Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
15-17 Jun 2019: Treasures of the Saronic Gulf - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
13-29 Aug 2019: Volcanoes of Java - Java (Indonesia)
14-17 Aug 2019: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano (Indonesia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - Near Coast of Peru on Tuesday, 5 April 2016

Light mag. 4.1 earthquake  - Near Coast of Peru on Tuesday, 5 April 2016
Date & time: Tue, 5 Apr 11:55:04 UTC
Magnitude: 4.1
Depth: 68.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 16.36°S / 72.65°W (Peru)
Nearest volcano: Huambo (81 km)
Primary data source: GFZ
Estimated released energy: 8.9*10^10 J (24.8 MWh / 21.3 tons of TNT) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource
Tue, 5 Apr 2016
Tue, 5 Apr 11:55 UTCM 4.1 / 68 kmNEAR COAST OF SOUTHERN PERUEMSC

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Thu, 7 Apr 2016
Thu, 7 Apr 23:21 UTCM 4.0 / 13 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Mon, 11 Apr 2016
Mon, 11 Apr 02:43 UTCM 4.2 / 99 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Wed, 13 Apr 2016
Wed, 13 Apr 02:48 UTCM 4.2 / 121 km - [info]SOUTHERN PERU[Map]EMSC
Sat, 23 Apr 2016
Sat, 23 Apr 10:31 UTCM 3.9 / 39 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Sat, 23 Apr 16:35 UTCM 3.4 / 7 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Mon, 25 Apr 2016
Mon, 25 Apr 05:54 UTCM 3.4 / 8 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Tue, 26 Apr 2016
Tue, 26 Apr 11:44 UTCM 4.1 / 34 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Fri, 29 Apr 2016
Fri, 29 Apr 06:33 UTCM 4.7 / 79 km - [info]SOUTHERN PERU[Map]EMSC
Sun, 1 May 2016
Sun, 1 May 20:45 UTCM 3.6 / 80.4 km - [info]51 km al SO de Arequipa[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 3 May 2016
Tue, 3 May 09:18 UTCM 3.4 / 7 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Wed, 4 May 2016
Wed, 4 May 22:39 UTCM 4.3 / 190.5 km - [info]38 km al NE de Arequipa[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Fri, 6 May 2016
Fri, 6 May 10:50 UTCM 3.8 / 119.1 km - [info]55 km al SE de Arequipa[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Wed, 11 May 2016
Wed, 11 May 03:13 UTCM 4.3 / 74 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Sat, 14 May 2016
Sat, 14 May 16:18 UTCM 3.5 / 10 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Mon, 30 May 2016
Mon, 30 May 10:01 UTCM 4.2 / 29 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Sun, 5 Jun 2016
Sun, 5 Jun 04:07 UTCM 5.0 / 47 km - [info]Near Coast of Peru[Map]GFZ
Sun, 5 Jun 04:52 UTCM 4.5 / 211.3 km - [info]54 km al N de Arequipa[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Fri, 17 Jun 2016
Fri, 17 Jun 16:27 UTCM 3.8 / 5 km - [info]60 km al NO de Arequipa[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Sat, 18 Jun 2016
Sat, 18 Jun 00:51 UTCM 3.4 / 7 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Wed, 22 Jun 2016
Wed, 22 Jun 00:54 UTCM 3.9 / 14 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Sun, 3 Jul 2016
Sun, 3 Jul 21:25 UTCM 3.4 / 9 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Mon, 4 Jul 2016
Mon, 4 Jul 17:42 UTCM 4.0 / 83 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Mon, 4 Jul 19:03 UTCM 4.6 / 135 km - [info]72 km al O de Arequipa[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 5 Jul 2016
Tue, 5 Jul 10:53 UTCM 3.8 / 23 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Sun, 17 Jul 2016
Sun, 17 Jul 00:40 UTCM 3.8 / 16 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Thu, 28 Jul 2016
Thu, 28 Jul 07:11 UTCM 3.8 / 11 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Fri, 29 Jul 2016
Fri, 29 Jul 12:53 UTCM 3.6 / 11 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Fri, 29 Jul 19:00 UTCM 4.3 / 111 km - [info]SOUTHERN PERU[Map]EMSC
Sat, 30 Jul 2016
Sat, 30 Jul 13:54 UTCM 4.2 / 78 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Mon, 1 Aug 2016
Mon, 1 Aug 07:24 UTCM 4.5 / 109 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Tue, 2 Aug 2016
Tue, 2 Aug 09:38 UTCM 3.4 / 12 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Sun, 7 Aug 2016
Sun, 7 Aug 14:54 UTCM 3.4 / 7 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Tue, 9 Aug 2016
Tue, 9 Aug 05:17 UTCM 3.9 / 13 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Mon, 15 Aug 2016 (7 earthquakes)
Mon, 15 Aug 00:42 UTCM 3.8 / 3 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Mon, 15 Aug 02:59 UTCM 5.3 / 10 km - [info]Southern Peru[Map]GFZ
Mon, 15 Aug 06:36 UTCM 3.7 / 6 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Mon, 15 Aug 10:35 UTCM 3.6 / 6 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Mon, 15 Aug 13:43 UTCM 3.4 / 7 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Mon, 15 Aug 15:33 UTCM 3.6 / 8 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Mon, 15 Aug 18:20 UTCM 3.6 / 8 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Tue, 16 Aug 2016
Tue, 16 Aug 02:16 UTCM 3.7 / 7 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Tue, 16 Aug 10:10 UTCM 3.8 / 4 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Tue, 16 Aug 11:23 UTCM 3.8 / 11 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Wed, 17 Aug 2016
Wed, 17 Aug 02:59 UTCM 3.6 / 9 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Wed, 17 Aug 11:21 UTCM 3.6 / 11 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Wed, 17 Aug 12:36 UTCM 4.3 / 20 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Thu, 18 Aug 2016
Thu, 18 Aug 02:23 UTCM 3.9 / 5 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Thu, 18 Aug 11:15 UTCM 3.9 / 9 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP
Fri, 19 Aug 2016
Fri, 19 Aug 09:49 UTCM 5.0 / 55 km - [info]Near Coast of Peru[Map]GFZ
Fri, 19 Aug 17:09 UTCM 3.7 / 7 km - [info] Peru[Map]IGP

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: