Get our newsletter!
Check out the volcano tours offered by Volcano-Adventures!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
14-27 Nov 2017: Expedition Papua - Papua New Guinea
23 Dec 17 - 5 Jan 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
30 Dec 17 - 6 Jan 2018: Nyiragongo Lava Lake & Mountain Gorillas - DR Congo + Rwanda
13-26 Jan 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
28 Jan - 4 Feb 2018: Nyiragongo Lava Lake & Mountain Gorillas - DR Congo + Rwanda
17-23 Mar 2018: Kilauea Volcano Special - Big Island, Hawaiʻi
25-29 Mar 2018: Sakurajima Volcano Special - Kyushu (Japan)
28 Apr - 3 May 2018: Aegean's Hidden Gem: Isle of Milos - Milos Island (Greece)
5-13 May 2018: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.7 earthquake - Chile-Argentina Border Region on Monday, 19 June 2017

Light mag. 4.7 earthquake  - Chile-Argentina Border Region on Monday, 19 June 2017
Jun 19 22:52: Magnitude recalculated from 4.6 to 4.7.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 174.0 to 171.0 km.
Date & time: Mon, 19 Jun 22:45:45 UTC
Magnitude: 4.7
Depth: 171.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 24.21°S / 67°W [Map]
Nearest volcano: Tuzgle (56 km)
Primary data source: GFZ
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Mon, 19 Jun
Mon, 19 Jun 22:45 UTCM 4.7 / 178 kmSALTA, ARGENTINA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 19 Jun 22:45 UTCM 4.7 / 204.4 km82 km al SE de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Mon, 19 Jun 22:45 UTCM 4.7 / 174.4 km- 72km W of San Antonio de los Cobres, Argentina[Map]USGS

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 21 Jun
Wed, 21 Jun 05:59 UTCM 2.9 / 99.6 km - [info] (90 km)57 km al SO de San Pedro de Atacama[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Thu, 22 Jun
Thu, 22 Jun 03:41 UTCM 4.5 / 169 km - [info] (60 km)Chile-Argentina Border Region
[Map]
GFZ
Sun, 25 Jun
Sun, 25 Jun 00:40 UTCM 4.6 / 207.2 km - [info] (57 km)101 km al SE de Socaire
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Mon, 26 Jun
Mon, 26 Jun 04:56 UTCM 3.5 / 90.4 km - [info] (96 km)75 km al SE de Sierra Gorda.
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Mon, 26 Jun 10:38 UTCM 3.4 / 112 km - [info] (33 km)ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE
[Map]
EMSC
Mon, 26 Jun 20:03 UTCM 4.5 / 201 km - [info]Aracar (25 km)80 km al SE de Socaire
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Sat, 1 Jul
Sat, 1 Jul 07:53 UTCM 4.5 / 246.6 km - [info] (61 km)95 km al E de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Sat, 1 Jul 18:24 UTCM 4.5 / 178 km - [info] (63 km)Chile-Argentina Border Region
[Map]
GFZ
Sun, 2 Jul
Sun, 2 Jul 07:57 UTCM 3.7 / 117.8 km - [info] (83 km)50 km al SO de San Pedro de Atacama
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 4 Jul
Tue, 4 Jul 04:20 UTCM 4.7 / 220 km - [info] (30 km)69 km al SE de Socaire
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Sat, 8 Jul
Sat, 8 Jul 09:35 UTCM 4.6 / 173 km - [info] (66 km)Chile-Argentina Border Region
[Map]
GFZ
Wed, 12 Jul
Wed, 12 Jul 11:31 UTCM 5.2 / 241.3 km - [info] (34 km)70 km al SE de Socaire
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Fri, 14 Jul
Fri, 14 Jul 00:24 UTCM 4.5 / 229 km - [info] (74 km)Jujuy Province, Argentina
[Map]
GFZ
Fri, 14 Jul 19:35 UTCM 3.2 / 145.5 km - [info] (51 km)39 km al O de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Thu, 20 Jul
Thu, 20 Jul 05:46 UTCM 4.1 / 120 km - [info] (45 km)ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE
[Map]
EMSC
Sat, 22 Jul
Sat, 22 Jul 18:11 UTCM 4.6 / 164 km - [info] (66 km)Chile-Argentina Border Region
[Map]
GFZ
Thu, 27 Jul
Thu, 27 Jul 22:20 UTCM 4.6 / 187.4 km - [info]Aracar (29 km)80 km al SE de Socaire
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Sun, 6 Aug
Sun, 6 Aug 05:30 UTCM 4.5 / 265.4 km - [info] (38 km)62 km al SE de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 8 Aug
Tue, 8 Aug 01:55 UTCM 2.6 / 94.6 km - [info] (88 km)84 km al SE de Sierra Gorda.
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Thu, 10 Aug
Thu, 10 Aug 05:00 UTCM 2.9 / 112 km - [info] (73 km)77 km al O de Socaire
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Fri, 11 Aug
Fri, 11 Aug 04:31 UTCM 5.1 / 178 km - [info] (47 km)Salta Province, Argentina
[Map]
GFZ
Santiago chile / MMI III (Weak shaking): Very litle the 3 grades today but in 2010 27 feb. 8.8 grades in chile im from chile and is very strong the earthquake
Santiago chile / MMI III (Weak shaking)
Calama (Chile) (286 km NW from epicenter)(no details): Moderado. (via EMSC)
Socaire (Chile) (123 km NW from epicenter)(no details): Fuerte. (via EMSC)
Read all reports
Sun, 13 Aug
Sun, 13 Aug 03:07 UTCM 3.2 / 141.6 km - [info]Pular (5 km)74 km al S de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Wed, 16 Aug
Wed, 16 Aug 15:49 UTCM 4.9 / 169 km - [info] (67 km)Chile-Argentina Border Region
[Map]
GFZ
Wed, 23 Aug
Wed, 23 Aug 10:12 UTCM 4.5 / 192 km - [info]Cordon de Puntas Negras (13 km)Chile-Argentina Border Region
[Map]
GFZ
Thu, 24 Aug
Thu, 24 Aug 17:22 UTCM 4.2 / 102.5 km - [info] (67 km)61 km al N de Mina La Escondida.
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Mon, 28 Aug
Mon, 28 Aug 21:28 UTCM 2.7 / 99.5 km - [info] (79 km)83 km al N de Mina La Escondida.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Sun, 3 Sep
Sun, 3 Sep 02:40 UTCM 2.7 / 139.7 km - [info] (85 km)59 km al SO de San Pedro de Atacama
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Mon, 4 Sep
Mon, 4 Sep 10:59 UTCM 3.0 / 138.1 km - [info]La Negrillar (12 km)58 km al E de Mina La Escondida.
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Wed, 6 Sep
Wed, 6 Sep 10:28 UTCM 4.5 / 199.3 km - [info] (36 km)91 km al SE de Socaire
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Sat, 9 Sep
Sat, 9 Sep 02:44 UTCM 4.5 / 215 km - [info] (32 km)69 km al SE de Socaire
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Sat, 9 Sep 09:57 UTCM 4.7 / 175 km - [info] (57 km)Chile-Argentina Border Region
[Map]
GFZ
Tue, 12 Sep
Tue, 12 Sep 04:06 UTCM 2.6 / 105.3 km - [info] (99 km)65 km al SO de San Pedro de Atacama
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Fri, 15 Sep
Fri, 15 Sep 03:46 UTCM 3.6 / 115.5 km - [info]La Negrillar (22 km)25 km al E de Mina La Escondida.[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Fri, 15 Sep 21:59 UTCM 3.6 / 141.7 km - [info]Cerro Overo (10 km)17 km al NE de Socaire
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Sat, 16 Sep
Sat, 16 Sep 20:14 UTCM 4.6 / 258 km - [info] (37 km)73 km al E de Socaire
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Sun, 17 Sep
Sun, 17 Sep 07:49 UTCM 4.6 / 255 km - [info] (54 km)94 km al E de Socaire
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Mon, 18 Sep
Mon, 18 Sep 00:25 UTCM 3.4 / 139.1 km - [info] (52 km)40 km al O de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Fri, 22 Sep
Fri, 22 Sep 02:01 UTCM 4.5 / 260.5 km - [info] (49 km)87 km al E de Socaire
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 26 Sep
Tue, 26 Sep 11:11 UTCM 2.9 / 106.4 km - [info] (75 km)75 km al SO de San Pedro de Atacama
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Thu, 28 Sep
Thu, 28 Sep 09:06 UTCM 4.6 / 218 km - [info] (50 km)Jujuy Province, Argentina
[Map]
GFZ
Tue, 3 Oct
Tue, 3 Oct 03:31 UTCM 3.7 / 109.4 km - [info]Tilocalar (29 km)65 km al SO de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Wed, 4 Oct
Wed, 4 Oct 22:33 UTCM 4.5 / 201 km - [info] (34 km)Jujuy Province, Argentina
[Map]
GFZ
Thu, 5 Oct
Thu, 5 Oct 08:16 UTCM 4.5 / 235.3 km - [info] (48 km)85 km al SE de Socaire
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 10 Oct
Tue, 10 Oct 18:58 UTCM 3.7 / 128.5 km - [info]Tilocalar (8 km)42 km al SO de Socaire[Map]GUG (U. Chile)
Tue, 17 Oct
Tue, 17 Oct 13:03 UTCM 3.1 / 143 km - [info] (33 km)ANTOFAGASTA, CHILE
I FELT IT
[Map]
EMSC
Fri, 20 Oct
Fri, 20 Oct 05:35 UTCM 3.1 / 124.5 km - [info] (36 km)34 km al O de Socaire
I FELT IT
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Sun, 22 Oct
Sun, 22 Oct 05:52 UTCM 2.7 / 145.4 km - [info]Lascar (12 km) - Northern Chile27 km al N de Socaire
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)
Mon, 23 Oct
Mon, 23 Oct 20:16 UTCM 2.6 / 97.9 km - [info] (83 km)76 km al SO de San Pedro de Atacama
[Map]
GUG (U. Chile)

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: