Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-20 Oct 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.4 earthquake - 56 km al Sur de Leon, Nicaragua. on Wednesday, 5 April 2017

Light mag. 4.4 earthquake  - 56 km al Sur de Leon, Nicaragua. on Wednesday, 5 April 2017
Date & time: Wed, 5 Apr 02:14:00 UTC
Local time at epicenter: 04 de abril del 2017 8:14 pm
Magnitude: 4.4
Depth: 77.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 12.016°N / 86.75°W (Nicaragua)
Nearest volcano: Nejapa-Miraflores (48 km)
Primary data source: RSN
Estimated released energy: 2.5*10^11 J (69.8 MWh / 60 tons of TNT) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 5 Apr 2017
Wed, 5 Apr 09:01 UTCM 3.7 / 141 km - [info]34 km al Sur de Managua, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Sat, 8 Apr 2017
Sat, 8 Apr 09:29 UTCM 3.6 / 99 km - [info]56 km al Sur de Managua, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Sat, 8 Apr 10:04 UTCM 4.4 / 35 km - [info]- 89km WSW of Masachapa, Nicaragua[Map]USGS
Sun, 9 Apr 2017
Sun, 9 Apr 12:23 UTCM 3.7 / 34 km - [info]63 km al Oeste de Rivas, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Wed, 12 Apr 2017
Wed, 12 Apr 19:19 UTCM 3.6 / 15 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Wed, 12 Apr 21:13 UTCM 4.0 / 25.9 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sun, 16 Apr 2017
Sun, 16 Apr 03:12 UTCM 2.7 / 15.1 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Wed, 19 Apr 2017
Wed, 19 Apr 11:50 UTCM 3.6 / 69 km - [info]60 km al Sur de Managua, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Thu, 20 Apr 2017
Thu, 20 Apr 08:03 UTCM 3.4 / 15 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Thu, 20 Apr 12:43 UTCM 3.2 / 20.4 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sat, 22 Apr 2017
Sat, 22 Apr 04:28 UTCM 2.7 - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Mon, 24 Apr 2017
Mon, 24 Apr 03:24 UTCM 4.9 / 58 km - [info]Near Coast of Nicaragua[Map]GFZ
Wed, 26 Apr 2017
Wed, 26 Apr 18:29 UTCM 3.6 / 12.2 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Thu, 27 Apr 2017
Thu, 27 Apr 08:09 UTCM 4.0 / 8.8 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Thu, 27 Apr 19:18 UTCM 3.0 / 6.3 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Fri, 28 Apr 2017
Fri, 28 Apr 01:10 UTCM 4.7 / 20 km - [info]248 km al Oeste de Leon, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Fri, 28 Apr 07:53 UTCM 4.6 / 176.4 km - [info]- 16km NNW of Belen, Nicaragua[Map]USGS
Sat, 29 Apr 2017
Sat, 29 Apr 17:58 UTCM 4.8 / 61 km - [info]Near Coast of Nicaragua[Map]GFZ
Sun, 30 Apr 2017
Sun, 30 Apr 09:50 UTCM 4.5 / 35.7 km - [info]- 66km SSW of Masachapa, Nicaragua[Map]USGS
Sun, 30 Apr 19:58 UTCM 3.3 / 6.6 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Fri, 12 May 2017
Fri, 12 May 03:40 UTCM 2.7 / 83.4 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sat, 13 May 2017
Sat, 13 May 08:05 UTCM 3.3 / 5 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Tue, 16 May 2017
Tue, 16 May 02:12 UTCM 2.9 / 67 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Tue, 16 May 04:27 UTCM 3.4 / 35 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Tue, 16 May 12:32 UTCM 3.3 / 13 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sat, 20 May 2017
Sat, 20 May 13:27 UTCM 3.7 / 26.4 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sat, 20 May 17:38 UTCM 3.1 / 6.1 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Mon, 22 May 2017
Mon, 22 May 16:34 UTCM 3.3 / 16 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Fri, 26 May 2017
Fri, 26 May 03:07 UTCM 3.4 / 56.8 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Wed, 31 May 2017
Wed, 31 May 16:41 UTCM 2.7 / 9.5 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Wed, 31 May 16:42 UTCM 3.0 / 6.8 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Fri, 2 Jun 2017
Fri, 2 Jun 12:15 UTCM 2.9 / 4.6 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Mon, 5 Jun 2017
Mon, 5 Jun 12:17 UTCM 3.3 / 122.9 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Tue, 6 Jun 2017
Tue, 6 Jun 19:36 UTCM 3.5 / 60.3 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Thu, 15 Jun 2017
Thu, 15 Jun 14:25 UTCM 3.9 / 60.5 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sat, 17 Jun 2017
Sat, 17 Jun 13:47 UTCM 5.3 / 56 km - [info]Near Coast of Nicaragua[Map]GFZ
Sat, 17 Jun 15:47 UTCM 2.8 / 20.1 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Mon, 19 Jun 2017
Mon, 19 Jun 03:14 UTCM 4.6 / 35 km - [info]- 84km W of Masachapa, Nicaragua[Map]USGS
Tue, 20 Jun 2017
Tue, 20 Jun 07:17 UTCM 4.4 / 10 km - [info]- 141km S of Puerto El Triunfo, El Salvador[Map]USGS
Tue, 20 Jun 14:40 UTCM 3.3 / 97.4 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Fri, 23 Jun 2017
Fri, 23 Jun 13:12 UTCM 3.3 / 99.2 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Fri, 23 Jun 18:53 UTCM 3.2 / 15 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sat, 24 Jun 2017
Sat, 24 Jun 14:04 UTCM 2.8 / 44.8 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Thu, 29 Jun 2017
Thu, 29 Jun 07:14 UTCM 3.0 / 10 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sun, 2 Jul 2017
Sun, 2 Jul 01:59 UTCM 3.2 / 59.7 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sun, 2 Jul 02:24 UTCM 2.7 / 22.4 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Sun, 2 Jul 08:28 UTCM 3.2 / 11.9 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Mon, 3 Jul 2017
Mon, 3 Jul 03:12 UTCM 2.8 / 2 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Mon, 3 Jul 19:38 UTCM 2.7 / 15 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Tue, 4 Jul 2017
Tue, 4 Jul 05:20 UTCM 4.3 / 50.2 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: