Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-20 Oct 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.7 earthquake - NEAR COAST OF NICARAGUA on Saturday, 3 December 2016

Light mag. 4.7 earthquake  - NEAR COAST OF NICARAGUA on Saturday, 3 December 2016
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 12.0 to 10.0 km.
Date & time: Sat, 3 Dec 11:17:59 UTC
Magnitude: 4.7
Depth: 10.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 12.81°N / 87.07°W (Nicaragua)
Nearest volcano: San Cristobal (14 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
Estimated released energy: 7.1*10^11 J (197 MWh / 169 tons of TNT) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource
Sat, 3 Dec 2016
Sat, 3 Dec 11:17 UTCM 4.7 / 10.9 km- 17km ESE of Puerto Morazan, NicaraguaUSGS

"I felt it" reports:
(47.1 km SSE from epicenter) [Map] / MMI II (Very weak shaking): We live high up. I thought my wife twitched that made the bed shake. That was it. (via app)
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Sat, 3 Dec 19:29 UTCM 3.5 / 16.4 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sat, 3 Dec 19:34 UTCM 3.6 / 19.3 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Wed, 7 Dec 2016
Wed, 7 Dec 07:15 UTCM 4.5 / 15 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Wed, 7 Dec 09:59 UTCM 3.0 / 114.5 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Thu, 8 Dec 2016
Thu, 8 Dec 06:10 UTCM 3.9 / 1.9 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Fri, 9 Dec 2016
Fri, 9 Dec 10:06 UTCM 5.0 / 11 km - [info]Off Coast of Central America[Map]GFZ
Sat, 10 Dec 2016
Sat, 10 Dec 00:09 UTCM 3.2 / 10 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Mon, 12 Dec 2016
Mon, 12 Dec 15:36 UTCM 4.5 / 56.1 km - [info]- 75km WSW of Corinto, Nicaragua[Map]USGS
Thu, 15 Dec 2016
Thu, 15 Dec 16:24 UTCM 2.9 / 15.8 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sat, 17 Dec 2016
Sat, 17 Dec 15:16 UTCM 2.9 / 14.9 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sun, 18 Dec 2016
Sun, 18 Dec 00:35 UTCM 2.9 / 12 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Wed, 21 Dec 2016
Wed, 21 Dec 10:27 UTCM 3.3 / 42.5 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Thu, 22 Dec 2016
Thu, 22 Dec 14:26 UTCM 3.0 / 6 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Fri, 23 Dec 2016
Fri, 23 Dec 16:51 UTCM 3.8 / 1.5 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Fri, 23 Dec 23:51 UTCM 4.0 / 73.9 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sun, 25 Dec 2016
Sun, 25 Dec 23:03 UTCM 3.6 / 28.6 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Mon, 26 Dec 2016
Mon, 26 Dec 02:14 UTCM 4.0 / 15 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Tue, 27 Dec 2016
Tue, 27 Dec 15:10 UTCM 4.6 / 35 km - [info]- 153km S of Puerto El Triunfo, El Salvador[Map]USGS
Sun, 1 Jan 2017
Sun, 1 Jan 23:43 UTCM 2.8 / 2 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Mon, 2 Jan 2017
Mon, 2 Jan 02:05 UTCM 3.3 / 2.1 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Tue, 3 Jan 2017
Tue, 3 Jan 22:36 UTCM 3.5 / 15 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Fri, 6 Jan 2017
Fri, 6 Jan 01:37 UTCM 2.9 / 9 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Fri, 6 Jan 07:51 UTCM 3.4 / 19.7 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Thu, 12 Jan 2017
Thu, 12 Jan 13:11 UTCM 2.7 / 16.7 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Fri, 13 Jan 2017
Fri, 13 Jan 06:43 UTCM 2.7 / 15 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sun, 15 Jan 2017
Sun, 15 Jan 05:20 UTCM 3.7 / 10 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sun, 15 Jan 06:37 UTCM 3.3 / 26.1 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Wed, 18 Jan 2017
Wed, 18 Jan 10:15 UTCM 3.6 / 21.5 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Wed, 18 Jan 11:33 UTCM 3.3 / 14.2 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Fri, 20 Jan 2017
Fri, 20 Jan 02:15 UTCM 3.1 / 18.7 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Fri, 20 Jan 04:06 UTCM 3.2 / 11.4 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Fri, 20 Jan 04:30 UTCM 3.2 / 63.5 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Fri, 20 Jan 11:22 UTCM 3.6 / 123.4 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sat, 4 Feb 2017
Sat, 4 Feb 12:59 UTCM 4.1 / 9 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sun, 5 Feb 2017
Sun, 5 Feb 03:25 UTCM 3.0 / 70 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Mon, 6 Feb 2017
Mon, 6 Feb 07:17 UTCM 3.7 / 42.7 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Wed, 15 Feb 2017
Wed, 15 Feb 02:47 UTCM 4.7 / 72 km - [info]Near Coast of Nicaragua[Map]GFZ
Tue, 21 Feb 2017
Tue, 21 Feb 22:02 UTCM 3.5 / 136.7 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Thu, 23 Feb 2017
Thu, 23 Feb 15:16 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info]- 108km SW of Jiquilillo, Nicaragua[Map]USGS
Fri, 24 Feb 2017
Fri, 24 Feb 13:41 UTCM 4.8 / 75 km - [info]Near Coast of Nicaragua[Map]GFZ
Sat, 25 Feb 2017
Sat, 25 Feb 12:03 UTCM 2.6 / 2.5 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sat, 4 Mar 2017
Sat, 4 Mar 07:39 UTCM 3.1 / 25.9 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Mon, 6 Mar 2017
Mon, 6 Mar 13:26 UTCM 4.2 / 15.1 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Tue, 7 Mar 2017
Tue, 7 Mar 07:08 UTCM 4.3 / 14.9 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Wed, 15 Mar 2017
Wed, 15 Mar 01:11 UTCM 3.3 / 4.3 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Thu, 16 Mar 2017
Thu, 16 Mar 16:58 UTCM 3.6 / 98.4 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Tue, 21 Mar 2017
Tue, 21 Mar 07:41 UTCM 3.0 / 21.4 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sun, 26 Mar 2017
Sun, 26 Mar 00:20 UTCM 4.3 / 57 km - [info] OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR[Map]EMSC
Wed, 29 Mar 2017
Wed, 29 Mar 16:59 UTCM 4.8 / 76 km - [info]Near Coast of Nicaragua[Map]GFZ
Fri, 31 Mar 2017
Fri, 31 Mar 22:05 UTCM 3.3 / 12.2 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: