Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.2 earthquake - 17km WSW of La Gomera, Guatemala on Tuesday, 20 June 2017

Light mag. 4.2 earthquake  - 17km WSW of La Gomera, Guatemala on Tuesday, 20 June 2017
Date & time: Tue, 20 Jun 20:34:00 UTC
Local time at epicenter: 2017-06-20 14:34:00 -06:00
Magnitude: 4.2
Depth: 54.4 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 13.9963°N / 91.1846°W (Guatemala)
Nearest volcano: Fuego (62 km)
Primary data source: USGS
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Antigua (99.2 km NE from epicenter) [Map] / MMI II (Very weak shaking): Slight shaking. No swinging lights. Not felt by others who were standing. Felt the vibrations on metal stair rails on second floor
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Thu, 22 Jun 2017
Thu, 22 Jun 12:31 UTCM 6.8 / 32 km - [info]Near Coast of Guatemala[Map]GFZ
Thu, 22 Jun 14:28 UTCM 4.3 / 52 km - [info]- 30km SW of Puerto San Jose, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Thu, 22 Jun 21:09 UTCM 4.2 / 48.5 km - [info]- 22km SW of Puerto San Jose, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Thu, 22 Jun 22:25 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info]- 66km SW of Puerto Madero, Mexico[Map]USGS
Fri, 23 Jun 2017
Fri, 23 Jun 03:08 UTCM 4.5 / 47.7 km - [info]- 35km SW of Puerto San Jose, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Fri, 23 Jun 22:47 UTCM 4.5 / 9.7 km - [info] Nicaragua[Map]INETER
Fri, 30 Jun 2017
Fri, 30 Jun 13:00 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info]Near Coast of Guatemala[Map]GFZ
Wed, 5 Jul 2017
Wed, 5 Jul 16:07 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info]Near Coast of Guatemala[Map]GFZ
Mon, 10 Jul 2017
Mon, 10 Jul 22:24 UTCM 4.4 / 63.8 km - [info]- 15km SSE of Iztapa, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Wed, 12 Jul 2017
Wed, 12 Jul 10:08 UTCM 4.6 / 74 km - [info]El Salvador[Map]GFZ
Wed, 19 Jul 2017
Wed, 19 Jul 11:26 UTCM 4.8 / 195 km - [info] GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Thu, 20 Jul 2017
Thu, 20 Jul 23:13 UTCM 4.2 / 102 km - [info] GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 31 Jul 2017
Mon, 31 Jul 20:52 UTCM 3.9 / 10 km - [info]- 3km N of Pueblo Nuevo Vinas, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Tue, 1 Aug 2017
Tue, 1 Aug 11:35 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info]- 48km SW of Puerto San Jose, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Sun, 6 Aug 2017
Sun, 6 Aug 00:57 UTCM 4.4 / 76 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 9 Aug 2017
Wed, 9 Aug 09:05 UTCM 4.1 / 38 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 10 Aug 2017
Thu, 10 Aug 09:53 UTCM 4.3 / 78.2 km - [info]- 11km E of Puerto Madero, Mexico[Map]USGS
Thu, 10 Aug 22:25 UTCM 4.4 / 10 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 11 Aug 2017
Fri, 11 Aug 01:07 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 20 Aug 2017
Sun, 20 Aug 23:28 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info] Guatemala[Map]GFZ
Mon, 21 Aug 2017
Mon, 21 Aug 13:59 UTCM 5.3 / 18 km - [info]Near Coast of Chiapas, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Tue, 22 Aug 2017
Tue, 22 Aug 12:56 UTCM 4.3 / 8 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 24 Aug 2017
Thu, 24 Aug 16:18 UTCM 4.4 / 4 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 24 Aug 16:42 UTCM 4.1 / 88 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 26 Aug 2017
Sat, 26 Aug 23:33 UTCM 4.7 / 80.5 km - [info]- 12km NW of Champerico, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Wed, 30 Aug 2017
Wed, 30 Aug 16:34 UTCM 4.2 / 85 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 31 Aug 2017
Thu, 31 Aug 05:48 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]Near Coast of Guatemala[Map]GFZ
Thu, 31 Aug 06:45 UTCM 4.2 / 35 km - [info]- 39km SSW of Nueva Concepcion, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Thu, 31 Aug 07:08 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Sun, 10 Sep 2017
Sun, 10 Sep 13:48 UTCM 4.3 / 35 km - [info]- 81km SW of Acajutla, El Salvador[Map]USGS
Thu, 14 Sep 2017
Thu, 14 Sep 05:03 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info]Near Coast of Chiapas, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Thu, 14 Sep 05:20 UTCM 4.1 / 56 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 16 Sep 2017
Sat, 16 Sep 03:57 UTCM 4.3 / 55 km - [info] OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR[Map]EMSC
Sat, 16 Sep 06:30 UTCM 4.6 / 79 km - [info]Near Coast of Guatemala[Map]GFZ
Wed, 20 Sep 2017
Wed, 20 Sep 02:37 UTCM 4.9 / 177.2 km - [info]- 4km ESE of Acatenango, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Thu, 5 Oct 2017
Thu, 5 Oct 18:10 UTCM 4.2 / 48 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 7 Oct 2017
Sat, 7 Oct 21:24 UTCM 4.1 / 54.4 km - [info]- 49km SSE of Iztapa, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Sun, 8 Oct 2017
Sun, 8 Oct 05:00 UTCM 4.1 / 21.1 km - [info]- 44km SSW of Nueva Concepcion, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Sun, 8 Oct 13:38 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 9 Oct 2017
Mon, 9 Oct 00:07 UTCM 4.5 / 15 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 15 Oct 2017
Sun, 15 Oct 13:27 UTCM 4.2 / 48.9 km - [info]- 39km WSW of Acajutla, El Salvador[Map]USGS
Thu, 26 Oct 2017
Thu, 26 Oct 04:01 UTCM 2.9 / 10 km - [info]- 2km NNW of Antiguo Cuscatlan, El Salvador[Map]USGS
Sat, 28 Oct 2017
Sat, 28 Oct 14:51 UTCM 4.0 / 58.2 km - [info]- 35km SSE of Iztapa, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Sun, 29 Oct 2017
Sun, 29 Oct 14:39 UTCM 4.1 / 70 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 30 Oct 2017
Mon, 30 Oct 06:42 UTCM 4.5 / 74 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 30 Oct 08:11 UTCM 4.2 / 81 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 30 Oct 14:28 UTCM 4.5 / 59.2 km - [info]- 33km ESE of Champerico, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Mon, 30 Oct 18:21 UTCM 3.8 / 103.9 km - [info]- 11km NE of Guanagazapa, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Thu, 2 Nov 2017
Thu, 2 Nov 22:13 UTCM 4.5 / 35 km - [info]- 66km SSW of Nueva Concepcion, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Sat, 4 Nov 2017
Sat, 4 Nov 18:12 UTCM 5.1 / 10 km - [info] Guatemala[Map]GFZ

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: