Get our newsletter!
Check out the volcano tours offered by Volcano-Adventures!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
23-28 Sep 2017: Aegean's Hidden Gem: Isle of Milos - Milos Island (Greece)
1-16 Oct 2017: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
7-14 Oct 2017: Pearl of the Aegean - Santorini - Santorini Island, Greece
16-19 Oct 2017: Indonesia Specials - Java-Komodo-Bali (Indonesia)
14-27 Nov 2017: Expedition Papua - Papua New Guinea
23 Dec 17 - 5 Jan 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
30 Dec 17 - 6 Jan 2018: Nyiragongo Lava Lake & Mountain Gorillas - DR Congo + Rwanda
13-26 Jan 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
28 Jan - 4 Feb 2018: Nyiragongo Lava Lake & Mountain Gorillas - DR Congo + Rwanda
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
 
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.0 earthquake - OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO on Sunday, 30 April 2017

Light mag. 4.0 earthquake  - OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO on Sunday, 30 April 2017
Date & time: Sun, 30 Apr 22:28:08 UTC
Magnitude: 4.0
Depth: 31.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 16.9°N / 100.27°W [Map]
Nearest volcano: Nevado de Toluca (251 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Mon, 1 May
Mon, 1 May 02:46 UTCM 4.0 / 16 km - [info] (345 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 2 May
Tue, 2 May 18:27 UTCM 4.0 / 18 km - [info] (256 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 2 May 20:47 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info] (334 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 3 May
Wed, 3 May 03:28 UTCM 4.0 / 17 km - [info] (252 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Wed, 3 May 05:36 UTCM 4.5 / 8 km - [info] (273 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Mon, 8 May
Mon, 8 May 03:21 UTCM 4.1 / 47 km - [info] (219 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 9 May
Tue, 9 May 07:58 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info] (223 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 9 May 15:25 UTCM 4.2 / 5 km - [info] (245 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 10 May
Wed, 10 May 13:08 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info] (315 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 11 May
Thu, 11 May 14:47 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info] (288 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 12 May
Fri, 12 May 09:37 UTCM 4.2 / 40 km - [info] (241 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 12 May 13:14 UTCM 4.6 / 25 km - [info] (291 km)Near Coast of Guerrero, Mexico
[Map]
GFZ
Chilpancingo / MMI V (Moderate shaking)
Mon, 15 May
Mon, 15 May 17:23 UTCM 4.4 / 30 km - [info] (207 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 16 May
Tue, 16 May 03:17 UTCM 4.0 / 4 km - [info] (289 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Tue, 16 May 18:38 UTCM 4.2 / 4 km - [info] (269 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 21 May
Sun, 21 May 04:27 UTCM 4.1 / 9 km - [info] (325 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 21 May 04:58 UTCM 4.0 / 15 km - [info] (333 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 24 May
Wed, 24 May 08:42 UTCM 4.1 / 57 km - [info] (136 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 2 Jul
Sun, 2 Jul 02:52 UTCM 4.2 / 10 km - [info] (313 km)- offshore Guerrero, Mexico
[Map]
USGS
(111.1 km NNW from epicenter) / MMI IV (Light shaking)
Sat, 15 Jul
Sat, 15 Jul 07:45 UTCM 4.0 / 28 km - [info] (236 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Sat, 22 Jul
Sat, 22 Jul 10:34 UTCM 4.0 / 14 km - [info] (335 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 25 Jul
Tue, 25 Jul 21:35 UTCM 4.0 / 16 km - [info] (328 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 27 Jul
Thu, 27 Jul 13:06 UTCM 4.0 / 39 km - [info] (277 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 29 Jul
Sat, 29 Jul 20:07 UTCM 4.0 / 36 km - [info] (233 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Ciudad de México (Mexico) (288 km NE from epicenter)(no details): Sonó la alerta sísmica de la app de Francisco bueno eso sabrá se movió las ropas que estaban colgadas casi no lo senti (via EMSC)
Sun, 6 Aug
Sun, 6 Aug 19:08 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info] (263 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 8 Aug
Tue, 8 Aug 13:04 UTCM 4.2 / 25 km - [info] (243 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Fri, 11 Aug
Fri, 11 Aug 00:39 UTCM 4.3 / 16 km - [info] (282 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Fri, 11 Aug 04:07 UTCM 4.0 / 40 km - [info] (233 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Fri, 11 Aug 18:48 UTCM 4.1 / 6 km - [info] (321 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Mon, 14 Aug
Mon, 14 Aug 04:41 UTCM 4.1 / 51 km - [info] (223 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 15 Aug
Tue, 15 Aug 13:56 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info] (342 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 16 Aug
Wed, 16 Aug 00:49 UTCM 4.4 / 44 km - [info] (212 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Thu, 17 Aug
Thu, 17 Aug 16:03 UTCM 4.0 / 35 km - [info] (244 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 18 Aug
Fri, 18 Aug 05:15 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info] (208 km)Guerrero, Mexico
[Map]
GFZ
Mexico City / MMI III (Weak shaking)
Fri, 18 Aug 05:58 UTCM 4.1 / 5 km - [info] (264 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
(331.4 km W from epicenter) / MMI II (Very weak shaking) (via app)
Fri, 18 Aug 16:44 UTCM 4.1 / 2 km - [info] (263 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 19 Aug
Sat, 19 Aug 02:30 UTCM 4.2 / 6 km - [info] (259 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 20 Aug
Sun, 20 Aug 04:32 UTCM 4.0 / 3 km - [info] (269 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 22 Aug
Tue, 22 Aug 10:46 UTCM 4.1 / 30 km - [info] (284 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Tue, 22 Aug 23:20 UTCM 4.3 / 16 km - [info] (297 km)OAXACA, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Wed, 23 Aug
Wed, 23 Aug 14:51 UTCM 4.1 / 5 km - [info] (246 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 24 Aug
Thu, 24 Aug 04:05 UTCM 4.1 / 36 km - [info] (221 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Tue, 29 Aug
Tue, 29 Aug 09:22 UTCM 4.0 / 9 km - [info] (256 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 2 Sep
Sat, 2 Sep 02:11 UTCM 4.1 / 27 km - [info] (225 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Sat, 2 Sep 02:39 UTCM 4.1 / 4 km - [info] (260 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Mon, 4 Sep
Mon, 4 Sep 05:20 UTCM 4.0 / 4 km - [info] (262 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 7 Sep
Thu, 7 Sep 15:17 UTCM 4.3 / 4 km - [info] (256 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Thu, 7 Sep 15:49 UTCM 4.1 / 2 km - [info] (257 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Sat, 9 Sep
Sat, 9 Sep 08:17 UTCM 4.0 / 36 km - [info] (257 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Yautepec de Zaragoza (Mexico) (248 km NW from epicenter)(no details): Estaba durmiendo, cuando el fuerte movimiento, me despertó (via EMSC)
Tue, 12 Sep
Tue, 12 Sep 19:58 UTCM 4.4 / 17 km - [info] (279 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: