Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.5 earthquake - Chile-Argentina Border Region on Tuesday, 14 March 2017

Light mag. 4.5 earthquake  - Chile-Argentina Border Region on Tuesday, 14 March 2017
Date & time: Tue, 14 Mar 20:03:49 UTC
Magnitude: 4.5
Depth: 209.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 24.07°S / 67.13°W (Argentina)
Nearest volcano: Cordon de Puntas Negras (55 km)
Primary data source: GFZ
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Tue, 14 Mar 2017
Tue, 14 Mar 20:03 UTCM 4.5 / 200 kmSALTA, ARGENTINA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 14 Mar 20:03 UTCM 4.9 / 229.3 km69 km al SE de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 14 Mar 20:03 UTCM 4.5 / 201.8 km- 80km WNW of San Antonio de los Cobres, Argentina[Map]USGS

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 15 Mar 2017
Wed, 15 Mar 20:54 UTCM 3.6 / 116 km - [info]ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE[Map]EMSC
Thu, 16 Mar 2017
Thu, 16 Mar 08:08 UTCM 5.1 / 177 km - [info]Salta Province, Argentina[Map]GFZ
Sun, 19 Mar 2017
Sun, 19 Mar 08:55 UTCM 3.8 / 92.8 km - [info]40 km al SE de Sierra Gorda.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Sun, 19 Mar 21:59 UTCM 3.1 / 113.9 km - [info]55 km al SE de Sierra Gorda.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Mon, 20 Mar 2017
Mon, 20 Mar 05:09 UTCM 2.9 / 127.7 km - [info]40 km al O de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Thu, 23 Mar 2017
Thu, 23 Mar 00:53 UTCM 2.8 / 102.2 km - [info]56 km al SO de San Pedro de Atacama[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Thu, 23 Mar 19:32 UTCM 4.2 / 105.3 km - [info]70 km al S de Sierra Gorda.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Sat, 25 Mar 2017
Sat, 25 Mar 21:05 UTCM 2.9 / 93 km - [info]63 km al N de Mina La Escondida.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Sun, 26 Mar 2017
Sun, 26 Mar 21:06 UTCM 3.5 / 144.3 km - [info]42 km al O de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 28 Mar 2017
Tue, 28 Mar 18:41 UTCM 2.8 / 111.5 km - [info]52 km al NE de Mina La Escondida.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 28 Mar 18:53 UTCM 3.0 / 102.2 km - [info]26 km al NE de Mina La Escondida.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Wed, 29 Mar 2017
Wed, 29 Mar 13:52 UTCM 4.7 / 244.3 km - [info]79 km al NE de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Fri, 31 Mar 2017
Fri, 31 Mar 12:49 UTCM 3.4 / 142.9 km - [info]55 km al O de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Mon, 3 Apr 2017
Mon, 3 Apr 18:23 UTCM 3.0 / 90.5 km - [info]32 km al SE de Sierra Gorda.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 4 Apr 2017
Tue, 4 Apr 15:23 UTCM 3.4 / 110 km - [info]ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE[Map]EMSC
Thu, 6 Apr 2017
Thu, 6 Apr 06:09 UTCM 4.5 / 174 km - [info]Salta Province, Argentina[Map]GFZ
Sat, 8 Apr 2017
Sat, 8 Apr 10:47 UTCM 2.6 / 95.8 km - [info]55 km al SE de Sierra Gorda.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 11 Apr 2017
Tue, 11 Apr 04:22 UTCM 4.5 / 199 km - [info]Salta Province, Argentina[Map]GFZ
Wed, 12 Apr 2017
Wed, 12 Apr 00:44 UTCM 2.9 / 138.5 km - [info]54 km al O de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Thu, 13 Apr 2017
Thu, 13 Apr 22:44 UTCM 2.7 / 82.9 km - [info]40 km al SE de Sierra Gorda.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Sat, 15 Apr 2017
Sat, 15 Apr 08:19 UTCM 6.3 / 153 km - [info]Chile-Argentina Border Region[Map]GFZ
Wed, 19 Apr 2017
Wed, 19 Apr 20:27 UTCM 4.7 / 193 km - [info]Jujuy Province, Argentina[Map]GFZ
Sat, 22 Apr 2017
Sat, 22 Apr 18:53 UTCM 3.2 / 126.3 km - [info]50 km al NO de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Sun, 23 Apr 2017
Sun, 23 Apr 21:13 UTCM 2.9 / 123.4 km - [info]31 km al S de San Pedro de Atacama[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Sun, 23 Apr 21:22 UTCM 4.5 / 164 km - [info]SALTA, ARGENTINA[Map]EMSC
Tue, 25 Apr 2017
Tue, 25 Apr 10:17 UTCM 4.6 / 200 km - [info]SALTA, ARGENTINA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 1 May 2017
Mon, 1 May 05:23 UTCM 3.1 / 104 km - [info]76 km al SE de Sierra Gorda.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Sun, 7 May 2017
Sun, 7 May 23:39 UTCM 4.6 / 207.1 km - [info]84 km al SE de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 9 May 2017
Tue, 9 May 16:30 UTCM 3.0 / 97.2 km - [info]58 km al O de San Pedro de Atacama[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Wed, 10 May 2017
Wed, 10 May 12:26 UTCM 2.7 / 132 km - [info]49 km al O de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Fri, 12 May 2017
Fri, 12 May 04:19 UTCM 3.4 / 99 km - [info]ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE[Map]EMSC
Sat, 13 May 2017
Sat, 13 May 04:45 UTCM 3.2 / 123.6 km - [info]69 km al NE de Mina La Escondida.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Mon, 15 May 2017
Mon, 15 May 01:08 UTCM 3.2 / 118 km - [info]ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE[Map]EMSC
Wed, 17 May 2017
Wed, 17 May 10:46 UTCM 4.7 / 168 km - [info]Chile-Argentina Border Region[Map]GFZ
Fri, 19 May 2017
Fri, 19 May 04:14 UTCM 4.8 / 165 km - [info]Chile-Argentina Border Region[Map]GFZ
Mon, 22 May 2017
Mon, 22 May 05:38 UTCM 2.8 / 101.2 km - [info]50 km al N de Mina La Escondida.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Mon, 22 May 14:23 UTCM 4.2 / 91 km - [info]Northern Chile[Map]GFZ
Mon, 22 May 19:24 UTCM 4.5 / 225 km - [info]- 101km W of San Antonio de los Cobres, Argentina[Map]USGS
Tue, 23 May 2017
Tue, 23 May 11:30 UTCM 3.2 / 91.5 km - [info]59 km al SE de Sierra Gorda.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 23 May 22:26 UTCM 4.6 / 187 km - [info]Chile-Argentina Border Region[Map]GFZ
Wed, 31 May 2017
Wed, 31 May 15:22 UTCM 3.0 / 98 km - [info]ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE[Map]EMSC
Thu, 1 Jun 2017
Thu, 1 Jun 10:01 UTCM 3.2 / 92.1 km - [info]76 km al S de Sierra Gorda.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 6 Jun 2017
Tue, 6 Jun 09:16 UTCM 3.2 / 98 km - [info]81 km al SO de San Pedro de Atacama[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 13 Jun 2017
Tue, 13 Jun 07:58 UTCM 4.6 / 205.2 km - [info]88 km al SE de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 13 Jun 16:25 UTCM 3.1 / 81.9 km - [info]44 km al N de Mina La Escondida.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Fri, 16 Jun 2017
Fri, 16 Jun 12:32 UTCM 3.1 / 92.9 km - [info]55 km al N de Mina La Escondida.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Sat, 17 Jun 2017
Sat, 17 Jun 00:27 UTCM 2.7 / 91.9 km - [info]51 km al SE de Sierra Gorda.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Mon, 19 Jun 2017
Mon, 19 Jun 09:29 UTCM 3.7 / 118 km - [info]ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE[Map]EMSC
Mon, 19 Jun 22:45 UTCM 4.7 / 171 km - [info]Chile-Argentina Border Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 20 Jun 2017
Tue, 20 Jun 03:22 UTCM 3.0 / 125.5 km - [info]24 km al S de San Pedro de Atacama[Map]GUG (U. Chile)

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: