Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.4 earthquake - OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO on Tuesday, 12 September 2017

Light mag. 4.4 earthquake  - OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO on Tuesday, 12 September 2017
Date & time: Tue, 12 Sep 19:58:27 UTC
Magnitude: 4.4
Depth: 17.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 16.54°N / 98.99°W (Mexico)
Nearest volcano: Popocatépetl (279 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Sat, 16 Sep 2017
Sat, 16 Sep 02:22 UTCM 4.6 / 18 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 16 Sep 02:27 UTCM 4.5 / 11 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 16 Sep 05:46 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 21 Sep 2017
Thu, 21 Sep 23:55 UTCM 4.2 / 18 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 24 Sep 2017
Sun, 24 Sep 05:10 UTCM 4.4 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 26 Sep 2017
Tue, 26 Sep 18:44 UTCM 4.3 / 11 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 27 Sep 2017
Wed, 27 Sep 09:48 UTCM 4.2 / 9 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 28 Sep 2017
Thu, 28 Sep 09:38 UTCM 4.6 / 13 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 28 Sep 19:12 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 28 Sep 19:37 UTCM 4.4 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 8 Oct 2017
Sun, 8 Oct 01:21 UTCM 4.7 / 61 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 10 Oct 2017
Tue, 10 Oct 05:52 UTCM 4.0 / 13 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 10 Oct 12:45 UTCM 4.8 / 15 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 11 Oct 2017
Wed, 11 Oct 02:45 UTCM 4.5 / 40 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 12 Oct 2017
Thu, 12 Oct 00:44 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info]Oaxaca, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Sat, 21 Oct 2017
Sat, 21 Oct 16:58 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info]Oaxaca, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Thu, 26 Oct 2017
Thu, 26 Oct 17:05 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 28 Oct 2017
Sat, 28 Oct 11:31 UTCM 4.6 / 19.1 km - [info]- 24km NW of San Miguel Panixtlahuaca, Mexico[Map]USGS
Mon, 30 Oct 2017
Mon, 30 Oct 15:03 UTCM 4.1 / 5 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 31 Oct 2017
Tue, 31 Oct 12:07 UTCM 4.8 / 5 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 31 Oct 12:49 UTCM 4.7 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 2 Nov 2017
Thu, 2 Nov 17:36 UTCM 4.0 / 26 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 5 Nov 2017
Sun, 5 Nov 04:09 UTCM 4.2 / 8 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 5 Nov 16:53 UTCM 4.2 / 10 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 8 Nov 2017
Wed, 8 Nov 22:09 UTCM 4.0 / 17 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 10 Nov 2017
Fri, 10 Nov 03:12 UTCM 4.0 / 42 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 14 Nov 2017
Tue, 14 Nov 04:49 UTCM 4.0 / 36 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 15 Nov 2017
Wed, 15 Nov 22:46 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 18 Nov 2017
Sat, 18 Nov 13:12 UTCM 4.1 / 22 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 21 Nov 2017
Tue, 21 Nov 13:45 UTCM 4.2 / 17 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 24 Nov 2017
Fri, 24 Nov 05:36 UTCM 4.0 / 30 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 30 Nov 2017
Thu, 30 Nov 03:20 UTCM 4.5 / 35.7 km - [info]- 21km SSW of Cuajinicuilapa, Mexico[Map]USGS
Thu, 30 Nov 04:47 UTCM 4.2 / 35 km - [info]- 10km SW of Ometepec, Mexico[Map]USGS
Thu, 30 Nov 05:55 UTCM 4.4 / 17 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 30 Nov 15:58 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 1 Dec 2017
Fri, 1 Dec 05:03 UTCM 4.0 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 1 Dec 05:58 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 1 Dec 07:55 UTCM 4.1 / 37 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 5 Dec 2017
Tue, 5 Dec 21:56 UTCM 4.1 / 30 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 6 Dec 2017
Wed, 6 Dec 23:00 UTCM 4.0 / 35 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 12 Dec 2017
Tue, 12 Dec 23:07 UTCM 4.0 / 47 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 14 Dec 2017
Thu, 14 Dec 12:04 UTCM 3.9 / 49 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 16 Dec 2017
Sat, 16 Dec 15:16 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 20 Dec 2017
Wed, 20 Dec 02:33 UTCM 4.0 / 43 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 21 Dec 2017
Thu, 21 Dec 03:23 UTCM 4.7 / 10 km - [info]Near Coast of Guerrero, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Thu, 21 Dec 04:06 UTCM 4.1 / 15 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 21 Dec 15:37 UTCM 4.0 / 6 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 22 Dec 2017
Fri, 22 Dec 00:43 UTCM 4.0 / 4 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 22 Dec 01:04 UTCM 4.0 / 12 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 22 Dec 01:11 UTCM 4.0 / 21 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: