Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
15-17 Jun 2019: Treasures of the Saronic Gulf - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
13-29 Aug 2019: Volcanoes of Java - Java (Indonesia)
14-17 Aug 2019: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano (Indonesia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.8 earthquake - GUATEMALA on Wednesday, 19 July 2017

Light mag. 4.8 earthquake  - GUATEMALA on Wednesday, 19 July 2017
Date & time: Wed, 19 Jul 11:26:17 UTC
Magnitude: 4.8
Depth: 195.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 14.42°N / 90.48°W (Guatemala)
Nearest volcano: Cuilapa-Barbarena (13 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
Estimated released energy: 1*10^12 J (278 MWh / 239 tons of TNT) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource
Wed, 19 Jul 2017
Wed, 19 Jul 11:26 UTCM 4.8 / 194.7 km- GuatemalaUSGS

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Thu, 20 Jul 2017
Thu, 20 Jul 23:13 UTCM 4.2 / 102 km - [info] GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 31 Jul 2017
Mon, 31 Jul 20:52 UTCM 3.9 / 10 km - [info]- 3km N of Pueblo Nuevo Vinas, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Tue, 1 Aug 2017
Tue, 1 Aug 11:35 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info]- 48km SW of Puerto San Jose, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Thu, 10 Aug 2017
Thu, 10 Aug 09:53 UTCM 4.3 / 78.2 km - [info]- 11km E of Puerto Madero, Mexico[Map]USGS
Sun, 20 Aug 2017
Sun, 20 Aug 23:28 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info] Guatemala[Map]GFZ
Sat, 26 Aug 2017
Sat, 26 Aug 23:33 UTCM 4.7 / 80.5 km - [info]- 12km NW of Champerico, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Thu, 31 Aug 2017
Thu, 31 Aug 05:48 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]Near Coast of Guatemala[Map]GFZ
Thu, 31 Aug 06:45 UTCM 4.2 / 35 km - [info]- 39km SSW of Nueva Concepcion, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Thu, 31 Aug 07:08 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 16 Sep 2017
Sat, 16 Sep 06:30 UTCM 4.6 / 79 km - [info]Near Coast of Guatemala[Map]GFZ
Sun, 17 Sep 2017
Sun, 17 Sep 05:56 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info]- 19km SSE of Gracias, Honduras[Map]USGS
Wed, 20 Sep 2017
Wed, 20 Sep 02:37 UTCM 4.9 / 177.2 km - [info]- 4km ESE of Acatenango, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Sat, 7 Oct 2017
Sat, 7 Oct 21:24 UTCM 4.1 / 54.4 km - [info]- 49km SSE of Iztapa, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Sun, 8 Oct 2017
Sun, 8 Oct 05:00 UTCM 4.1 / 21.1 km - [info]- 44km SSW of Nueva Concepcion, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Sun, 15 Oct 2017
Sun, 15 Oct 13:27 UTCM 4.2 / 48.9 km - [info]- 39km WSW of Acajutla, El Salvador[Map]USGS
Thu, 26 Oct 2017
Thu, 26 Oct 04:01 UTCM 2.9 / 10 km - [info]- 2km NNW of Antiguo Cuscatlan, El Salvador[Map]USGS
Sat, 28 Oct 2017
Sat, 28 Oct 14:51 UTCM 4.0 / 58.2 km - [info]- 35km SSE of Iztapa, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Sun, 29 Oct 2017
Sun, 29 Oct 14:39 UTCM 4.1 / 70 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 30 Oct 2017
Mon, 30 Oct 06:42 UTCM 4.5 / 74 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 30 Oct 08:11 UTCM 4.2 / 81 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 30 Oct 14:28 UTCM 4.5 / 59.2 km - [info]- 33km ESE of Champerico, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Mon, 30 Oct 18:21 UTCM 3.8 / 103.9 km - [info]- 11km NE of Guanagazapa, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Thu, 2 Nov 2017
Thu, 2 Nov 22:13 UTCM 4.5 / 35 km - [info]- 66km SSW of Nueva Concepcion, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Sat, 4 Nov 2017
Sat, 4 Nov 18:12 UTCM 5.1 / 10 km - [info] Guatemala[Map]GFZ
Fri, 10 Nov 2017
Fri, 10 Nov 10:08 UTCM 4.2 / 112 km - [info]CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 15 Nov 2017
Wed, 15 Nov 15:04 UTCM 4.1 / 101 km - [info] GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 20 Nov 2017
Mon, 20 Nov 03:37 UTCM 4.3 / 92.4 km - [info]- 4km NE of Puerto San Jose, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Tue, 28 Nov 2017
Tue, 28 Nov 23:13 UTCM 4.3 / 35 km - [info]- 56km S of Champerico, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Tue, 28 Nov 23:34 UTCM 4.5 / 35 km - [info]- 58km SSE of Champerico, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Tue, 5 Dec 2017
Tue, 5 Dec 09:47 UTCM 4.1 / 75.4 km - [info]- 10km WSW of La Libertad, El Salvador[Map]USGS
Wed, 6 Dec 2017
Wed, 6 Dec 18:17 UTCM 4.6 / 65.3 km - [info]- 17km N of Champerico, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Fri, 15 Dec 2017
Fri, 15 Dec 09:07 UTCM 5.1 / 10 km - [info] Guatemala[Map]GFZ
Thu, 28 Dec 2017
Thu, 28 Dec 09:16 UTCM 4.2 / 12 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Thu, 28 Dec 09:43 UTCM 4.1 / 15 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Fri, 29 Dec 2017
Fri, 29 Dec 09:42 UTCM 4.9 / 47 km - [info]Near Coast of Guatemala[Map]GFZ

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: