Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
15-17 Jun 2019: Treasures of the Saronic Gulf - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
13-29 Aug 2019: Volcanoes of Java - Java (Indonesia)
14-17 Aug 2019: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano (Indonesia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.7 earthquake - Fiji Islands Region on Monday, 22 February 2016

Light mag. 4.7 earthquake  - Fiji Islands Region on Monday, 22 February 2016
Feb 22 14:15: Magnitude recalculated from 4.7 to 4.6.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 517.0 to 518.0 km.
Feb 22 14:42: Magnitude recalculated from 4.6 to 4.7.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 518.0 to 519.0 km.
Date & time: Mon, 22 Feb 13:59:49 UTC
Magnitude: 4.7
Depth: 519.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 20.25°S / 177.94°W (Fiji)
Nearest volcano: Unnamed 21.15°S/175.75°W (249 km)
Primary data source: GFZ
Estimated released energy: 7.1*10^11 J (197 MWh / 169 tons of TNT) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource
Mon, 22 Feb 2016
Mon, 22 Feb 13:59 UTCM 4.6 / 522 km FIJI REGIONEMSC
Mon, 22 Feb 13:59 UTCM 4.6 / 514.9 km- 87km ENE of Ndoi Island, FijiUSGS

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Thu, 25 Feb 2016
Thu, 25 Feb 20:39 UTCM 4.3 / 527 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Fri, 4 Mar 2016
Fri, 4 Mar 04:25 UTCM 5.4 / 616 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 22 Mar 2016
Tue, 22 Mar 00:27 UTCM 4.3 / 505.6 km - [info]- 130km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Tue, 22 Mar 04:48 UTCM 4.8 / 665 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Thu, 7 Apr 2016
Thu, 7 Apr 13:40 UTCM 4.9 / 633 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 19 Apr 2016
Tue, 19 Apr 15:00 UTCM 4.7 / 254 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sun, 24 Apr 2016
Sun, 24 Apr 07:27 UTCM 4.3 / 602 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Tue, 26 Apr 2016
Tue, 26 Apr 10:58 UTCM 4.5 / 592 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Sun, 8 May 2016
Sun, 8 May 15:52 UTCM 4.4 / 593.6 km - [info]- 13km SE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Mon, 9 May 2016
Mon, 9 May 14:19 UTCM 5.2 / 604 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Wed, 18 May 2016
Wed, 18 May 17:57 UTCM 4.6 / 580 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Fri, 20 May 2016
Fri, 20 May 17:51 UTCM 4.5 / 485.2 km - [info]- 138km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Fri, 27 May 2016
Fri, 27 May 04:08 UTCM 6.4 / 565 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sat, 28 May 2016
Sat, 28 May 20:16 UTCM 4.3 / 558.5 km - [info]- 189km NE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Tue, 31 May 2016
Tue, 31 May 10:22 UTCM 4.4 / 584 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sat, 4 Jun 2016
Sat, 4 Jun 06:31 UTCM 4.6 / 493 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Tue, 7 Jun 2016
Tue, 7 Jun 09:08 UTCM 5.4 / 540 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Mon, 13 Jun 2016
Mon, 13 Jun 04:00 UTCM 4.7 / 596 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Thu, 16 Jun 2016
Thu, 16 Jun 00:48 UTCM 5.0 / 576 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 21 Jun 2016
Tue, 21 Jun 09:04 UTCM 4.7 / 606 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Sat, 2 Jul 2016
Sat, 2 Jul 23:50 UTCM 5.0 / 200 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sat, 6 Aug 2016
Sat, 6 Aug 02:59 UTCM 4.5 / 583 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Thu, 18 Aug 2016
Thu, 18 Aug 15:54 UTCM 4.6 / 200 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Wed, 24 Aug 2016
Wed, 24 Aug 02:37 UTCM 4.4 / 522 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Sat, 27 Aug 2016
Sat, 27 Aug 19:22 UTCM 4.9 / 528 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Mon, 29 Aug 2016
Mon, 29 Aug 17:01 UTCM 4.5 / 350 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Mon, 29 Aug 21:10 UTCM 4.3 / 525.7 km - [info]- 71km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Fri, 2 Sep 2016
Fri, 2 Sep 01:22 UTCM 4.5 / 556 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Mon, 5 Sep 2016
Mon, 5 Sep 11:05 UTCM 4.6 / 555 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 6 Sep 2016
Tue, 6 Sep 11:04 UTCM 4.8 / 573 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Mon, 19 Sep 2016
Mon, 19 Sep 07:26 UTCM 4.8 / 545 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 20 Sep 2016
Tue, 20 Sep 19:46 UTCM 4.7 / 663 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Fri, 23 Sep 2016
Fri, 23 Sep 13:50 UTCM 4.4 / 425 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Sat, 24 Sep 2016
Sat, 24 Sep 21:28 UTCM 6.9 / 592 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sat, 24 Sep 21:55 UTCM 5.1 / 605 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sun, 25 Sep 2016
Sun, 25 Sep 01:10 UTCM 5.1 / 582 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sun, 25 Sep 19:19 UTCM 4.3 / 571.9 km - [info]- 49km S of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Mon, 26 Sep 2016
Mon, 26 Sep 04:21 UTCM 4.5 / 520 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Mon, 26 Sep 08:08 UTCM 4.7 / 603 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 27 Sep 2016
Tue, 27 Sep 10:01 UTCM 5.2 / 523 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Mon, 3 Oct 2016
Mon, 3 Oct 02:02 UTCM 4.2 / 551 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Tue, 4 Oct 2016
Tue, 4 Oct 07:38 UTCM 4.7 / 580 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Wed, 5 Oct 2016
Wed, 5 Oct 15:02 UTCM 4.7 / 521 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Wed, 12 Oct 2016
Wed, 12 Oct 04:16 UTCM 5.4 / 579 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 25 Oct 2016
Tue, 25 Oct 09:04 UTCM 4.4 / 528 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Tue, 8 Nov 2016
Tue, 8 Nov 18:29 UTCM 4.3 / 567 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Thu, 10 Nov 2016
Thu, 10 Nov 17:35 UTCM 5.6 / 538 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sun, 13 Nov 2016
Sun, 13 Nov 03:51 UTCM 4.5 / 547 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Mon, 14 Nov 2016
Mon, 14 Nov 08:38 UTCM 4.9 / 585 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 15 Nov 2016
Tue, 15 Nov 01:18 UTCM 4.7 / 621 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: