Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-20 Oct 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.7 earthquake - FIJI REGION on Saturday, 11 June 2016

Light mag. 4.7 earthquake  - FIJI REGION on Saturday, 11 June 2016
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 596.0 to 615.0 km.
Jun 11 12:06: Magnitude recalculated from 4.5 to 4.7.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 615.0 to 605.0 km.
Date & time: Sat, 11 Jun 05:02:47 UTC
Magnitude: 4.7
Depth: 605.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 18°S / 178.38°W (Fiji)
Nearest volcano: Taveuni (222 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
Estimated released energy: 7.1*10^11 J (197 MWh / 169 tons of TNT) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource
Sat, 11 Jun 2016
Sat, 11 Jun 05:02 UTCM 4.5 / 596.1 km- 288km N of Ndoi Island, FijiUSGS
Sat, 11 Jun 05:02 UTCM 5.0 / 610 kmFiji Islands RegionGeoAu

"I felt it" reports:
Motoakasaka, tokyo / MMI IV (Light shaking): It felt similar to being lightly jolted in a train as it crosses tracks. Lasted for about 40 seconds
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Mon, 20 Jun 2016
Mon, 20 Jun 22:29 UTCM 5.0 / 548 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GeoAu
Mon, 27 Jun 2016
Mon, 27 Jun 03:21 UTCM 4.1 / 470 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Mon, 1 Aug 2016
Mon, 1 Aug 17:45 UTCM 4.3 / 564.1 km - [info]- 271km SE of Lambasa, Fiji[Map]USGS
Wed, 3 Aug 2016
Wed, 3 Aug 13:21 UTCM 5.0 / 624 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sat, 6 Aug 2016
Sat, 6 Aug 03:44 UTCM 4.1 / 599 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Wed, 10 Aug 2016
Wed, 10 Aug 17:11 UTCM 4.3 / 583 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Sun, 14 Aug 2016
Sun, 14 Aug 14:37 UTCM 4.4 / 514 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Sun, 21 Aug 2016
Sun, 21 Aug 15:32 UTCM 5.4 / 510 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GeoAu
Mon, 22 Aug 2016
Mon, 22 Aug 17:29 UTCM 4.7 / 21 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Wed, 31 Aug 2016
Wed, 31 Aug 00:08 UTCM 4.2 / 567 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Thu, 8 Sep 2016
Thu, 8 Sep 23:27 UTCM 5.0 / 584 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sat, 17 Sep 2016
Sat, 17 Sep 11:02 UTCM 4.9 / 627 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Sat, 24 Sep 2016
Sat, 24 Sep 05:18 UTCM 4.6 / 530 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Sun, 25 Sep 2016
Sun, 25 Sep 15:15 UTCM 4.6 / 573 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Thu, 29 Sep 2016
Thu, 29 Sep 11:28 UTCM 4.4 / 582 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Fri, 30 Sep 2016
Fri, 30 Sep 03:21 UTCM 4.1 / 607 km - [info]- 280km N of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Mon, 10 Oct 2016
Mon, 10 Oct 16:27 UTCM 4.2 / 563 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Tue, 11 Oct 2016
Tue, 11 Oct 05:37 UTCM 5.0 / 534 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 11 Oct 20:08 UTCM 4.6 / 397 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Wed, 12 Oct 2016
Wed, 12 Oct 14:52 UTCM 5.0 / 521 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GeoAu
Thu, 20 Oct 2016
Thu, 20 Oct 07:49 UTCM 5.1 / 635 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Fri, 21 Oct 2016
Fri, 21 Oct 00:22 UTCM 4.4 / 515 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Sun, 23 Oct 2016
Sun, 23 Oct 19:32 UTCM 4.3 / 600.2 km - [info]- 277km NNE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sun, 30 Oct 2016
Sun, 30 Oct 08:31 UTCM 4.5 / 606 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Sat, 12 Nov 2016
Sat, 12 Nov 12:31 UTCM 4.7 / 540 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sun, 13 Nov 2016
Sun, 13 Nov 07:43 UTCM 4.4 / 542 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Sun, 27 Nov 2016
Sun, 27 Nov 06:49 UTCM 5.1 / 595 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 29 Nov 2016
Tue, 29 Nov 08:54 UTCM 4.6 / 598 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 29 Nov 18:26 UTCM 4.9 / 20 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Tue, 6 Dec 2016
Tue, 6 Dec 04:14 UTCM 4.5 / 627 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Tue, 13 Dec 2016
Tue, 13 Dec 02:46 UTCM 5.3 / 453 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 20 Dec 2016
Tue, 20 Dec 01:11 UTCM 4.7 / 586 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: