FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sun, 15 May 19:54 UTCM 3.3 / 17.6 km - [info]- 54km SSE of Yunaska Island, Alaska[Map]USGS
Mon, 16 May 2016
Mon, 16 May 21:52 UTCM 4.3 / 50 km - [info] FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Thu, 19 May 2016
Thu, 19 May 19:11 UTCM 3.7 / 10 km - [info] FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Mon, 6 Jun 2016
Mon, 6 Jun 16:31 UTCM 3.9 / 40 km - [info] FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Fri, 10 Jun 2016
Fri, 10 Jun 07:59 UTCM 2.7 / 42.2 km - [info]- 117km ESE of Atka, Alaska[Map]USGS
Sat, 11 Jun 2016
Sat, 11 Jun 22:40 UTCM 4.0 / 60 km - [info] FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sun, 19 Jun 2016
Sun, 19 Jun 16:49 UTCM 4.7 / 40 km - [info]4.7 FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Mon, 20 Jun 2016
Mon, 20 Jun 01:25 UTCM 4.0 / 46 km - [info] FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Tue, 12 Jul 2016
Tue, 12 Jul 01:18 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info] FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sat, 23 Jul 2016
Sat, 23 Jul 14:13 UTCM 4.4 / 35.3 km - [info]- 101km ESE of Atka, Alaska[Map]USGS
Mon, 1 Aug 2016
Mon, 1 Aug 23:37 UTCM 2.9 / 51 km - [info] FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sun, 14 Aug 2016
Sun, 14 Aug 04:05 UTCM 5.0 / 59 km - [info]Fox Islands, Aleutian Islands[Map]GFZ
Sun, 14 Aug 14:33 UTCM 4.3 / 32 km - [info] FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sat, 1 Oct 2016
Sat, 1 Oct 12:29 UTCM 3.7 / 43 km - [info] FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sat, 15 Oct 2016
Sat, 15 Oct 20:34 UTCM 4.2 / 41.7 km - [info]- 61km S of Amukta Island, Alaska[Map]USGS
Thu, 20 Oct 2016
Thu, 20 Oct 11:23 UTCM 4.8 / 142 km - [info] ANDREANOF ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN IS.[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Oct 15:50 UTCM 2.9 / 33 km - [info] FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Wed, 26 Oct 2016
Wed, 26 Oct 18:38 UTCM 3.1 / 28 km - [info] FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Thu, 27 Oct 2016
Thu, 27 Oct 16:06 UTCM 3.2 / 159 km - [info] FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Mon, 7 Nov 2016
Mon, 7 Nov 08:28 UTCM 3.2 / 13.5 km - [info]- 81km ESE of Yunaska Island, Alaska[Map]USGS
Sun, 20 Nov 2016
Sun, 20 Nov 00:06 UTCM 4.3 / 20 km - [info] FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sun, 20 Nov 05:06 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info] ANDREANOF ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN IS.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 7 Dec 2016
Wed, 7 Dec 18:40 UTCM 3.1 / 41.4 km - [info]- 42km SSW of Amukta Island, Alaska[Map]USGS

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: