Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
27 Dec 18 - 2 Jan 2019: Kilauea Volcano Special - Big Island, Hawaiʻi
9-22 Feb 2019: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
11-19 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
8-16 Jun 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
14-30 Jun 2019: Volcanoes and Spices - N-Sulawesi + Halmahera (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.7 earthquake - SOUTHERN PERU on Sunday, 30 April 2017

Light mag. 4.7 earthquake  - SOUTHERN PERU on Sunday, 30 April 2017
Date & time: Sun, 30 Apr 17:35:49 UTC
Magnitude: 4.7
Depth: 10.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 15.58°S / 72.57°W
Nearest volcano: Coropuna (11 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Sun, 30 Apr
Sun, 30 Apr 17:35 UTCM 4.7 / 10 km- 41km SW of Orcopampa, Peru[Map]USGS
Sun, 30 Apr 17:35 UTCM 4.5 / 12 km Peru[Map]IGP

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Mon, 1 May
Mon, 1 May 02:33 UTCM 3.6 / 15 km - [info]Sabancaya (14 km) Peru[Map]IGP
Mon, 1 May 10:57 UTCM 3.7 / 9 km - [info]Sabancaya (14 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Tue, 2 May
Tue, 2 May 21:02 UTCM 3.7 / 8 km - [info]Sabancaya (22 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Wed, 3 May
Wed, 3 May 12:42 UTCM 5.5 / 10 km - [info] (91 km)Near Coast of Peru
[Map]
GFZ
Wed, 3 May 16:13 UTCM 3.7 / 13 km - [info]Sabancaya (19 km) Peru[Map]IGP
Tue, 9 May
Tue, 9 May 19:55 UTCM 3.6 / 14 km - [info]Huambo (10 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Thu, 15 Jun
Thu, 15 Jun 18:27 UTCM 4.4 / 92 km - [info] (67 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Tue, 20 Jun
Tue, 20 Jun 01:34 UTCM 3.2 / 9 km - [info]Sabancaya (15 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Sat, 24 Jun
Sat, 24 Jun 16:09 UTCM 5.7 / 91 km - [info] (39 km)Southern Peru
[Map]
GFZ
Cusco, ciudad (257.1 km NNW from epicenter) / MMI IV (Light shaking) (via app)
Pisac, Cusco / MMI V (Moderate shaking)
Tue, 4 Jul
Tue, 4 Jul 16:33 UTCM 4.6 / 66 km - [info] (82 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Sun, 9 Jul
Sun, 9 Jul 05:02 UTCM 4.2 / 86 km - [info] (89 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Tue, 18 Jul
Tue, 18 Jul 02:05 UTCM 6.6 / 10 km - [info] (122 km)Near Coast of Peru
[Map]
GFZ
Arequipa (229 km SE from epicenter) / MMI V (Moderate shaking) (via app)
Arequipa / MMI VI (Strong shaking)
Tacna (422 km NE from epicenter) / MMI V (Moderate shaking): Lo senti fuerte
Huaral (Peru) (664 km NW from epicenter)(no details): En Huaral no se sintió nada (via EMSC)
José Luis Bustamante District (Peru) (228 km E from epicenter)(no details): Fue bastante fuerte y su intensidad comenzó a subir confirme este avanzaba, además fue bastante largo!!! Rico sentir tanta energia (via EMSC)
Arequipa (Peru) (228 km E from epicenter)(no details): Fue relativamente fuerte, un buen susto. (via EMSC)
Read all reports
Tue, 18 Jul 03:28 UTCM 4.5 / 28 km - [info] (134 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Arequipa, Jose Luis Bustamante (262.2 km SSE from epicenter) / MMI V (Moderate shaking): It was quite long, probably 20 to 30 seconds. It came with strong wind (via app)
Thu, 20 Jul
Thu, 20 Jul 00:38 UTCM 4.2 / 29 km - [info] (134 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Thu, 20 Jul 14:19 UTCM 4.2 / 30 km - [info] (134 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Fri, 21 Jul
Fri, 21 Jul 15:22 UTCM 5.5 / 10 km - [info] (96 km)Near Coast of Peru
[Map]
GFZ
San Nicolas (98.5 km WNW from epicenter) / MMI IV (Light shaking)
Wed, 2 Aug
Wed, 2 Aug 08:25 UTCM 3.7 / 9 km - [info]Sabancaya (6 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Tue, 8 Aug
Tue, 8 Aug 11:31 UTCM 3.8 / 17 km - [info]Coropuna (29 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Thu, 10 Aug
Thu, 10 Aug 19:31 UTCM 4.3 / 32 km - [info] (134 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Sat, 12 Aug
Sat, 12 Aug 21:18 UTCM 3.5 / 19 km - [info] (74 km) Peru[Map]IGP
Fri, 18 Aug
Fri, 18 Aug 00:53 UTCM 4.4 / 150 km - [info] (73 km)SOUTHERN PERU
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 20 Aug
Sun, 20 Aug 21:51 UTCM 3.5 / 14 km - [info]Cerro Nicholson (18 km) Peru[Map]IGP
Wed, 23 Aug
Wed, 23 Aug 11:57 UTCM 4.9 / 67 km - [info] (59 km)Southern Peru
[Map]
GFZ
Thu, 24 Aug
Thu, 24 Aug 20:03 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info]Sabancaya (13 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Fri, 1 Sep
Fri, 1 Sep 03:42 UTCM 4.7 / 154 km - [info] (93 km)SOUTHERN PERU
[Map]
EMSC
(96.5 km ESE from epicenter) / MMI III (Weak shaking)
Wed, 13 Sep
Wed, 13 Sep 16:36 UTCM 3.5 / 12 km - [info]Huambo (21 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Wed, 20 Sep
Wed, 20 Sep 03:15 UTCM 3.5 / 8 km - [info]Sabancaya (20 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Wed, 20 Sep 05:26 UTCM 5.0 / 108 km - [info]El Misti (19 km) - PeruSouthern Peru[Map]GFZ
Wed, 20 Sep 08:07 UTCM 3.4 / 11 km - [info]Sabancaya (6 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Sat, 23 Sep
Sat, 23 Sep 10:27 UTCM 3.6 / 13 km - [info]Huambo (14 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Sun, 24 Sep
Sun, 24 Sep 01:10 UTCM 3.9 / 11 km - [info] (60 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Wed, 27 Sep
Wed, 27 Sep 20:05 UTCM 4.5 / 131.7 km - [info] (73 km)- 40km NNW of Ccolo, Peru
[Map]
USGS
Thu, 5 Oct
Thu, 5 Oct 02:14 UTCM 3.5 / 10 km - [info] (68 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Sun, 22 Oct
Sun, 22 Oct 01:37 UTCM 5.2 / 10 km - [info] (57 km)Southern Peru
[Map]
GFZ
(290.4 km NNE from epicenter) / MMI IV (Light shaking) (via app)
Tue, 24 Oct
Tue, 24 Oct 20:59 UTCM 4.3 / 34 km - [info] (105 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Sun, 29 Oct
Sun, 29 Oct 05:30 UTCM 4.2 / 35 km - [info] (124 km)- 94km WNW of Camana, Peru[Map]USGS
Fri, 3 Nov
Fri, 3 Nov 02:46 UTCM 3.1 / 10 km - [info]Sabancaya (11 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Fri, 3 Nov 05:32 UTCM 3.5 / 10 km - [info] (114 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Sun, 12 Nov
Sun, 12 Nov 12:10 UTCM 4.2 / 96 km - [info] (33 km)- 15km SW of Lluta, Peru
[Map]
USGS
(69 km SE from epicenter) / MMI II (Very weak shaking) (via app)
Sun, 19 Nov
Sun, 19 Nov 17:33 UTCM 3.6 / 8 km - [info]Sabancaya (29 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Sun, 10 Dec
Sun, 10 Dec 18:03 UTCM 3.9 / 15 km - [info] (50 km) Peru[Map]IGP
Tue, 12 Dec
Tue, 12 Dec 23:30 UTCM 3.8 / 44 km - [info] (123 km) Peru
[Map]
IGP
Wed, 20 Dec
Wed, 20 Dec 10:39 UTCM 3.8 / 32 km - [info] (36 km) Peru[Map]IGP
Thu, 4 Jan
Thu, 4 Jan 09:56 UTCM 3.6 / 26 km - [info] (118 km) Peru[Map]IGP

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: