Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.9 earthquake - New Ireland Region, P.N.G. on Tuesday, 26 January 2016

Light mag. 4.9 earthquake  - New Ireland Region, P.N.G. on Tuesday, 26 January 2016
Jan 26 21:47: Magnitude recalculated from 4.8 to 4.9.
Date & time: Tue, 26 Jan 21:34:07 UTC
Magnitude: 4.9
Depth: 10.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 5.25°S / 153.23°E (Papua New Guinea)
Nearest volcano: Ambitle (138 km)
Primary data source: GFZ
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Tue, 26 Jan 2016
Tue, 26 Jan 21:34 UTCM 5.1 / 40 km NEW IRELAND REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Tue, 26 Jan 21:34 UTCM 5.0 / 39 kmNew Ireland Region, PNG[Map]GeoAu
Tue, 26 Jan 21:34 UTCM 5.1 / 38.4 km- 90km S of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Tue, 26 Jan 22:06 UTCM 5.0 / 35 km - [info] NEW IRELAND REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Fri, 5 Feb 2016
Fri, 5 Feb 04:12 UTCM 4.6 / 64 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Fri, 5 Feb 17:48 UTCM 5.2 / 126 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sat, 6 Feb 2016
Sat, 6 Feb 22:23 UTCM 4.6 / 112 km - [info] NEW IRELAND REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Thu, 11 Feb 2016
Thu, 11 Feb 01:37 UTCM 4.6 / 109 km - [info] NEW IRELAND REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Thu, 11 Feb 23:46 UTCM 5.0 / 44 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 16 Feb 2016
Tue, 16 Feb 19:07 UTCM 5.1 / 75 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Wed, 17 Feb 2016
Wed, 17 Feb 05:31 UTCM 4.7 / 65 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Thu, 18 Feb 2016
Thu, 18 Feb 17:36 UTCM 4.8 / 42.2 km - [info]- 110km SSW of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Thu, 18 Feb 20:47 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Fri, 19 Feb 2016
Fri, 19 Feb 16:02 UTCM 4.9 / 40 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sat, 20 Feb 2016
Sat, 20 Feb 00:47 UTCM 4.6 / 142 km - [info] BOUGAINVILLE REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sun, 28 Feb 2016
Sun, 28 Feb 06:00 UTCM 4.7 / 119 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Mon, 29 Feb 2016
Mon, 29 Feb 09:42 UTCM 4.6 / 113 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 1 Mar 2016
Tue, 1 Mar 18:30 UTCM 4.7 / 49.2 km - [info]- 41km SE of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Wed, 9 Mar 2016
Wed, 9 Mar 16:06 UTCM 4.8 / 60 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Thu, 10 Mar 2016
Thu, 10 Mar 17:56 UTCM 4.9 / 114 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Wed, 16 Mar 2016
Wed, 16 Mar 16:04 UTCM 4.8 / 69 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Fri, 18 Mar 2016
Fri, 18 Mar 00:31 UTCM 5.5 / 64 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 22 Mar 2016
Tue, 22 Mar 07:24 UTCM 4.5 / 51 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 23 Mar 2016
Wed, 23 Mar 18:33 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Thu, 31 Mar 2016
Thu, 31 Mar 17:12 UTCM 4.6 / 181 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Thu, 31 Mar 19:28 UTCM 5.2 / 10 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Tue, 5 Apr 2016
Tue, 5 Apr 14:10 UTCM 5.1 / 47 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sun, 10 Apr 2016
Sun, 10 Apr 08:26 UTCM 4.5 / 188 km - [info] BOUGAINVILLE REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Mon, 11 Apr 2016
Mon, 11 Apr 00:50 UTCM 4.8 / 51 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 12 Apr 2016
Tue, 12 Apr 05:41 UTCM 5.3 / 65 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Wed, 20 Apr 2016
Wed, 20 Apr 10:41 UTCM 5.0 / 47 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Thu, 28 Apr 2016
Thu, 28 Apr 01:17 UTCM 5.4 / 150 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Mon, 2 May 2016
Mon, 2 May 08:10 UTCM 5.2 / 109 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sun, 15 May 2016
Sun, 15 May 18:04 UTCM 4.9 / 54 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Tue, 17 May 2016
Tue, 17 May 03:52 UTCM 4.9 / 43 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 17 May 04:55 UTCM 5.1 / 10 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Fri, 27 May 2016
Fri, 27 May 15:03 UTCM 5.1 / 68 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Wed, 1 Jun 2016
Wed, 1 Jun 15:24 UTCM 4.8 / 52 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 14 Jun 2016
Tue, 14 Jun 00:30 UTCM 5.0 / 42 km - [info] NEW IRELAND REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sat, 25 Jun 2016
Sat, 25 Jun 16:11 UTCM 4.4 / 10 km - [info] BOUGAINVILLE REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sun, 10 Jul 2016
Sun, 10 Jul 17:01 UTCM 4.7 / 66 km - [info] NEW IRELAND REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sun, 17 Jul 2016
Sun, 17 Jul 10:44 UTCM 4.6 / 62 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 27 Jul 2016
Wed, 27 Jul 12:22 UTCM 4.8 / 89 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Thu, 28 Jul 2016
Thu, 28 Jul 19:01 UTCM 4.8 / 69 km - [info] BOUGAINVILLE REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sat, 30 Jul 2016
Sat, 30 Jul 16:14 UTCM 4.7 / 48 km - [info] NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sun, 7 Aug 2016
Sun, 7 Aug 05:56 UTCM 4.8 / 60 km - [info] BOUGAINVILLE REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Tue, 23 Aug 2016
Tue, 23 Aug 20:15 UTCM 5.2 / 10 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 30 Aug 2016
Tue, 30 Aug 19:05 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info] NEW IRELAND REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Tue, 30 Aug 21:12 UTCM 4.5 / 15 km - [info] NEW IRELAND REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Thu, 1 Sep 2016
Thu, 1 Sep 08:55 UTCM 5.0 / 32 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 13 Sep 2016
Tue, 13 Sep 21:16 UTCM 4.8 / 40 km - [info] NEW IRELAND REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 21 Sep 2016
Wed, 21 Sep 16:19 UTCM 5.3 / 17 km - [info]New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Wed, 12 Oct 2016
Wed, 12 Oct 03:21 UTCM 5.7 / 10 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: