Get our newsletter!
Check out the volcano tours offered by Volcano-Adventures!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
14-27 Nov 2017: Expedition Papua - Papua New Guinea
23 Dec 17 - 5 Jan 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
30 Dec 17 - 6 Jan 2018: Nyiragongo Lava Lake & Mountain Gorillas - DR Congo + Rwanda
13-26 Jan 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
28 Jan - 4 Feb 2018: Nyiragongo Lava Lake & Mountain Gorillas - DR Congo + Rwanda
17-23 Mar 2018: Kilauea Volcano Special - Big Island, Hawaiʻi
25-29 Mar 2018: Sakurajima Volcano Special - Kyushu (Japan)
28 Apr - 3 May 2018: Aegean's Hidden Gem: Isle of Milos - Milos Island (Greece)
5-13 May 2018: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.2 earthquake - SE OFF ETOROFU on Friday, 21 April 2017

Light mag. 4.2 earthquake  - SE OFF ETOROFU on Friday, 21 April 2017
Date & time: Fri, 21 Apr 14:18:47 UTC
Local time at epicenter: Apr 21, 2017 23:18:47.28
Magnitude: 4.2
Depth: 96.8 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 43.974°N / 147.837°E [Map]
Nearest volcano: Berutarube (90 km)
Primary data source: NIED
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Fri, 21 Apr
Fri, 21 Apr 18:54 UTCM 2.6 / 53.8 km - [info] (137 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO
[Map]
NIED
Fri, 21 Apr 20:00 UTCM 4.1 / 20.7 km - [info] (147 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO
[Map]
NIED
Tue, 25 Apr
Tue, 25 Apr 03:12 UTCM 3.9 / 125.6 km - [info] (54 km)NEAR ETOROFU ISLAND[Map]NIED
Fri, 28 Apr
Fri, 28 Apr 12:50 UTCM 3.1 / 92.6 km - [info] (81 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO[Map]NIED
Fri, 28 Apr 14:48 UTCM 2.8 / 48.6 km - [info] (103 km)OFF NEMURO PENINSULA[Map]NIED
Wed, 3 May
Wed, 3 May 15:11 UTCM 3.1 / 129.5 km - [info] (34 km)NEAR KUNASHIRI ISLAND
[Map]
NIED
Wed, 10 May
Wed, 10 May 18:54 UTCM 3.0 / 141.8 km - [info] (61 km)NEAR KUNASHIRI ISLAND[Map]NIED
Sat, 13 May
Sat, 13 May 08:43 UTCM 2.9 / 88.5 km - [info] (75 km)OFF NEMURO PENINSULA
[Map]
NIED
Sat, 13 May 13:46 UTCM 4.4 / 135.6 km - [info] (47 km)- Kuril Islands
[Map]
USGS
Sun, 14 May
Sun, 14 May 12:32 UTCM 2.7 / 51.4 km - [info] (122 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO[Map]NIED
Sun, 14 May 20:39 UTCM 2.7 / 93.1 km - [info] (51 km)NEAR KUNASHIRI ISLAND
[Map]
NIED
Mon, 15 May
Mon, 15 May 12:26 UTCM 3.0 / 50.3 km - [info] (73 km)OFF NEMURO PENINSULA
[Map]
NIED
Tue, 16 May
Tue, 16 May 01:12 UTCM 3.1 / 88.9 km - [info] (53 km)NEAR KUNASHIRI ISLAND
[Map]
NIED
Tue, 16 May 15:13 UTCM 3.1 / 20.8 km - [info] (119 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO[Map]NIED
Mon, 22 May
Mon, 22 May 11:00 UTCM 5.5 / 10 km - [info] (87 km)Kuril Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Elko / not felt
Mon, 22 May 14:24 UTCM 2.8 / 58.3 km - [info] (110 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO[Map]NIED
Mon, 22 May 22:55 UTCM 3.2 / 34 km - [info] (111 km)OFF NEMURO PENINSULA[Map]NIED
Tue, 23 May
Tue, 23 May 19:12 UTCM 3.5 / 65.5 km - [info] (84 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO[Map]NIED
Wed, 24 May
Wed, 24 May 11:23 UTCM 3.9 / 2.9 km - [info] (109 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO
[Map]
NIED
Wed, 24 May 19:50 UTCM 3.3 / 133.9 km - [info] (42 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO
[Map]
NIED
Thu, 25 May
Thu, 25 May 22:41 UTCM 3.0 / 44.6 km - [info] (153 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO
[Map]
NIED
Sat, 27 May
Sat, 27 May 21:42 UTCM 3.3 / 142.4 km - [info]Smirnov (3 km)NEAR KUNASHIRI ISLAND
[Map]
NIED
Mon, 29 May
Mon, 29 May 12:50 UTCM 2.9 / 101.8 km - [info] (75 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO
[Map]
NIED
Tue, 30 May
Tue, 30 May 13:50 UTCM 2.6 / 106.9 km - [info] (59 km)NEAR KUNASHIRI ISLAND
[Map]
NIED
Thu, 1 Jun
Thu, 1 Jun 12:48 UTCM 3.1 / 47.8 km - [info] (82 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO[Map]NIED
Thu, 1 Jun 15:23 UTCM 2.6 / 47.6 km - [info] (76 km)OFF NEMURO PENINSULA[Map]NIED
Fri, 2 Jun
Fri, 2 Jun 10:52 UTCM 2.9 / 101.8 km - [info]Mendeleev (28 km)NEAR KUNASHIRI ISLAND[Map]NIED
Sun, 4 Jun
Sun, 4 Jun 12:23 UTCM 3.4 / 97.1 km - [info]Berutarube (3 km)NEAR ETOROFU ISLAND
[Map]
NIED
Sun, 4 Jun 19:00 UTCM 2.9 / 94.5 km - [info] (53 km)NEAR KUNASHIRI ISLAND
[Map]
NIED
Sun, 4 Jun 19:39 UTCM 3.0 / 87.5 km - [info] (53 km)NEAR KUNASHIRI ISLAND
[Map]
NIED
Tue, 6 Jun
Tue, 6 Jun 11:59 UTCM 4.4 / 23.5 km - [info] (92 km)- 139km ESE of Kuril'sk, Russia[Map]USGS
Tue, 6 Jun 22:03 UTCM 2.8 / 54.6 km - [info] (123 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO[Map]NIED
Fri, 9 Jun
Fri, 9 Jun 16:34 UTCM 2.6 / 65.1 km - [info] (106 km)OFF NEMURO PENINSULA
[Map]
NIED
Sat, 10 Jun
Sat, 10 Jun 09:18 UTCM 3.7 / 35.9 km - [info] (100 km)OFF NEMURO PENINSULA
[Map]
NIED
Sun, 11 Jun
Sun, 11 Jun 13:19 UTCM 3.0 / 47.3 km - [info] (75 km)OFF NEMURO PENINSULA[Map]NIED
Mon, 12 Jun
Mon, 12 Jun 08:40 UTCM 3.3 / 102.8 km - [info] (38 km)NEAR KUNASHIRI ISLAND
[Map]
NIED
Mon, 12 Jun 11:19 UTCM 4.3 / 46.3 km - [info] (78 km)- 48km E of Shikotan, Russia
[Map]
USGS
Tue, 13 Jun
Tue, 13 Jun 10:39 UTCM 2.6 / 127.7 km - [info] (30 km)NEAR KUNASHIRI ISLAND
[Map]
NIED
Wed, 14 Jun
Wed, 14 Jun 10:45 UTCM 3.1 / 92.7 km - [info] (42 km)NEAR KUNASHIRI ISLAND[Map]NIED
Thu, 15 Jun
Thu, 15 Jun 07:32 UTCM 4.0 / 94.4 km - [info] (57 km)NEAR KUNASHIRI ISLAND
[Map]
NIED
Fri, 16 Jun
Fri, 16 Jun 08:56 UTCM 2.9 / 39.9 km - [info] (136 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO[Map]NIED
Tue, 20 Jun
Tue, 20 Jun 03:44 UTCM 3.0 / 42.2 km - [info] (113 km)OFF NEMURO PENINSULA
[Map]
NIED
Sat, 24 Jun
Sat, 24 Jun 18:58 UTCM 2.6 / 0.6 km - [info] (142 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO[Map]NIED
Sun, 25 Jun
Sun, 25 Jun 12:04 UTCM 2.7 / 49.8 km - [info] (116 km)OFF NEMURO PENINSULA
[Map]
NIED
Mon, 26 Jun
Mon, 26 Jun 03:32 UTCM 2.8 / 56.8 km - [info] (96 km)OFF NEMURO PENINSULA[Map]NIED
Wed, 28 Jun
Wed, 28 Jun 12:07 UTCM 5.7 / 59 km - [info] (107 km)Kuril Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Fri, 30 Jun
Fri, 30 Jun 09:08 UTCM 3.7 / 76.6 km - [info] (49 km)NEAR KUNASHIRI ISLAND[Map]NIED
Sat, 1 Jul
Sat, 1 Jul 22:44 UTCM 2.6 / 63.7 km - [info] (141 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO[Map]NIED
Sun, 2 Jul
Sun, 2 Jul 11:14 UTCM 2.8 / 45.4 km - [info] (150 km)E OFF HOKKAIDO
[Map]
NIED
Mon, 3 Jul
Mon, 3 Jul 06:17 UTCM 3.0 / 38.8 km - [info] (109 km)OFF NEMURO PENINSULA
[Map]
NIED

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: