Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
13-29 Aug 2019: Volcanoes of Java - Java (Indonesia)
14-17 Aug 2019: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano (Indonesia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.7 earthquake - Kuril Islands on Friday, 22 January 2016

Light mag. 4.7 earthquake  - Kuril Islands on Friday, 22 January 2016
Jan 22 14:04: Magnitude recalculated from 4.8 to 4.7.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 84.0 to 86.0 km.
Date & time: Fri, 22 Jan 13:26:47 UTC
Magnitude: 4.7
Depth: 86.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 49.8°N / 155.88°E (Russia)
Nearest volcano: Karpinsky (52 km)
Primary data source: GFZ
Estimated released energy: 7.1*10^11 J (197 MWh / 169 tons of TNT) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource
Fri, 22 Jan 2016
Fri, 22 Jan 13:26 UTCM 4.8 / 80 km KURIL ISLANDSEMSC
Fri, 22 Jan 13:26 UTCM 4.8 / 72 km- 94km SSW of Severo-Kuril'sk, RussiaUSGS

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 27 Jan 2016
Wed, 27 Jan 18:36 UTCM 3.9 / 100 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Mon, 1 Feb 2016
Mon, 1 Feb 05:06 UTCM 4.2 / 33 km - [info] EAST OF KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sun, 7 Feb 2016
Sun, 7 Feb 20:58 UTCM 4.3 / 90 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Thu, 18 Feb 2016
Thu, 18 Feb 09:55 UTCM 4.7 / 43 km - [info]Kuril Islands[Map]GFZ
Mon, 22 Feb 2016
Mon, 22 Feb 13:39 UTCM 3.7 / 120 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Thu, 25 Feb 2016
Thu, 25 Feb 07:37 UTCM 4.8 / 74 km - [info]Kuril Islands[Map]GFZ
Thu, 25 Feb 07:37 UTCM 4.8 / 78.7 km - [info]- 34km SSE of Severo-Kuril'sk, Russia[Map]USGS
Sat, 27 Feb 2016
Sat, 27 Feb 12:38 UTCM 4.5 / 90 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sun, 6 Mar 2016
Sun, 6 Mar 05:27 UTCM 4.1 / 33 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Mon, 25 Apr 2016
Mon, 25 Apr 01:12 UTCM 4.5 / 90 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Tue, 26 Apr 2016
Tue, 26 Apr 18:22 UTCM 4.6 / 100 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Mon, 2 May 2016
Mon, 2 May 14:17 UTCM 4.0 / 80 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Thu, 5 May 2016
Thu, 5 May 22:34 UTCM 4.7 / 61 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Fri, 20 May 2016
Fri, 20 May 03:01 UTCM 4.1 / 80 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sat, 11 Jun 2016
Sat, 11 Jun 08:39 UTCM 3.8 - [info] EAST OF KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Thu, 16 Jun 2016
Thu, 16 Jun 05:30 UTCM 3.8 / 50 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Fri, 8 Jul 2016
Fri, 8 Jul 10:51 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]Kuril Islands[Map]GFZ
Wed, 3 Aug 2016
Wed, 3 Aug 05:33 UTCM 4.5 / 69 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Fri, 5 Aug 2016
Fri, 5 Aug 20:09 UTCM 4.6 / 33 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sun, 14 Aug 2016
Sun, 14 Aug 21:11 UTCM 4.1 / 50 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Tue, 30 Aug 2016
Tue, 30 Aug 22:53 UTCM 4.4 / 121.8 km - [info]- 66km SW of Severo-Kuril'sk, Russia[Map]USGS
Sun, 4 Sep 2016
Sun, 4 Sep 15:40 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]Kuril Islands[Map]GFZ
Thu, 15 Sep 2016
Thu, 15 Sep 04:22 UTCM 4.4 / 80 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sun, 18 Sep 2016
Sun, 18 Sep 10:23 UTCM 3.8 / 33 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Sun, 2 Oct 2016
Sun, 2 Oct 22:43 UTCM 4.2 / 33 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Thu, 3 Nov 2016
Thu, 3 Nov 16:17 UTCM 3.8 / 50 km - [info] KURIL ISLANDS[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: