Get our newsletter!
Check out the volcano tours offered by Volcano-Adventures!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
14-27 Nov 2017: Expedition Papua - Papua New Guinea
23 Dec 17 - 5 Jan 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
30 Dec 17 - 6 Jan 2018: Nyiragongo Lava Lake & Mountain Gorillas - DR Congo + Rwanda
13-26 Jan 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
28 Jan - 4 Feb 2018: Nyiragongo Lava Lake & Mountain Gorillas - DR Congo + Rwanda
17-23 Mar 2018: Kilauea Volcano Special - Big Island, Hawaiʻi
25-29 Mar 2018: Sakurajima Volcano Special - Kyushu (Japan)
28 Apr - 3 May 2018: Aegean's Hidden Gem: Isle of Milos - Milos Island (Greece)
5-13 May 2018: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Moderate mag. 5.0 earthquake - S OFF KII PENINSULA on Monday, 20 March 2017

Moderate mag. 5.0 earthquake  - S OFF KII PENINSULA on Monday, 20 March 2017
Date & time: Mon, 20 Mar 12:57:08 UTC
Local time at epicenter: Mar 20, 2017 21:57:08.75
Magnitude: 5.0
Depth: 452.7 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 33.226°N / 135.9°E [Map]
Nearest volcano: Kozu-shima (321 km)
Primary data source: NIED
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Mon, 20 Mar
Mon, 20 Mar 12:57 UTCM 4.5 / 440 kmNear S. Coast of Western Honshu[Map]GFZ

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Mon, 20 Mar 13:07 UTCM 3.0 / 5.1 km - [info] (283 km)CENTRAL WAKAYAMA PREF
[Map]
NIED
Tue, 28 Mar
Tue, 28 Mar 09:28 UTCM 3.5 / 12.5 km - [info] (298 km)SOUTHERN WAKAYAMA PREF
[Map]
NIED
Tue, 28 Mar 10:25 UTCM 4.1 / 12.2 km - [info] (298 km)SOUTHERN WAKAYAMA PREF
[Map]
NIED
Mon, 10 Apr
Mon, 10 Apr 21:36 UTCM 2.7 / 27.5 km - [info] (351 km)S OFF KII PENINSULA[Map]NIED
Tue, 11 Apr
Tue, 11 Apr 19:03 UTCM 3.1 / 32.6 km - [info] (245 km)SE OFF SHIKOKU[Map]NIED
Wed, 12 Apr
Wed, 12 Apr 08:09 UTCM 3.0 / 37.4 km - [info] (270 km)S PART OF KII CHANNEL[Map]NIED
Wed, 12 Apr 09:55 UTCM 2.6 / 25.3 km - [info] (314 km)SE OFF KII PENINSULA[Map]NIED
Wed, 12 Apr 17:15 UTCM 3.9 / 23 km - [info] (289 km)CENTRAL WAKAYAMA PREF
[Map]
NIED
Wed, 19 Apr
Wed, 19 Apr 05:17 UTCM 2.8 / 7.5 km - [info] (272 km)NW WAKAYAMA PREF
[Map]
NIED
Mon, 24 Apr
Mon, 24 Apr 04:45 UTCM 4.5 / 483.3 km - [info] (318 km)SHIKOKU BASIN
[Map]
NIED
Tue, 2 May
Tue, 2 May 15:01 UTCM 3.6 / 32.8 km - [info] (220 km)SE KOCHI PREF[Map]NIED
Sun, 7 May
Sun, 7 May 23:56 UTCM 3.1 / 23.1 km - [info] (332 km)S OFF KII PENINSULA
[Map]
NIED
Wed, 10 May
Wed, 10 May 06:12 UTCM 2.7 / 12 km - [info] (227 km)SOUTHERN NARA PREF
[Map]
NIED
Fri, 12 May
Fri, 12 May 09:15 UTCM 2.8 / 28.3 km - [info] (236 km)SE OFF KII PENINSULA[Map]NIED
Sun, 14 May
Sun, 14 May 11:29 UTCM 2.6 / 7.8 km - [info] (224 km)TOKUSHIMA PREF
[Map]
NIED
Thu, 18 May
Thu, 18 May 04:29 UTCM 2.7 / 11.5 km - [info] (297 km)SOUTHERN WAKAYAMA PREF
[Map]
NIED
Thu, 18 May 21:05 UTCM 4.5 / 529.5 km - [info] (306 km)SE OFF KII PENINSULA
[Map]
NIED
Sun, 21 May
Sun, 21 May 01:45 UTCM 2.7 / 13.6 km - [info] (260 km)S PART OF KII CHANNEL
[Map]
NIED
Sun, 28 May
Sun, 28 May 02:44 UTCM 2.8 / 34.6 km - [info] (241 km)S PART OF KII CHANNEL[Map]NIED
Sat, 3 Jun
Sat, 3 Jun 07:29 UTCM 5.0 / 413.5 km - [info] (200 km)FAR S OFF TOKAI DISTRICT
[Map]
NIED
Mon, 19 Jun
Mon, 19 Jun 20:49 UTCM 2.6 / 97.3 km - [info] (232 km)SE OFF KII PENINSULA
[Map]
NIED
Wed, 28 Jun
Wed, 28 Jun 05:56 UTCM 2.9 / 6.5 km - [info] (260 km)NW WAKAYAMA PREF[Map]NIED
Wed, 28 Jun 05:59 UTCM 2.8 / 6.3 km - [info] (261 km)NW WAKAYAMA PREF[Map]NIED
Thu, 29 Jun
Thu, 29 Jun 17:21 UTCM 3.2 / 6.5 km - [info] (261 km)NW WAKAYAMA PREF
[Map]
NIED
Fri, 30 Jun
Fri, 30 Jun 14:06 UTCM 4.9 / 255.5 km - [info] (212 km)TOKUSHIMA PREF[Map]NIED
Sat, 1 Jul
Sat, 1 Jul 00:58 UTCM 3.0 / 59.4 km - [info] (247 km)NE WAKAYAMA PREF[Map]NIED
Sun, 2 Jul
Sun, 2 Jul 09:02 UTCM 2.6 / 26 km - [info] (325 km)S OFF KII PENINSULA
[Map]
NIED
Mon, 3 Jul
Mon, 3 Jul 07:09 UTCM 2.8 / 47.3 km - [info] (247 km)SOUTHERN NARA PREF[Map]NIED
Wed, 5 Jul
Wed, 5 Jul 04:48 UTCM 3.4 / 65.3 km - [info] (254 km)NE WAKAYAMA PREF
[Map]
NIED
(84.1 km NW from epicenter) / MMI II (Very weak shaking)
Sun, 9 Jul
Sun, 9 Jul 21:24 UTCM 2.7 / 25.6 km - [info] (315 km)SOUTHERN WAKAYAMA PREF
[Map]
NIED
Wed, 12 Jul
Wed, 12 Jul 18:37 UTCM 2.7 / 5.9 km - [info] (259 km)NW WAKAYAMA PREF
[Map]
NIED
Thu, 13 Jul
Thu, 13 Jul 06:22 UTCM 2.8 / 39.3 km - [info] (229 km)TOKUSHIMA PREF[Map]NIED
Tue, 18 Jul
Tue, 18 Jul 13:58 UTCM 2.7 / 27.4 km - [info] (248 km)S OFF SHIKOKU
[Map]
NIED
Fri, 21 Jul
Fri, 21 Jul 14:00 UTCM 2.9 / 56.4 km - [info] (238 km)SE OFF KII PENINSULA
[Map]
NIED
Sat, 22 Jul
Sat, 22 Jul 06:58 UTCM 2.6 / 54.3 km - [info] (265 km)SOUTHERN NARA PREF
[Map]
NIED
Fri, 28 Jul
Fri, 28 Jul 00:56 UTCM 4.5 / 436 km - [info] (327 km)S OFF KII PENINSULA
[Map]
NIED
Fri, 4 Aug
Fri, 4 Aug 22:33 UTCM 2.6 / 17.1 km - [info] (365 km)S OFF KII PENINSULA
[Map]
NIED
Wed, 20 Sep
Wed, 20 Sep 16:02 UTCM 4.4 / 48.1 km - [info] (276 km)- 21km NNE of Tanabe, Japan
[Map]
USGS
Fri, 13 Oct
Fri, 13 Oct 04:47 UTCM 4.6 / 362 km - [info] (224 km) NEAR S. COAST OF WESTERN HONSHU
[Map]
EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: