Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
15-17 Jun 2019: Treasures of the Saronic Gulf - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
13-29 Aug 2019: Volcanoes of Java - Java (Indonesia)
14-17 Aug 2019: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano (Indonesia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.0 earthquake - Peru on Wednesday, 24 February 2016

Light mag. 4.0 earthquake  - Peru on Wednesday, 24 February 2016
Date & time: Wed, 24 Feb 12:34:24 UTC
Local time at epicenter: 24/02/2016 07:34:24
Magnitude: 4.0
Depth: 55.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 12.76°S / 76.91°W (Peru)
Nearest volcano: Sara Sara (470 km)
Primary data source: IGP
Estimated released energy: 6.3*10^10 J (17.5 MWh / 15.1 tons of TNT) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Fri, 26 Feb 2016
Fri, 26 Feb 13:20 UTCM 4.1 / 18 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Wed, 2 Mar 2016
Wed, 2 Mar 23:31 UTCM 4.0 / 46 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Thu, 3 Mar 2016
Thu, 3 Mar 11:32 UTCM 3.7 / 49 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Mon, 7 Mar 2016
Mon, 7 Mar 02:23 UTCM 3.6 / 51 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Fri, 25 Mar 2016
Fri, 25 Mar 06:11 UTCM 4.1 / 52 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Sun, 27 Mar 2016
Sun, 27 Mar 00:00 UTCM 4.4 / 91 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Sun, 27 Mar 02:42 UTCM 4.1 / 56 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Fri, 8 Apr 2016
Fri, 8 Apr 08:05 UTCM 3.8 / 59 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Wed, 13 Apr 2016
Wed, 13 Apr 22:19 UTCM 3.8 / 49 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Thu, 14 Apr 2016
Thu, 14 Apr 22:50 UTCM 4.3 / 80 km - [info]NEAR COAST OF CENTRAL PERU[Map]EMSC
Thu, 28 Apr 2016
Thu, 28 Apr 04:04 UTCM 4.2 / 64 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Fri, 6 May 2016
Fri, 6 May 14:52 UTCM 4.2 / 46 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Fri, 20 May 2016
Fri, 20 May 07:30 UTCM 4.1 / 40 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Sat, 21 May 2016
Sat, 21 May 13:41 UTCM 4.3 / 61 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Wed, 1 Jun 2016
Wed, 1 Jun 21:31 UTCM 4.8 / 87 km - [info]Central Peru[Map]GFZ
Tue, 7 Jun 2016
Tue, 7 Jun 06:47 UTCM 4.0 / 96 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Mon, 20 Jun 2016
Mon, 20 Jun 10:44 UTCM 4.0 / 23 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Fri, 1 Jul 2016
Fri, 1 Jul 05:33 UTCM 4.1 / 59 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Sun, 17 Jul 2016
Sun, 17 Jul 14:05 UTCM 3.9 / 53 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Tue, 19 Jul 2016
Tue, 19 Jul 15:44 UTCM 4.0 / 44 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Sat, 23 Jul 2016
Sat, 23 Jul 16:36 UTCM 3.8 / 47 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Thu, 28 Jul 2016
Thu, 28 Jul 04:38 UTCM 4.3 / 31 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Fri, 29 Jul 2016
Fri, 29 Jul 18:21 UTCM 4.2 / 51 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Mon, 1 Aug 2016
Mon, 1 Aug 12:08 UTCM 4.0 / 49 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Wed, 3 Aug 2016
Wed, 3 Aug 05:12 UTCM 3.9 / 51 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Thu, 11 Aug 2016
Thu, 11 Aug 09:29 UTCM 4.3 / 43 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Sun, 14 Aug 2016
Sun, 14 Aug 15:53 UTCM 3.7 / 52 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Thu, 18 Aug 2016
Thu, 18 Aug 01:10 UTCM 4.2 / 48 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Sun, 21 Aug 2016
Sun, 21 Aug 18:37 UTCM 4.3 / 96 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Mon, 22 Aug 2016
Mon, 22 Aug 10:18 UTCM 3.7 / 37 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Mon, 26 Sep 2016
Mon, 26 Sep 17:17 UTCM 4.1 / 46 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Sat, 15 Oct 2016
Sat, 15 Oct 13:44 UTCM 4.7 / 25 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Wed, 19 Oct 2016
Wed, 19 Oct 19:31 UTCM 4.8 / 47 km - [info]Near Coast of Peru[Map]GFZ
Thu, 27 Oct 2016
Thu, 27 Oct 00:31 UTCM 4.6 / 52 km - [info]NEAR COAST OF CENTRAL PERU[Map]EMSC
Fri, 28 Oct 2016
Fri, 28 Oct 03:47 UTCM 4.9 / 62 km - [info]NEAR COAST OF CENTRAL PERU[Map]EMSC
Tue, 1 Nov 2016
Tue, 1 Nov 06:17 UTCM 4.4 / 109 km - [info]CENTRAL PERU[Map]EMSC
Wed, 2 Nov 2016
Wed, 2 Nov 17:50 UTCM 4.0 / 101 km - [info]CENTRAL PERU[Map]EMSC
Thu, 3 Nov 2016
Thu, 3 Nov 00:48 UTCM 4.0 / 94 km - [info]CENTRAL PERU[Map]EMSC
Fri, 4 Nov 2016
Fri, 4 Nov 16:07 UTCM 4.1 / 39 km - [info]NEAR COAST OF CENTRAL PERU[Map]EMSC
Sun, 6 Nov 2016
Sun, 6 Nov 22:20 UTCM 4.2 / 41 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Sun, 6 Nov 22:40 UTCM 4.2 / 35 km - [info]NEAR COAST OF CENTRAL PERU[Map]EMSC
Fri, 11 Nov 2016
Fri, 11 Nov 18:10 UTCM 4.1 / 49 km - [info]NEAR COAST OF CENTRAL PERU[Map]EMSC
Sun, 13 Nov 2016
Sun, 13 Nov 17:34 UTCM 4.3 / 106 km - [info]CENTRAL PERU[Map]EMSC
Sun, 13 Nov 18:34 UTCM 4.3 / 106 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Fri, 18 Nov 2016
Fri, 18 Nov 17:28 UTCM 4.4 / 27 km - [info]NEAR COAST OF CENTRAL PERU[Map]EMSC
Wed, 21 Dec 2016
Wed, 21 Dec 11:18 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info]Central Peru[Map]GFZ
Thu, 22 Dec 2016
Thu, 22 Dec 16:43 UTCM 4.6 / 23 km - [info]NEAR COAST OF CENTRAL PERU[Map]EMSC
Sun, 25 Dec 2016
Sun, 25 Dec 04:19 UTCM 4.2 / 53 km - [info]NEAR COAST OF CENTRAL PERU[Map]EMSC
Sun, 25 Dec 19:47 UTCM 3.7 / 41 km - [info]NEAR COAST OF CENTRAL PERU[Map]EMSC
Sun, 1 Jan 2017
Sun, 1 Jan 02:45 UTCM 4.1 / 40 km - [info]NEAR COAST OF CENTRAL PERU[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: