Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.5 earthquake - Jujuy Province, Argentina on Saturday, 18 February 2017

Light mag. 4.5 earthquake  - Jujuy Province, Argentina on Saturday, 18 February 2017
Date & time: Sat, 18 Feb 12:43:33 UTC
Magnitude: 4.5
Depth: 217.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 23.94°S / 66.85°W (Argentina)
Nearest volcano: Tuzgle (40 km)
Primary data source: GFZ
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Sat, 18 Feb 2017
Sat, 18 Feb 12:43 UTCM 4.9 / 225 kmJUJUY, ARGENTINA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 18 Feb 12:43 UTCM 4.9 / 233.1 km88 km al E de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Sat, 18 Feb 12:43 UTCM 4.6 / 197.8 km- 53km WNW of San Antonio de los Cobres, Argentina[Map]USGS

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 1 Mar 2017
Wed, 1 Mar 02:19 UTCM 3.2 / 144 km - [info]ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE[Map]EMSC
Sat, 4 Mar 2017
Sat, 4 Mar 09:13 UTCM 4.5 / 250 km - [info]JUJUY, ARGENTINA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 6 Mar 2017
Mon, 6 Mar 17:37 UTCM 4.8 / 214.4 km - [info]96 km al E de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 7 Mar 2017
Tue, 7 Mar 12:17 UTCM 4.2 / 135 km - [info]ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE[Map]EMSC
Tue, 14 Mar 2017
Tue, 14 Mar 20:03 UTCM 4.5 / 209 km - [info]Chile-Argentina Border Region[Map]GFZ
Wed, 15 Mar 2017
Wed, 15 Mar 09:24 UTCM 3.3 / 147.9 km - [info]34 km al E de San Pedro de Atacama[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Thu, 16 Mar 2017
Thu, 16 Mar 08:08 UTCM 5.1 / 177 km - [info]Salta Province, Argentina[Map]GFZ
Mon, 20 Mar 2017
Mon, 20 Mar 05:09 UTCM 2.9 / 127.7 km - [info]40 km al O de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Thu, 23 Mar 2017
Thu, 23 Mar 00:53 UTCM 2.8 / 102.2 km - [info]56 km al SO de San Pedro de Atacama[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Sun, 26 Mar 2017
Sun, 26 Mar 21:06 UTCM 3.5 / 144.3 km - [info]42 km al O de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 28 Mar 2017
Tue, 28 Mar 18:41 UTCM 2.8 / 111.5 km - [info]52 km al NE de Mina La Escondida.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 28 Mar 18:53 UTCM 3.0 / 102.2 km - [info]26 km al NE de Mina La Escondida.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Wed, 29 Mar 2017
Wed, 29 Mar 13:52 UTCM 4.7 / 244.3 km - [info]79 km al NE de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Fri, 31 Mar 2017
Fri, 31 Mar 12:49 UTCM 3.4 / 142.9 km - [info]55 km al O de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 4 Apr 2017
Tue, 4 Apr 15:23 UTCM 3.4 / 110 km - [info]ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE[Map]EMSC
Thu, 6 Apr 2017
Thu, 6 Apr 06:09 UTCM 4.5 / 174 km - [info]Salta Province, Argentina[Map]GFZ
Sat, 8 Apr 2017
Sat, 8 Apr 00:39 UTCM 2.8 / 119.3 km - [info]51 km al O de San Pedro de Atacama[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 11 Apr 2017
Tue, 11 Apr 04:22 UTCM 4.5 / 199 km - [info]Salta Province, Argentina[Map]GFZ
Wed, 12 Apr 2017
Wed, 12 Apr 00:44 UTCM 2.9 / 138.5 km - [info]54 km al O de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Sat, 15 Apr 2017
Sat, 15 Apr 08:19 UTCM 6.3 / 153 km - [info]Chile-Argentina Border Region[Map]GFZ
Wed, 19 Apr 2017
Wed, 19 Apr 20:27 UTCM 4.7 / 193 km - [info]Jujuy Province, Argentina[Map]GFZ
Sat, 22 Apr 2017
Sat, 22 Apr 17:53 UTCM 2.8 / 113 km - [info]26 km al O de San Pedro de Atacama[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Sat, 22 Apr 18:53 UTCM 3.2 / 126.3 km - [info]50 km al NO de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Sun, 23 Apr 2017
Sun, 23 Apr 21:13 UTCM 2.9 / 123.4 km - [info]31 km al S de San Pedro de Atacama[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Sun, 23 Apr 21:22 UTCM 4.5 / 164 km - [info]SALTA, ARGENTINA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 25 Apr 2017
Tue, 25 Apr 10:17 UTCM 4.6 / 200 km - [info]SALTA, ARGENTINA[Map]EMSC
Sun, 7 May 2017
Sun, 7 May 23:39 UTCM 4.6 / 207.1 km - [info]84 km al SE de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 9 May 2017
Tue, 9 May 16:30 UTCM 3.0 / 97.2 km - [info]58 km al O de San Pedro de Atacama[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Wed, 10 May 2017
Wed, 10 May 12:26 UTCM 2.7 / 132 km - [info]49 km al O de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Sat, 13 May 2017
Sat, 13 May 04:45 UTCM 3.2 / 123.6 km - [info]69 km al NE de Mina La Escondida.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Mon, 15 May 2017
Mon, 15 May 01:08 UTCM 3.2 / 118 km - [info]ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE[Map]EMSC
Wed, 17 May 2017
Wed, 17 May 10:46 UTCM 4.7 / 168 km - [info]Chile-Argentina Border Region[Map]GFZ
Fri, 19 May 2017
Fri, 19 May 04:14 UTCM 4.8 / 165 km - [info]Chile-Argentina Border Region[Map]GFZ
Sat, 20 May 2017
Sat, 20 May 02:57 UTCM 4.5 / 256.4 km - [info]119 km al NE de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Mon, 22 May 2017
Mon, 22 May 14:23 UTCM 4.2 / 91 km - [info]Northern Chile[Map]GFZ
Mon, 22 May 19:24 UTCM 4.5 / 225 km - [info]- 101km W of San Antonio de los Cobres, Argentina[Map]USGS
Tue, 23 May 2017
Tue, 23 May 11:30 UTCM 3.2 / 91.5 km - [info]59 km al SE de Sierra Gorda.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 23 May 22:26 UTCM 4.6 / 187 km - [info]Chile-Argentina Border Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 6 Jun 2017
Tue, 6 Jun 09:16 UTCM 3.2 / 98 km - [info]81 km al SO de San Pedro de Atacama[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 6 Jun 12:55 UTCM 3.6 / 103.1 km - [info]56 km al E de Sierra Gorda.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 6 Jun 17:35 UTCM 5.5 / 93 km - [info]Northern Chile[Map]GFZ
Tue, 13 Jun 2017
Tue, 13 Jun 07:58 UTCM 4.6 / 205.2 km - [info]88 km al SE de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Mon, 19 Jun 2017
Mon, 19 Jun 22:45 UTCM 4.7 / 171 km - [info]Chile-Argentina Border Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 20 Jun 2017
Tue, 20 Jun 03:22 UTCM 3.0 / 125.5 km - [info]24 km al S de San Pedro de Atacama[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Wed, 21 Jun 2017
Wed, 21 Jun 05:59 UTCM 2.9 / 99.6 km - [info]57 km al SO de San Pedro de Atacama[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Thu, 22 Jun 2017
Thu, 22 Jun 03:41 UTCM 4.5 / 169 km - [info]Chile-Argentina Border Region[Map]GFZ
Sun, 25 Jun 2017
Sun, 25 Jun 00:40 UTCM 4.6 / 207.2 km - [info]101 km al SE de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Mon, 26 Jun 2017
Mon, 26 Jun 10:38 UTCM 3.4 / 112 km - [info]ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE[Map]EMSC
Mon, 26 Jun 20:03 UTCM 4.5 / 201 km - [info]80 km al SE de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Thu, 29 Jun 2017
Thu, 29 Jun 05:12 UTCM 3.7 / 127 km - [info]ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: