Get our newsletter!
Check out the volcano tours offered by Volcano-Adventures!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
8-23 Jul: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
10-14 Jul: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
10-24 Jul: Volcanoes in the South Sea - Vanuatu (South Sea)
14-23 Jul: The Volcanoes of Ambrym - the Grand Traverse - Vanuatu (South Sea)
15-22 Jul: Indonesia Specials - Java-Komodo-Bali (Indonesia)
23-25 Jul: Indonesia Specials - Java-Komodo-Bali (Indonesia)
23-27 Jul: Indonesia Specials - Java-Komodo-Bali (Indonesia)
23 Jul - 8 Aug: Volcanoes of Java - Java (Indonesia)
5-20 Sep: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.4 earthquake - Near Coast of Guerrero, Mexico on Monday, 20 March 2017

Light mag. 4.4 earthquake  - Near Coast of Guerrero, Mexico on Monday, 20 March 2017
Date & time: Mon, 20 Mar 13:01:27 UTC
Magnitude: 4.4
Depth: 10.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 16.51°N / 99.92°W [Map]
Nearest volcano: Nevado de Toluca (289 km)
Primary data source: GFZ
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Thu, 23 Mar
Thu, 23 Mar 01:52 UTCM 4.1 / 13 km - [info] (340 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 25 Mar
Sat, 25 Mar 12:18 UTCM 4.5 / 30 km - [info] (289 km)OAXACA, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Wed, 29 Mar
Wed, 29 Mar 21:59 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info] (305 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 29 Mar 23:39 UTCM 4.1 / 13 km - [info] (350 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 31 Mar
Fri, 31 Mar 10:12 UTCM 4.1 / 30 km - [info] (245 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 2 Apr
Sun, 2 Apr 10:40 UTCM 4.0 / 11 km - [info] (310 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 8 Apr
Sat, 8 Apr 01:18 UTCM 4.4 / 19 km - [info] (218 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 9 Apr
Sun, 9 Apr 09:23 UTCM 4.7 / 8 km - [info] (206 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 9 Apr 09:46 UTCM 4.1 / 9 km - [info] (258 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 9 Apr 09:53 UTCM 4.2 / 10 km - [info] (257 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 10 Apr
Mon, 10 Apr 08:10 UTCM 4.4 / 5 km - [info] (284 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Cary North Carolina / MMI IV (Light shaking)
Thu, 13 Apr
Thu, 13 Apr 13:40 UTCM 4.1 / 5 km - [info] (316 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 15 Apr
Sat, 15 Apr 17:50 UTCM 4.2 / 5 km - [info] (245 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 17 Apr
Mon, 17 Apr 03:06 UTCM 4.0 / 15 km - [info] (309 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 18 Apr
Tue, 18 Apr 21:04 UTCM 4.0 / 18 km - [info] (293 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 19 Apr
Wed, 19 Apr 23:18 UTCM 4.1 / 12 km - [info] (254 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Apr
Thu, 20 Apr 21:13 UTCM 4.5 / 31 km - [info] (239 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 23 Apr
Sun, 23 Apr 04:23 UTCM 4.4 / 8 km - [info] (314 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 24 Apr
Mon, 24 Apr 07:02 UTCM 4.2 / 15 km - [info] (290 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 25 Apr
Tue, 25 Apr 18:39 UTCM 4.0 / 13 km - [info] (301 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 30 Apr
Sun, 30 Apr 22:28 UTCM 4.0 / 31 km - [info] (251 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 1 May
Mon, 1 May 02:46 UTCM 4.0 / 16 km - [info] (345 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 2 May
Tue, 2 May 18:27 UTCM 4.0 / 18 km - [info] (256 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 2 May 20:47 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info] (334 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 3 May
Wed, 3 May 03:28 UTCM 4.0 / 17 km - [info] (252 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Wed, 3 May 05:36 UTCM 4.5 / 8 km - [info] (273 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Fri, 5 May
Fri, 5 May 22:01 UTCM 4.0 / 16 km - [info] (308 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 9 May
Tue, 9 May 07:58 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info] (223 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 9 May 15:25 UTCM 4.2 / 5 km - [info] (245 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 10 May
Wed, 10 May 13:08 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info] (315 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 11 May
Thu, 11 May 14:47 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info] (288 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 12 May
Fri, 12 May 09:37 UTCM 4.2 / 40 km - [info] (241 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 12 May 13:14 UTCM 4.6 / 25 km - [info] (291 km)Near Coast of Guerrero, Mexico
[Map]
GFZ
Chilpancingo / MMI V (Moderate shaking)
Tue, 16 May
Tue, 16 May 03:17 UTCM 4.0 / 4 km - [info] (289 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Tue, 16 May 18:38 UTCM 4.2 / 4 km - [info] (269 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 21 May
Sun, 21 May 04:27 UTCM 4.1 / 9 km - [info] (325 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 21 May 04:58 UTCM 4.0 / 15 km - [info] (333 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: