Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.8 earthquake - Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G. on Saturday, 14 January 2017

Light mag. 4.8 earthquake  - Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G. on Saturday, 14 January 2017
Jan 14 23:17: Magnitude recalculated from 4.8 to 4.7.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 152.0 to 156.0 km.
Jan 14 23:18: Magnitude recalculated from 4.7 to 4.8.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 156.0 to 160.0 km.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 160.0 to 162.0 km.
Date & time: Sat, 14 Jan 23:10:10 UTC
Magnitude: 4.8
Depth: 162.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 5.65°S / 146.81°E (Papua New Guinea)
Nearest volcano: Long Island (47 km)
Primary data source: GFZ
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Sat, 14 Jan 2017
Sat, 14 Jan 23:10 UTCM 5.1 / 148 km EASTERN NEW GUINEA REG., P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sat, 14 Jan 23:10 UTCM 5.1 / 123 kmEastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G[Map]GeoAu
Sat, 14 Jan 23:10 UTCM 5.1 / 146.4 km- 114km N of Lae, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 1 Feb 2017
Wed, 1 Feb 19:12 UTCM 4.3 / 69.7 km - [info]- 60km N of Lae, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Wed, 1 Feb 21:37 UTCM 4.5 / 191.7 km - [info]- 132km N of Lae, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sun, 12 Feb 2017
Sun, 12 Feb 11:57 UTCM 5.1 / 83.3 km - [info]- 51km WSW of Madang, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sun, 19 Feb 2017
Sun, 19 Feb 23:15 UTCM 4.4 / 79.9 km - [info]- eastern New Guinea region, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Tue, 21 Feb 2017
Tue, 21 Feb 07:03 UTCM 4.5 / 47.3 km - [info]- 36km NNW of Finschhafen, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Thu, 23 Feb 2017
Thu, 23 Feb 15:11 UTCM 5.4 / 113 km - [info]Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sat, 25 Feb 2017
Sat, 25 Feb 13:24 UTCM 5.0 / 100 km - [info] EASTERN NEW GUINEA REG., P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 1 Mar 2017
Wed, 1 Mar 16:51 UTCM 4.9 / 55.8 km - [info]- 85km W of Kandrian, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Thu, 2 Mar 2017
Thu, 2 Mar 04:50 UTCM 4.6 / 68.1 km - [info]- 101km N of Lae, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Fri, 3 Mar 2017
Fri, 3 Mar 10:46 UTCM 4.7 / 137.4 km - [info]- eastern New Guinea region, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Wed, 8 Mar 2017
Wed, 8 Mar 07:30 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info]Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Mon, 13 Mar 2017
Mon, 13 Mar 00:48 UTCM 4.1 / 58.5 km - [info]- eastern New Guinea region, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Wed, 15 Mar 2017
Wed, 15 Mar 16:38 UTCM 4.5 / 212 km - [info]- eastern New Guinea region, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Thu, 16 Mar 2017
Thu, 16 Mar 14:12 UTCM 4.7 / 91 km - [info] EASTERN NEW GUINEA REG., P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Thu, 23 Mar 2017
Thu, 23 Mar 05:44 UTCM 4.6 / 81 km - [info] EASTERN NEW GUINEA REG., P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sat, 25 Mar 2017
Sat, 25 Mar 09:07 UTCM 5.3 / 10 km - [info]Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sun, 26 Mar 2017
Sun, 26 Mar 06:53 UTCM 4.5 / 83.1 km - [info]- 57km W of Madang, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sat, 8 Apr 2017
Sat, 8 Apr 12:23 UTCM 4.7 / 156 km - [info] EASTERN NEW GUINEA REG., P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Fri, 12 May 2017
Fri, 12 May 21:40 UTCM 4.3 / 91.4 km - [info]- eastern New Guinea region, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Wed, 17 May 2017
Wed, 17 May 22:22 UTCM 4.6 / 35 km - [info]- New Britain region, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Fri, 2 Jun 2017
Fri, 2 Jun 23:48 UTCM 6.0 / 201 km - [info]Near N. Coast of New Guinea, PNG.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 6 Jun 2017
Tue, 6 Jun 07:23 UTCM 4.9 / 83 km - [info]Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Mon, 12 Jun 2017
Mon, 12 Jun 22:25 UTCM 4.6 / 74 km - [info] NEW GUINEA, PAPUA NEW GUINEA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 13 Jun 2017
Tue, 13 Jun 18:02 UTCM 4.7 / 87 km - [info]Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Thu, 27 Jul 2017
Thu, 27 Jul 00:01 UTCM 4.7 / 112 km - [info]Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Wed, 2 Aug 2017
Wed, 2 Aug 14:45 UTCM 4.7 / 69 km - [info]Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Tue, 22 Aug 2017
Tue, 22 Aug 11:05 UTCM 5.2 / 216 km - [info]Eastern New Guinea Region, PNG[Map]GeoAu
Thu, 31 Aug 2017
Thu, 31 Aug 22:41 UTCM 4.7 / 179 km - [info]Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Thu, 14 Sep 2017
Thu, 14 Sep 15:52 UTCM 4.5 / 80 km - [info] EASTERN NEW GUINEA REG., P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Fri, 15 Sep 2017
Fri, 15 Sep 21:48 UTCM 4.6 / 106.6 km - [info]- 82km NNW of Finschhafen, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Wed, 20 Sep 2017
Wed, 20 Sep 22:13 UTCM 5.6 / 10 km - [info]Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Wed, 20 Sep 22:17 UTCM 5.2 / 10 km - [info] EASTERN NEW GUINEA REG., P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 20 Sep 22:36 UTCM 4.7 / 10 km - [info]- 162km N of Finschhafen, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sat, 30 Sep 2017
Sat, 30 Sep 05:19 UTCM 4.5 / 46.8 km - [info]- 82km ENE of Kainantu, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sun, 1 Oct 2017
Sun, 1 Oct 05:08 UTCM 4.2 / 60 km - [info]- 28km E of Kainantu, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Wed, 11 Oct 2017
Wed, 11 Oct 21:56 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info]Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Mon, 16 Oct 2017
Mon, 16 Oct 12:02 UTCM 5.0 / 195 km - [info] EASTERN NEW GUINEA REG., P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 18 Oct 2017
Wed, 18 Oct 16:44 UTCM 5.1 / 206 km - [info]Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Fri, 20 Oct 2017
Fri, 20 Oct 02:22 UTCM 5.1 / 202 km - [info]Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Thu, 26 Oct 2017
Thu, 26 Oct 17:32 UTCM 4.6 / 109 km - [info]Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Thu, 26 Oct 17:33 UTCM 5.2 / 208 km - [info]Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G[Map]GeoAu
Mon, 30 Oct 2017
Mon, 30 Oct 14:22 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info]Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sat, 4 Nov 2017
Sat, 4 Nov 17:49 UTCM 4.6 / 93.9 km - [info]- 60km E of Kainantu, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Mon, 6 Nov 2017
Mon, 6 Nov 00:28 UTCM 5.0 / 144 km - [info]Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Fri, 1 Dec 2017
Fri, 1 Dec 02:49 UTCM 6.1 / 10 km - [info]Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sun, 3 Dec 2017
Sun, 3 Dec 02:37 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info]Eastern New Guinea Reg., P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Thu, 7 Dec 2017
Thu, 7 Dec 02:50 UTCM 4.9 / 174.2 km - [info]- 133km NW of Kandrian, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sat, 16 Dec 2017
Sat, 16 Dec 10:56 UTCM 4.5 / 24.8 km - [info]- 93km N of Finschhafen, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sat, 23 Dec 2017
Sat, 23 Dec 21:36 UTCM 4.7 / 64 km - [info]- 39km NNW of Finschhafen, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: