Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - 14km S of Panguna, Papua New Guinea on Wednesday, 8 March 2017

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake  - 14km S of Panguna, Papua New Guinea on Wednesday, 8 March 2017
Date & time: Wed, 8 Mar 20:44:40 UTC
Local time at epicenter: 2017-03-09 07:44:40 +11:00
Magnitude: 4.6
Depth: 137.7 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 6.4476°S / 155.4956°E (Papua New Guinea)
Nearest volcano: Takuan (12 km)
Primary data source: USGS
Estimated released energy: 5*10^11 J (139 MWh / 120 tons of TNT) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Fri, 10 Mar 2017
Fri, 10 Mar 06:15 UTCM 4.4 / 10 km - [info]- 175km WNW of Panguna, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Wed, 15 Mar 2017
Wed, 15 Mar 05:35 UTCM 4.8 / 42.2 km - [info]- 157km SE of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Thu, 23 Mar 2017
Thu, 23 Mar 17:00 UTCM 4.5 / 114 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Sat, 25 Mar 2017
Sat, 25 Mar 08:43 UTCM 4.7 / 258 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Tue, 4 Apr 2017
Tue, 4 Apr 13:22 UTCM 5.0 / 181 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Wed, 12 Apr 2017
Wed, 12 Apr 02:12 UTCM 4.7 / 10 km - [info]- 174km SSE of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Fri, 19 May 2017
Fri, 19 May 18:14 UTCM 5.0 / 135 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Sat, 17 Jun 2017
Sat, 17 Jun 15:13 UTCM 4.7 / 10.7 km - [info]- 176km SSE of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Tue, 20 Jun 2017
Tue, 20 Jun 12:40 UTCM 4.7 / 55.5 km - [info]- 86km WSW of Panguna, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sat, 8 Jul 2017
Sat, 8 Jul 22:26 UTCM 4.6 / 11.2 km - [info]- 90km SW of Panguna, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sun, 23 Jul 2017
Sun, 23 Jul 23:26 UTCM 4.8 / 169.9 km - [info]- 90km WNW of Panguna, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Tue, 1 Aug 2017
Tue, 1 Aug 09:40 UTCM 5.0 / 460 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Sat, 12 Aug 2017
Sat, 12 Aug 20:30 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info]New Ireland Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sun, 13 Aug 2017
Sun, 13 Aug 01:12 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]- 158km SSE of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Fri, 25 Aug 2017
Fri, 25 Aug 05:40 UTCM 4.6 / 188 km - [info] BOUGAINVILLE REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sat, 16 Sep 2017
Sat, 16 Sep 12:36 UTCM 5.0 / 104 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Fri, 6 Oct 2017
Fri, 6 Oct 11:29 UTCM 5.1 / 122 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Tue, 31 Oct 2017
Tue, 31 Oct 23:18 UTCM 5.0 / 66 km - [info] SOLOMON ISLANDS[Map]EMSC
Thu, 9 Nov 2017
Thu, 9 Nov 10:06 UTCM 4.6 / 73 km - [info]- 102km SW of Chirovanga, Solomon Islands[Map]USGS
Wed, 15 Nov 2017
Wed, 15 Nov 00:36 UTCM 5.3 / 10 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Sat, 25 Nov 2017
Sat, 25 Nov 20:03 UTCM 4.9 / 127 km - [info] BOUGAINVILLE REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Thu, 14 Dec 2017
Thu, 14 Dec 23:40 UTCM 5.4 / 10 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Sat, 16 Dec 2017
Sat, 16 Dec 07:53 UTCM 4.3 / 46.8 km - [info]- 88km W of Panguna, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sun, 17 Dec 2017
Sun, 17 Dec 18:58 UTCM 5.0 / 180 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Wed, 27 Dec 2017
Wed, 27 Dec 16:33 UTCM 5.0 / 112 km - [info]Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: