Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - GUERRERO, MEXICO on Monday, 8 May 2017

Light mag. 4.1 earthquake  - GUERRERO, MEXICO on Monday, 8 May 2017
Date & time: Mon, 8 May 03:21:33 UTC
Magnitude: 4.1
Depth: 47.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 17.68°N / 101.27°W (Mexico)
Nearest volcano: Zitácuaro-Valle de Bravo (219 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Tue, 9 May 2017
Tue, 9 May 07:58 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 9 May 13:49 UTCM 4.0 / 56 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 9 May 15:25 UTCM 4.2 / 5 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 12 May 2017
Fri, 12 May 09:37 UTCM 4.2 / 40 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 15 May 2017
Mon, 15 May 17:23 UTCM 4.4 / 30 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 16 May 2017
Tue, 16 May 18:38 UTCM 4.2 / 4 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 2 Jun 2017
Fri, 2 Jun 06:48 UTCM 4.2 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 10 Jul 2017
Mon, 10 Jul 08:51 UTCM 4.2 / 62.1 km - [info]- 15km SW of Aguililla, Mexico[Map]USGS
Sat, 15 Jul 2017
Sat, 15 Jul 07:45 UTCM 4.0 / 28 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 23 Jul 2017
Sun, 23 Jul 10:54 UTCM 4.2 / 49 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 29 Jul 2017
Sat, 29 Jul 20:07 UTCM 4.0 / 36 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 6 Aug 2017
Sun, 6 Aug 19:08 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 8 Aug 2017
Tue, 8 Aug 13:04 UTCM 4.2 / 25 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 11 Aug 2017
Fri, 11 Aug 04:07 UTCM 4.0 / 40 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 14 Aug 2017
Mon, 14 Aug 04:41 UTCM 4.1 / 51 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 16 Aug 2017
Wed, 16 Aug 00:49 UTCM 4.4 / 44 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 17 Aug 2017
Thu, 17 Aug 16:03 UTCM 4.0 / 35 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 17 Aug 23:12 UTCM 4.0 / 58 km - [info]MICHOACAN, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 18 Aug 2017
Fri, 18 Aug 05:15 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info]Guerrero, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Fri, 18 Aug 05:58 UTCM 4.1 / 5 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 18 Aug 16:44 UTCM 4.1 / 2 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 19 Aug 2017
Sat, 19 Aug 02:30 UTCM 4.2 / 6 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 20 Aug 2017
Sun, 20 Aug 04:32 UTCM 4.0 / 3 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 20 Aug 05:54 UTCM 4.4 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE MICHOACAN, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 21 Aug 2017
Mon, 21 Aug 19:21 UTCM 4.1 / 14 km - [info]OFFSHORE MICHOACAN, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 23 Aug 2017
Wed, 23 Aug 14:51 UTCM 4.1 / 5 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 24 Aug 2017
Thu, 24 Aug 04:05 UTCM 4.1 / 36 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 24 Aug 15:44 UTCM 4.1 / 76 km - [info]MICHOACAN, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 26 Aug 2017
Sat, 26 Aug 18:37 UTCM 4.0 / 49 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 27 Aug 2017
Sun, 27 Aug 22:20 UTCM 4.0 / 61 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 29 Aug 2017
Tue, 29 Aug 09:22 UTCM 4.0 / 9 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 2 Sep 2017
Sat, 2 Sep 02:11 UTCM 4.1 / 27 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 2 Sep 02:39 UTCM 4.1 / 4 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 4 Sep 2017
Mon, 4 Sep 05:20 UTCM 4.0 / 4 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 7 Sep 2017
Thu, 7 Sep 15:17 UTCM 4.3 / 4 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 7 Sep 15:49 UTCM 4.1 / 2 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 13 Sep 2017
Wed, 13 Sep 11:51 UTCM 4.1 / 57 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 15 Sep 2017
Fri, 15 Sep 14:56 UTCM 4.3 / 11 km - [info]OFFSHORE MICHOACAN, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 16 Sep 2017
Sat, 16 Sep 02:27 UTCM 4.5 / 11 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 16 Sep 05:46 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 19 Sep 2017
Tue, 19 Sep 09:58 UTCM 4.2 / 70 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 24 Sep 2017
Sun, 24 Sep 15:40 UTCM 4.1 / 50 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 27 Sep 2017
Wed, 27 Sep 09:48 UTCM 4.2 / 9 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 2 Oct 2017
Mon, 2 Oct 02:17 UTCM 4.3 / 8 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 3 Oct 2017
Tue, 3 Oct 06:02 UTCM 4.1 / 60 km - [info]MICHOACAN, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 10 Oct 2017
Tue, 10 Oct 12:45 UTCM 4.8 / 15 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 15 Oct 2017
Sun, 15 Oct 22:08 UTCM 4.0 / 55 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 20 Oct 2017
Fri, 20 Oct 17:30 UTCM 4.0 / 61 km - [info]MICHOACAN, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 2 Nov 2017
Thu, 2 Nov 23:27 UTCM 4.2 / 4 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 5 Nov 2017
Sun, 5 Nov 20:03 UTCM 4.1 / 55 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: