Get our newsletter!
Check out the volcano tours offered by Volcano-Adventures!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
23 Dec 17 - 5 Jan 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
30 Dec 17 - 6 Jan 2018: Nyiragongo Lava Lake & Mountain Gorillas - DR Congo + Rwanda
13-26 Jan 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
28 Jan - 4 Feb 2018: Nyiragongo Lava Lake & Mountain Gorillas - DR Congo + Rwanda
17-23 Mar 2018: Kilauea Volcano Special - Big Island, Hawaiʻi
25-29 Mar 2018: Sakurajima Volcano Special - Kyushu (Japan)
28 Apr - 3 May 2018: Aegean's Hidden Gem: Isle of Milos - Milos Island (Greece)
5-13 May 2018: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
19-27 May 2018: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
30 Sep - 6 Oct 2018: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
 
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.4 earthquake - GUERRERO, MEXICO on Sunday, 2 April 2017

Light mag. 4.4 earthquake  - GUERRERO, MEXICO on Sunday, 2 April 2017
Date & time: Sun, 2 Apr 23:09:32 UTC
Magnitude: 4.4
Depth: 34.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 17.51°N / 101.37°W [Map]
Nearest volcano: Paricutín (Michoacán-Guanajuato) (239 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Ixtapa, Guerrero, Mx / MMI IV (Light shaking): Saw the pool shift and felt the ground shake
Ixtapa Zihuatanejo (Mexico) (29 km NW from epicenter)(no details): Mild shake (via EMSC)
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Sat, 8 Apr
Sat, 8 Apr 01:18 UTCM 4.4 / 19 km - [info] (218 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 9 Apr
Sun, 9 Apr 09:23 UTCM 4.7 / 8 km - [info] (206 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 9 Apr 09:46 UTCM 4.1 / 9 km - [info] (258 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 9 Apr 09:53 UTCM 4.2 / 10 km - [info] (257 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 15 Apr
Sat, 15 Apr 17:50 UTCM 4.2 / 5 km - [info] (245 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 18 Apr
Tue, 18 Apr 20:06 UTCM 4.3 / 9 km - [info] (208 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Wed, 19 Apr
Wed, 19 Apr 23:18 UTCM 4.1 / 12 km - [info] (254 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Apr
Thu, 20 Apr 10:17 UTCM 3.5 / 58 km - [info] (136 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Apr 21:13 UTCM 4.5 / 31 km - [info] (239 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 22 Apr
Sat, 22 Apr 08:51 UTCM 4.3 / 62 km - [info] (178 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 24 Apr
Mon, 24 Apr 07:02 UTCM 4.2 / 15 km - [info] (290 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 30 Apr
Sun, 30 Apr 22:28 UTCM 4.0 / 31 km - [info] (251 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 2 May
Tue, 2 May 18:27 UTCM 4.0 / 18 km - [info] (256 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 3 May
Wed, 3 May 03:28 UTCM 4.0 / 17 km - [info] (252 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Thu, 4 May
Thu, 4 May 00:59 UTCM 4.0 / 57 km - [info] (134 km)MICHOACAN, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 7 May
Sun, 7 May 02:15 UTCM 4.1 / 72 km - [info] (137 km)MICHOACAN, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 7 May 20:36 UTCM 4.0 / 57 km - [info] (115 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 8 May
Mon, 8 May 03:21 UTCM 4.1 / 47 km - [info] (219 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 9 May
Tue, 9 May 07:58 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info] (223 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 9 May 13:49 UTCM 4.0 / 56 km - [info] (129 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
I FELT IT
[Map]
EMSC
Tue, 9 May 15:25 UTCM 4.2 / 5 km - [info] (245 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 12 May
Fri, 12 May 09:37 UTCM 4.2 / 40 km - [info] (241 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 15 May
Mon, 15 May 17:23 UTCM 4.4 / 30 km - [info] (207 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 16 May
Tue, 16 May 18:38 UTCM 4.2 / 4 km - [info] (269 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 2 Jun
Fri, 2 Jun 06:48 UTCM 4.2 / 10 km - [info] (179 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 15 Jul
Sat, 15 Jul 07:45 UTCM 4.0 / 28 km - [info] (236 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 23 Jul
Sun, 23 Jul 10:54 UTCM 4.2 / 49 km - [info] (127 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 29 Jul
Sat, 29 Jul 20:07 UTCM 4.0 / 36 km - [info] (233 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Ciudad de México (Mexico) (288 km NE from epicenter)(no details): Sonó la alerta sísmica de la app de Francisco bueno eso sabrá se movió las ropas que estaban colgadas casi no lo senti (via EMSC)
Thu, 3 Aug
Thu, 3 Aug 01:18 UTCM 4.0 / 41 km - [info] (149 km)OFFSHORE MICHOACAN, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 6 Aug
Sun, 6 Aug 19:08 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info] (263 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 8 Aug
Tue, 8 Aug 13:04 UTCM 4.2 / 25 km - [info] (243 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Fri, 11 Aug
Fri, 11 Aug 04:07 UTCM 4.0 / 40 km - [info] (233 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Mon, 14 Aug
Mon, 14 Aug 04:41 UTCM 4.1 / 51 km - [info] (223 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 16 Aug
Wed, 16 Aug 00:49 UTCM 4.4 / 44 km - [info] (212 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Thu, 17 Aug
Thu, 17 Aug 16:03 UTCM 4.0 / 35 km - [info] (244 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 18 Aug
Fri, 18 Aug 05:15 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info] (208 km)Guerrero, Mexico
[Map]
GFZ
Mexico City / MMI III (Weak shaking)
Fri, 18 Aug 05:58 UTCM 4.1 / 5 km - [info] (264 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
(331.4 km W from epicenter) / MMI II (Very weak shaking) (via app)
Fri, 18 Aug 16:44 UTCM 4.1 / 2 km - [info] (263 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 19 Aug
Sat, 19 Aug 02:30 UTCM 4.2 / 6 km - [info] (259 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 20 Aug
Sun, 20 Aug 04:32 UTCM 4.0 / 3 km - [info] (269 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 20 Aug 05:54 UTCM 4.4 / 10 km - [info] (160 km)OFFSHORE MICHOACAN, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Mon, 21 Aug
Mon, 21 Aug 19:21 UTCM 4.1 / 14 km - [info] (160 km)OFFSHORE MICHOACAN, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 22 Aug
Tue, 22 Aug 00:26 UTCM 4.2 / 14 km - [info] (156 km)OFFSHORE MICHOACAN, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Tue, 22 Aug 01:01 UTCM 4.3 / 12 km - [info] (157 km)OFFSHORE MICHOACAN, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Wed, 23 Aug
Wed, 23 Aug 14:51 UTCM 4.1 / 5 km - [info] (246 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 24 Aug
Thu, 24 Aug 04:05 UTCM 4.1 / 36 km - [info] (221 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Sat, 26 Aug
Sat, 26 Aug 18:37 UTCM 4.0 / 49 km - [info] (120 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 27 Aug
Sun, 27 Aug 22:20 UTCM 4.0 / 61 km - [info] (150 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 29 Aug
Tue, 29 Aug 09:22 UTCM 4.0 / 9 km - [info] (256 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 2 Sep
Sat, 2 Sep 02:11 UTCM 4.1 / 27 km - [info] (225 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: