Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.8 earthquake - Banda Sea on Friday, 25 March 2016

Light mag. 4.8 earthquake  - Banda Sea on Friday, 25 March 2016
Mar 25 19:54: Magnitude recalculated from 5.3 to 4.8.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 134.0 to 125.0 km.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 125.0 to 127.0 km.
Mar 25 19:57: Magnitude recalculated from 4.8 to 4.7.
Mar 25 19:58: Magnitude recalculated from 4.7 to 4.8.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 127.0 to 128.0 km.
Date & time: Fri, 25 Mar 19:49:13 UTC
Magnitude: 4.8
Depth: 128.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 6°S / 130.91°E (Indonesia)
Nearest volcano: Manuk (90 km)
Primary data source: GFZ
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Fri, 25 Mar 2016
Fri, 25 Mar 19:49 UTCM 5.0 / 128 km BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Fri, 25 Mar 19:49 UTCM 4.9 / 123.1 km- 218km W of Tual, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Fri, 25 Mar 19:49 UTCM 5.2 / 119 kmBanda Sea[Map]GeoAu

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Mon, 28 Mar 2016
Mon, 28 Mar 01:55 UTCM 4.2 / 93 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Wed, 6 Apr 2016
Wed, 6 Apr 20:35 UTCM 5.4 / 116 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Thu, 14 Apr 2016
Thu, 14 Apr 19:40 UTCM 4.3 / 170 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Sun, 17 Apr 2016
Sun, 17 Apr 23:44 UTCM 4.5 / 81 km - [info]Tanimbar Islands Reg., Indonesia[Map]GFZ
Wed, 20 Apr 2016
Wed, 20 Apr 15:09 UTCM 4.6 / 42 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Tue, 26 Apr 2016
Tue, 26 Apr 18:08 UTCM 4.4 / 157.6 km - [info]- 213km WNW of Saumlaki, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Wed, 27 Apr 2016
Wed, 27 Apr 14:07 UTCM 4.6 / 124.9 km - [info]- 262km NW of Saumlaki, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Thu, 5 May 2016
Thu, 5 May 21:53 UTCM 4.7 / 106 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Mon, 9 May 2016
Mon, 9 May 15:19 UTCM 4.9 / 161 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Thu, 9 Jun 19:57 UTCM 4.6 / 139 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Thu, 16 Jun 2016
Thu, 16 Jun 07:26 UTCM 4.6 / 196 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 18 Jun 2016
Sat, 18 Jun 20:02 UTCM 4.5 / 132 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Tue, 21 Jun 2016
Tue, 21 Jun 04:53 UTCM 5.1 / 146 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Tue, 21 Jun 19:18 UTCM 4.7 / 10 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Sat, 25 Jun 2016
Sat, 25 Jun 10:43 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Sun, 26 Jun 2016
Sun, 26 Jun 02:56 UTCM 4.8 / 165 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Sat, 30 Jul 2016
Sat, 30 Jul 14:47 UTCM 4.9 / 152 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Sun, 31 Jul 2016
Sun, 31 Jul 17:20 UTCM 4.6 / 208 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 6 Aug 2016
Sat, 6 Aug 10:55 UTCM 5.4 / 197 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Thu, 18 Aug 2016
Thu, 18 Aug 02:27 UTCM 4.6 / 13 km - [info]Tanimbar Islands Reg., Indonesia[Map]GFZ
Mon, 29 Aug 2016
Mon, 29 Aug 09:47 UTCM 4.6 / 105 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Wed, 7 Sep 2016
Wed, 7 Sep 16:08 UTCM 4.3 / 169 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Fri, 9 Sep 2016
Fri, 9 Sep 04:34 UTCM 4.8 / 151 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Fri, 9 Sep 14:36 UTCM 4.7 / 138 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Tue, 20 Sep 2016
Tue, 20 Sep 11:38 UTCM 4.4 / 117 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Fri, 23 Sep 2016
Fri, 23 Sep 05:09 UTCM 5.0 / 130 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Sat, 24 Sep 2016
Sat, 24 Sep 11:27 UTCM 5.2 / 258 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Fri, 30 Sep 2016
Fri, 30 Sep 22:45 UTCM 4.6 / 144 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Wed, 5 Oct 2016
Wed, 5 Oct 23:07 UTCM 4.8 / 128 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Tue, 18 Oct 2016
Tue, 18 Oct 00:36 UTCM 4.3 / 125 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 22 Oct 2016
Sat, 22 Oct 17:49 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Wed, 26 Oct 2016
Wed, 26 Oct 08:23 UTCM 4.4 / 185 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Fri, 28 Oct 2016
Fri, 28 Oct 09:15 UTCM 4.6 / 176 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Sun, 30 Oct 2016
Sun, 30 Oct 01:00 UTCM 4.7 / 168 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Sat, 5 Nov 2016
Sat, 5 Nov 01:02 UTCM 4.3 / 132 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Sun, 6 Nov 2016
Sun, 6 Nov 05:24 UTCM 4.6 / 145 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Mon, 14 Nov 2016
Mon, 14 Nov 14:29 UTCM 4.0 / 100 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 15 Nov 2016
Tue, 15 Nov 00:47 UTCM 4.2 / 179.2 km - [info]- 219km NW of Saumlaki, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Tue, 15 Nov 00:47 UTCM 4.2 / 179 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Thu, 17 Nov 2016
Thu, 17 Nov 16:56 UTCM 5.5 / 133 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Sat, 19 Nov 2016
Sat, 19 Nov 12:00 UTCM 4.8 / 171 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Mon, 21 Nov 2016
Mon, 21 Nov 02:08 UTCM 4.5 / 118 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Fri, 2 Dec 2016
Fri, 2 Dec 23:19 UTCM 4.9 / 151 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Tue, 13 Dec 2016
Tue, 13 Dec 17:47 UTCM 4.3 / 159 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Fri, 16 Dec 2016
Fri, 16 Dec 14:58 UTCM 4.8 / 195 km - [info]Banda Sea[Map]GFZ
Tue, 20 Dec 2016
Tue, 20 Dec 07:14 UTCM 5.0 / 101 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Fri, 23 Dec 2016
Fri, 23 Dec 22:15 UTCM 4.4 / 97 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 31 Dec 2016
Sat, 31 Dec 07:21 UTCM 4.6 / 141 km - [info] BANDA SEA[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: