Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.5 earthquake - OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO on Wednesday, 5 April 2017

Light mag. 4.5 earthquake  - OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO on Wednesday, 5 April 2017
Date & time: Wed, 5 Apr 04:44:49 UTC
Magnitude: 4.5
Depth: 62.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 16.02°N / 95°W (Mexico)
Nearest volcano: El Chichón (241 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Huatulco Oaxaca / MMI III (Weak shaking)
Huatulco Mexico / MMI V (Moderate shaking): A short rumble, woke me from my sleep. Windows rattled and building shook for a few seconds.
crucecita / MMI V (Moderate shaking)
Huatulco / MMI II (Very weak shaking)
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Sun, 9 Apr 2017
Sun, 9 Apr 20:12 UTCM 4.2 / 58 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 12 Apr 2017
Wed, 12 Apr 20:16 UTCM 4.0 / 148 km - [info]CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 14 Apr 2017
Fri, 14 Apr 07:38 UTCM 4.7 / 151 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 16 Apr 2017
Sun, 16 Apr 09:10 UTCM 4.1 / 63 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Apr 2017
Thu, 20 Apr 09:00 UTCM 4.0 / 79 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 2 May 2017
Tue, 2 May 14:50 UTCM 4.0 / 95 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 2 May 19:03 UTCM 4.1 / 98 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 3 May 2017
Wed, 3 May 08:44 UTCM 4.1 / 11 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 5 May 2017
Fri, 5 May 21:27 UTCM 4.1 / 115 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 6 May 2017
Sat, 6 May 20:44 UTCM 4.6 / 72 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 7 May 2017
Sun, 7 May 19:12 UTCM 4.0 / 64 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 7 May 19:50 UTCM 4.0 / 97 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 8 May 2017
Mon, 8 May 02:49 UTCM 4.3 / 17 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 8 May 14:49 UTCM 4.0 / 99 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 8 May 23:02 UTCM 4.0 / 97 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 10 May 2017
Wed, 10 May 03:22 UTCM 4.4 / 82 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 14 May 2017
Sun, 14 May 03:57 UTCM 4.2 / 79 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 15 May 2017
Mon, 15 May 11:02 UTCM 4.0 / 53 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 15 May 22:42 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 17 May 2017
Wed, 17 May 08:30 UTCM 4.2 / 130 km - [info]CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 18 May 2017
Thu, 18 May 14:58 UTCM 4.1 / 80 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 22 May 2017
Mon, 22 May 09:29 UTCM 4.1 / 29 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 22 May 20:10 UTCM 4.0 / 3 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 26 May 2017
Fri, 26 May 01:22 UTCM 4.1 / 142 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 26 May 11:14 UTCM 4.4 / 84 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 26 May 12:51 UTCM 3.7 / 114 km - [info]CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 29 May 2017
Mon, 29 May 12:56 UTCM 4.5 / 97.2 km - [info]- offshore Oaxaca, Mexico[Map]USGS
Sat, 15 Jul 2017
Sat, 15 Jul 05:30 UTCM 4.1 / 23 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 16 Jul 2017
Sun, 16 Jul 04:03 UTCM 4.1 / 140 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 18 Jul 2017
Tue, 18 Jul 03:18 UTCM 4.1 / 108 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Jul 2017
Thu, 20 Jul 19:53 UTCM 4.5 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 21 Jul 2017
Fri, 21 Jul 07:06 UTCM 4.6 / 14 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 22 Jul 2017
Sat, 22 Jul 06:29 UTCM 4.0 / 72 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 23 Jul 2017
Sun, 23 Jul 10:12 UTCM 4.4 / 45 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 24 Jul 2017
Mon, 24 Jul 00:26 UTCM 4.1 / 123 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 26 Jul 2017
Wed, 26 Jul 08:00 UTCM 4.4 / 82 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 27 Jul 2017
Thu, 27 Jul 22:56 UTCM 4.5 / 107.1 km - [info]- 11km NNW of Ixhuatan, Mexico[Map]USGS
Fri, 28 Jul 2017
Fri, 28 Jul 17:08 UTCM 4.1 / 81 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 3 Aug 2017
Thu, 3 Aug 04:13 UTCM 4.2 / 147 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 5 Aug 2017
Sat, 5 Aug 20:28 UTCM 4.5 / 30 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 8 Aug 2017
Tue, 8 Aug 14:29 UTCM 4.2 / 46 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 8 Aug 20:22 UTCM 4.0 / 14 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 16 Aug 2017
Wed, 16 Aug 19:37 UTCM 4.0 / 6 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 16 Aug 21:52 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 17 Aug 2017
Thu, 17 Aug 01:02 UTCM 4.4 / 7 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 20 Aug 2017
Sun, 20 Aug 18:32 UTCM 4.1 / 20 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 26 Aug 2017
Sat, 26 Aug 10:42 UTCM 4.1 / 105 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 26 Aug 19:39 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 26 Aug 20:29 UTCM 4.3 / 33 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 29 Aug 2017
Tue, 29 Aug 18:31 UTCM 4.2 / 20 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: