Get our newsletter!
Check out the volcano tours offered by Volcano-Adventures!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
17-23 Mar 2018: Kilauea Volcano Special - Big Island, Hawaiʻi
17-23 Mar 2018: Pele´s Fire and Myths - Big Island, Hawaiʻi
28 Apr - 3 May 2018: Aegean's Hidden Gem: Isle of Milos - Milos Island (Greece)
5-13 May 2018: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
12-20 May 2018: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
19-27 May 2018: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
9-17 Jun 2018: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
24 Jun - 1 Jul 2018: Nyiragongo Lava Lake & Mountain Gorillas - DR Congo + Rwanda
12-14 Jul 2018: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano, Sunda Strait
15-31 Jul 2018: Volcanoes and Spices - N-Sulawesi + Halmahera (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO on Friday, 24 March 2017

Light mag. 4.1 earthquake  - OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO on Friday, 24 March 2017
Date & time: Fri, 24 Mar 02:07:26 UTC
Magnitude: 4.1
Depth: 95.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 15.8°N / 93.72°W [Map]
Nearest volcano: El Chichón (181 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Sun, 26 Mar
Sun, 26 Mar 21:48 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info] (258 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Cancun / MMI V (Moderate shaking)
Tue, 28 Mar
Tue, 28 Mar 00:44 UTCM 4.0 / 68 km - [info] (213 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 28 Mar 21:48 UTCM 4.6 / 78 km - [info] (206 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Mexico City / MMI II (Very weak shaking)
Fri, 31 Mar
Fri, 31 Mar 09:58 UTCM 5.2 / 10 km - [info] (121 km)Mexico-Guatemala Border Region[Map]GFZ
Sat, 1 Apr
Sat, 1 Apr 19:31 UTCM 4.4 / 28 km - [info] (235 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 2 Apr
Sun, 2 Apr 13:51 UTCM 4.2 / 116 km - [info] (152 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 3 Apr
Mon, 3 Apr 22:36 UTCM 4.1 / 32 km - [info] (317 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 4 Apr
Tue, 4 Apr 01:51 UTCM 4.0 / 81 km - [info] (211 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 5 Apr
Wed, 5 Apr 04:44 UTCM 4.5 / 62 km - [info] (241 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Huatulco Oaxaca / MMI III (Weak shaking)
Huatulco Mexico / MMI V (Moderate shaking): A short rumble, woke me from my sleep. Windows rattled and building shook for a few seconds.
crucecita / MMI V (Moderate shaking)
Huatulco / MMI II (Very weak shaking)
Sat, 8 Apr
Sat, 8 Apr 15:16 UTCM 4.2 / 10 km - [info] (239 km)OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 12 Apr
Wed, 12 Apr 20:16 UTCM 4.0 / 148 km - [info] (99 km)CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 16 Apr
Sun, 16 Apr 09:10 UTCM 4.1 / 63 km - [info] (226 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Apr
Thu, 20 Apr 09:00 UTCM 4.0 / 79 km - [info] (162 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
(54.9 km NNE from epicenter) / MMI IV (Light shaking)
Wed, 26 Apr
Wed, 26 Apr 09:01 UTCM 4.1 / 107 km - [info] (67 km)CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 2 May
Tue, 2 May 14:50 UTCM 4.0 / 95 km - [info] (108 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 2 May 19:03 UTCM 4.1 / 98 km - [info] (171 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 3 May
Wed, 3 May 23:48 UTCM 4.5 / 102 km - [info] (70 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 6 May
Sat, 6 May 20:44 UTCM 4.6 / 72 km - [info] (217 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 7 May
Sun, 7 May 05:56 UTCM 4.0 / 63 km - [info] (111 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 7 May 19:12 UTCM 4.0 / 64 km - [info] (184 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 7 May 19:50 UTCM 4.0 / 97 km - [info] (202 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 8 May
Mon, 8 May 02:49 UTCM 4.3 / 17 km - [info] (230 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Mon, 8 May 14:49 UTCM 4.0 / 99 km - [info] (174 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 10 May
Wed, 10 May 03:22 UTCM 4.4 / 82 km - [info] (213 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 14 May
Sun, 14 May 03:57 UTCM 4.2 / 79 km - [info] (179 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 15 May
Mon, 15 May 11:02 UTCM 4.0 / 53 km - [info] (201 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 17 May
Wed, 17 May 00:38 UTCM 4.0 / 36 km - [info] (119 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 17 May 08:30 UTCM 4.2 / 130 km - [info] (112 km)CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 18 May
Thu, 18 May 14:58 UTCM 4.1 / 80 km - [info] (103 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 21 May
Sun, 21 May 12:19 UTCM 4.1 / 98 km - [info] (58 km)CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 22 May
Mon, 22 May 09:29 UTCM 4.1 / 29 km - [info] (251 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 26 May
Fri, 26 May 11:14 UTCM 4.4 / 84 km - [info] (117 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 26 May 12:35 UTCM 3.6 / 50 km - [info] (131 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 26 May 12:51 UTCM 3.7 / 114 km - [info] (128 km)CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 29 May
Mon, 29 May 12:56 UTCM 4.5 / 97.2 km - [info] (173 km)- offshore Oaxaca, Mexico[Map]USGS
Sun, 11 Jun
Sun, 11 Jun 03:13 UTCM 4.2 / 36.8 km - [info] (123 km)- 73km SSW of Mapastepec, Mexico[Map]USGS
Wed, 14 Jun
Wed, 14 Jun 07:52 UTCM 5.0 / 104 km - [info]Tajumulco (15 km) - Guatemala Guatemala
[Map]
GFZ
Santa Lucia Milpas Altas, Sacatepequez, Guatemala (127.1 km SE from epicenter) / MMI V (Moderate shaking): Not as bad as the first one. I was already awake from the first one, so this one didn't scare me.
Nuevo Cuscatlan (El Salvador) (303 km SE from epicenter)(no details): Very mild but woke me up. It was very long (via EMSC)
Antigua guatemala / MMI V (Moderate shaking)
(136.2 km SSE from epicenter) / MMI IV (Light shaking) (via app)
Santa Tecla (El Salvador) (279 km SE from epicenter)(no details): Se sintió en El Salvador (via EMSC)
Guatemala (241.9 km SSE from epicenter) / MMI VI (Strong shaking) (via app)
Sun, 2 Jul
Sun, 2 Jul 13:39 UTCM 4.5 / 171.8 km - [info] (126 km)- 16km NW of Angel Albino Corzo, Mexico[Map]USGS
Sat, 15 Jul
Sat, 15 Jul 05:30 UTCM 4.1 / 23 km - [info] (301 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Jul
Thu, 20 Jul 19:53 UTCM 4.5 / 16 km - [info] (305 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Fri, 21 Jul
Fri, 21 Jul 07:06 UTCM 4.6 / 14 km - [info] (175 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Juchitán de Zaragoza (Mexico) (78 km NW from epicenter)(no details): Se sintió leve (via EMSC)
Sat, 22 Jul
Sat, 22 Jul 06:29 UTCM 4.0 / 72 km - [info] (168 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 24 Jul
Mon, 24 Jul 00:26 UTCM 4.1 / 123 km - [info] (159 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 26 Jul
Wed, 26 Jul 08:00 UTCM 4.4 / 82 km - [info] (164 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 27 Jul
Thu, 27 Jul 16:03 UTCM 4.0 / 70 km - [info] (115 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 27 Jul 22:56 UTCM 4.5 / 107.1 km - [info] (170 km)- 11km NNW of Ixhuatan, Mexico[Map]USGS
Fri, 28 Jul
Fri, 28 Jul 17:08 UTCM 4.1 / 81 km - [info] (203 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 8 Aug
Tue, 8 Aug 20:22 UTCM 4.0 / 14 km - [info] (287 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 16 Aug
Wed, 16 Aug 21:52 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info] (337 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 20 Aug
Sun, 20 Aug 18:32 UTCM 4.1 / 20 km - [info] (303 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: