Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
15-17 Jun 2019: Treasures of the Saronic Gulf - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
13-29 Aug 2019: Volcanoes of Java - Java (Indonesia)
14-17 Aug 2019: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano (Indonesia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Moderate mag. 5.6 earthquake - Southern Molucca Sea on Friday, 13 January 2017

Moderate mag. 5.6 earthquake  - Southern Molucca Sea on Friday, 13 January 2017
Jan 13 16:43: Magnitude recalculated from 5.7 to 5.6.
Jan 13 16:44: Magnitude recalculated from 5.6 to 5.5.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 10.0 to 57.0 km.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 57.0 to 64.0 km.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 64.0 to 72.0 km.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 72.0 to 70.0 km.
Jan 13 16:48: Magnitude recalculated from 5.5 to 5.4.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 70.0 to 67.0 km.
Jan 13 16:49: Magnitude recalculated from 5.4 to 5.5.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 67.0 to 65.0 km.
Jan 13 16:51: Magnitude recalculated from 5.5 to 5.4.
Jan 13 16:51: Magnitude recalculated from 5.4 to 5.5.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 65.0 to 64.0 km.
Jan 13 17:05: Magnitude recalculated from 5.5 to 5.6.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 64.0 to 48.0 km.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 48.0 to 47.0 km.
Jan 13 17:08: Magnitude recalculated from 5.6 to 5.5.
Jan 13 17:14: Magnitude recalculated from 5.5 to 5.6.
Date & time: Fri, 13 Jan 16:39:25 UTC
Magnitude: 5.6
Depth: 47.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 0.03°S / 125.06°E (Indonesia)
Nearest volcano: Ambang (123 km)
Primary data source: GFZ
Estimated released energy: 1.6*10^13 J (4.4 GWh / 3788 tons of TNT / 0.2 atomic bombs equivalent) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource
Fri, 13 Jan 2017
Fri, 13 Jan 16:39 UTCM 5.7 / 60 km MOLUCCA SEAEMSC
Fri, 13 Jan 16:39 UTCM 5.7 / 46 km- 106km SE of Modayag, IndonesiaUSGS

shake map
(shakemap: USGS)
"I felt it" reports:
(1573.3 km SW from epicenter) [Map] / not felt
Kakas (167.5 km N from epicenter) [Map] / MMI III (Weak shaking): I feel the earthquake, (via app)
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 1 Feb 2017
Wed, 1 Feb 20:53 UTCM 4.4 / 34.1 km - [info]- 130km WSW of Kota Ternate, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Wed, 8 Feb 2017
Wed, 8 Feb 21:32 UTCM 4.7 / 37.7 km - [info]- 148km WSW of Kota Ternate, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Sat, 25 Feb 2017
Sat, 25 Feb 21:08 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info]4.5 KEPULAUAN SULA, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 7 Mar 2017
Tue, 7 Mar 12:31 UTCM 4.5 / 269 km - [info]MINAHASA, SULAWESI, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Wed, 15 Mar 2017
Wed, 15 Mar 20:10 UTCM 4.2 / 148 km - [info]MINAHASA, SULAWESI, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Fri, 17 Mar 2017
Fri, 17 Mar 06:59 UTCM 4.6 / 67 km - [info]Northern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Wed, 29 Mar 2017
Wed, 29 Mar 08:20 UTCM 4.8 / 150 km - [info]Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Mon, 3 Apr 2017
Mon, 3 Apr 05:32 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info]- 79km WSW of Kota Ternate, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Wed, 12 Apr 2017
Wed, 12 Apr 09:44 UTCM 4.6 / 47 km - [info]Northern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Mon, 24 Apr 2017
Mon, 24 Apr 06:13 UTCM 5.2 / 62 km - [info]Southern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Fri, 28 Apr 2017
Fri, 28 Apr 13:29 UTCM 4.4 / 10 km - [info]Northern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Sun, 30 Apr 2017
Sun, 30 Apr 22:00 UTCM 4.4 / 10 km - [info]Northern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Mon, 1 May 2017
Mon, 1 May 14:26 UTCM 4.6 / 139.6 km - [info]- 46km SE of Bilungala, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Thu, 18 May 2017
Thu, 18 May 12:56 UTCM 4.6 / 70 km - [info]Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Sat, 20 May 2017
Sat, 20 May 18:10 UTCM 4.2 / 52 km - [info]Northern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Fri, 23 Jun 2017
Fri, 23 Jun 11:55 UTCM 4.5 / 51 km - [info]Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Mon, 26 Jun 2017
Mon, 26 Jun 13:24 UTCM 4.5 / 57.9 km - [info]- 83km WSW of Kota Ternate, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Wed, 5 Jul 2017
Wed, 5 Jul 12:49 UTCM 4.3 / 55 km - [info]Northern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Tue, 18 Jul 2017
Tue, 18 Jul 18:25 UTCM 4.5 / 35 km - [info]Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Wed, 9 Aug 2017
Wed, 9 Aug 07:47 UTCM 4.7 / 43.4 km - [info]- 121km W of Kota Ternate, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Sat, 19 Aug 2017
Sat, 19 Aug 00:40 UTCM 4.3 / 61.6 km - [info]- 173km NNE of Dofa, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Thu, 31 Aug 2017
Thu, 31 Aug 22:57 UTCM 5.5 / 55 km - [info]Southern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Thu, 7 Sep 2017
Thu, 7 Sep 11:41 UTCM 4.4 / 50 km - [info]Northern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Mon, 25 Sep 2017
Mon, 25 Sep 22:07 UTCM 4.7 / 214 km - [info]Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Sun, 5 Nov 2017
Sun, 5 Nov 12:49 UTCM 4.2 / 54 km - [info]Southern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Tue, 7 Nov 2017
Tue, 7 Nov 21:47 UTCM 4.8 / 144 km - [info]Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Fri, 17 Nov 2017
Fri, 17 Nov 21:44 UTCM 4.4 / 95 km - [info]Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Wed, 22 Nov 2017
Wed, 22 Nov 01:11 UTCM 5.0 / 107 km - [info]Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Sat, 2 Dec 2017
Sat, 2 Dec 12:14 UTCM 4.1 / 91.1 km - [info]- 104km SSE of Lolayan, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Mon, 4 Dec 2017
Mon, 4 Dec 07:45 UTCM 4.4 / 46 km - [info]Southern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Wed, 6 Dec 2017
Wed, 6 Dec 16:06 UTCM 5.4 / 39 km - [info]Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Wed, 6 Dec 23:40 UTCM 4.8 / 54 km - [info] MOLUCCA SEA[Map]EMSC
Fri, 8 Dec 2017
Fri, 8 Dec 16:17 UTCM 4.5 / 109 km - [info]Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Mon, 18 Dec 2017
Mon, 18 Dec 15:09 UTCM 4.9 / 141 km - [info]Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Mon, 1 Jan 2018
Mon, 1 Jan 00:52 UTCM 4.6 / 126 km - [info]Minahassa Peninsula, Sulawesi[Map]GFZ
Tue, 2 Jan 2018
Tue, 2 Jan 17:47 UTCM 4.4 / 134.2 km - [info]- 44km SE of Bilungala, Indonesia[Map]USGS

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: