Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - VERACRUZ, MEXICO on Monday, 21 August 2017

Light mag. 4.1 earthquake  - VERACRUZ, MEXICO on Monday, 21 August 2017
Date & time: Mon, 21 Aug 06:51:01 UTC
Magnitude: 4.1
Depth: 117.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 17.57°N / 95.08°W (Mexico)
Nearest volcano: San Martín (112 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Sat, 26 Aug 2017
Sat, 26 Aug 10:42 UTCM 4.1 / 105 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 26 Aug 23:56 UTCM 4.5 / 95 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 5 Sep 2017
Tue, 5 Sep 00:23 UTCM 4.3 / 135 km - [info]VERACRUZ, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 8 Sep 2017
Fri, 8 Sep 08:43 UTCM 4.4 / 109 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 8 Sep 18:57 UTCM 5.1 / 10 km - [info]Oaxaca, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Sat, 9 Sep 2017
Sat, 9 Sep 00:01 UTCM 4.9 / 101 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 10 Sep 2017
Sun, 10 Sep 01:11 UTCM 4.1 / 79 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 19 Sep 2017
Tue, 19 Sep 09:29 UTCM 4.2 / 66 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 20 Sep 2017
Wed, 20 Sep 03:52 UTCM 4.0 / 89 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 23 Sep 2017 (6 earthquakes)
Sat, 23 Sep 12:53 UTCM 6.0 / 10 km - [info]Oaxaca, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Sat, 23 Sep 13:24 UTCM 4.8 / 83 km - [info]Oaxaca, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Sat, 23 Sep 14:31 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info]Oaxaca, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Sat, 23 Sep 15:06 UTCM 4.2 / 10 km - [info]- 10km ENE of San Jeronimo Ixtepec, Mexico[Map]USGS
Sat, 23 Sep 16:16 UTCM 4.6 / 50 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 23 Sep 23:06 UTCM 4.5 / 9 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 24 Sep 2017
Sun, 24 Sep 12:33 UTCM 4.5 / 55 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 25 Sep 2017
Mon, 25 Sep 04:19 UTCM 4.1 / 123 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 26 Sep 2017
Tue, 26 Sep 18:53 UTCM 4.3 / 104.3 km - [info]- 4km NNW of Niltepec, Mexico[Map]USGS
Thu, 28 Sep 2017
Thu, 28 Sep 09:22 UTCM 4.3 / 117 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 30 Sep 2017
Sat, 30 Sep 22:45 UTCM 4.1 / 69 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 4 Oct 2017
Wed, 4 Oct 18:45 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info]- 10km NE of San Jeronimo Ixtepec, Mexico[Map]USGS
Thu, 5 Oct 2017
Thu, 5 Oct 04:55 UTCM 4.4 / 71 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 6 Oct 2017
Fri, 6 Oct 03:53 UTCM 4.2 / 142 km - [info]VERACRUZ, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 7 Oct 2017
Sat, 7 Oct 04:11 UTCM 4.1 / 115 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 7 Oct 20:29 UTCM 4.6 / 94 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 8 Oct 2017
Sun, 8 Oct 05:12 UTCM 4.1 / 91 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 8 Oct 13:17 UTCM 4.0 / 57 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 14 Oct 2017
Sat, 14 Oct 06:09 UTCM 4.1 / 130 km - [info]VERACRUZ, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 14 Oct 09:43 UTCM 4.1 / 130 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 14 Oct 11:06 UTCM 4.1 / 95 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 15 Oct 2017
Sun, 15 Oct 10:47 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 17 Oct 2017
Tue, 17 Oct 18:33 UTCM 4.2 / 126 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 23 Oct 2017
Mon, 23 Oct 04:05 UTCM 4.3 / 85 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 23 Oct 13:10 UTCM 4.0 / 16 km - [info]VERACRUZ, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 25 Oct 2017
Wed, 25 Oct 02:49 UTCM 4.2 / 43 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 27 Oct 2017
Fri, 27 Oct 06:47 UTCM 4.0 / 97 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 28 Oct 2017
Sat, 28 Oct 18:31 UTCM 4.8 / 132 km - [info]VERACRUZ, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 30 Oct 2017
Mon, 30 Oct 12:07 UTCM 4.3 / 38 km - [info]VERACRUZ, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 31 Oct 2017
Tue, 31 Oct 23:27 UTCM 4.1 / 103 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 6 Nov 2017
Mon, 6 Nov 16:12 UTCM 4.4 / 99 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 9 Nov 2017
Thu, 9 Nov 05:05 UTCM 4.3 / 36 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 13 Nov 2017
Mon, 13 Nov 06:04 UTCM 4.2 / 71 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 13 Nov 12:00 UTCM 4.3 / 114 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 28 Nov 2017
Tue, 28 Nov 05:20 UTCM 4.0 / 85 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 28 Nov 09:14 UTCM 4.1 / 46 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 29 Nov 2017
Wed, 29 Nov 11:30 UTCM 4.1 / 137 km - [info]VERACRUZ, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 29 Nov 15:47 UTCM 4.0 / 69 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 30 Nov 2017
Thu, 30 Nov 17:55 UTCM 4.5 / 53 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 6 Dec 2017
Wed, 6 Dec 08:15 UTCM 4.1 / 123 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 12 Dec 2017
Tue, 12 Dec 15:34 UTCM 4.7 / 121 km - [info]Oaxaca, Mexico[Map]GFZ

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: