Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
14-29 Sep 2018: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
26 Sep - 1 Oct 2018: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
26 Sep - 10 Oct 2018: Volcanoes and Cultures - Adventures in the South Sea - Vanuatu (South Sea)
30 Sep - 7 Oct 2018: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
30 Sep - 10 Oct 2018: The Volcanoes of Ambrym - the Grand Traverse - Vanuatu (South Sea)
6-13 Oct 2018: Pearl of the Aegean - Santorini - Santorini Island, Greece
13-20 Oct 2018: Almonds, olives and volcanoes - Nisyros Island, Greece
13-29 Nov 2018: Volcano Special: Ibu - Dukono - Lokon - Halmahera (Indonesia)
17-30 Nov 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
8-21 Dec 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Moderate mag. 5.0 earthquake - Tajikistan on Wednesday, 27 December 2017

Moderate mag. 5.0 earthquake  - Tajikistan on Wednesday, 27 December 2017
Date & time: Wed, 27 Dec 13:56:57 UTC
Magnitude: 5.0
Depth: 10.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 38.93°N / 72.48°E [Map]
Nearest volcano: Vakak (658 km)
Primary data source: GFZ
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Sat, 30 Dec
Sat, 30 Dec 23:24 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info] (740 km)Kyrgyzstan[Map]GFZ
Tue, 2 Jan
Tue, 2 Jan 23:16 UTCM 4.5 / 27 km - [info] (644 km)- Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Thu, 4 Jan
Thu, 4 Jan 19:53 UTCM 4.3 / 111.8 km - [info] (682 km)- 37km S of Karakul, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Mon, 8 Jan
Mon, 8 Jan 04:18 UTCM 4.1 / 35.7 km - [info] (759 km)- 13km SSE of Sary-Tash, Kyrgyzstan[Map]USGS
Tue, 9 Jan
Tue, 9 Jan 00:05 UTCM 4.9 / 110 km - [info] (617 km) Tajikistan
[Map]
GFZ
Belize (13083.1 km NNW from epicenter) / MMI II (Very weak shaking)
Andijan (Uzbekistan) (300 km NW from epicenter)(no details): ОДИН ТОЛЧОК (via EMSC)
Wed, 10 Jan
Wed, 10 Jan 09:33 UTCM 3.2 / 8 km - [info] (742 km)吉尔吉斯斯坦[Map]CEIC
Mon, 15 Jan
Mon, 15 Jan 02:58 UTCM 4.6 / 51.2 km - [info] (636 km)- Tajikistan
[Map]
USGS
Sun, 4 Feb
Sun, 4 Feb 03:21 UTCM 4.2 / 5 km - [info] (687 km)KYRGYZSTAN[Map]EMSC
Tue, 6 Feb
Tue, 6 Feb 21:53 UTCM 4.8 / 104 km - [info] (608 km) Tajikistan[Map]GFZ
Sun, 11 Feb
Sun, 11 Feb 19:27 UTCM 3.7 / 15 km - [info] (742 km)吉尔吉斯斯坦[Map]CEIC
Tue, 13 Feb
Tue, 13 Feb 07:21 UTCM 3.7 / 8 km - [info] (698 km)新疆克孜勒苏州乌恰县[Map]CEIC
Wed, 14 Feb
Wed, 14 Feb 12:32 UTCM 4.5 / 134.4 km - [info] (597 km)- 106km WSW of Murghob, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Wed, 14 Feb 22:30 UTCM 3.9 / 5 km - [info] (717 km)新疆克孜勒苏州阿克陶县[Map]CEIC
Wed, 14 Feb 23:21 UTCM 4.5 / 132 km - [info] (654 km)塔吉克斯坦[Map]CEIC
Fri, 23 Feb
Fri, 23 Feb 10:22 UTCM 4.5 / 48.5 km - [info] (729 km)- 46km WSW of Sary-Tash, Kyrgyzstan[Map]USGS
Sat, 3 Mar
Sat, 3 Mar 23:05 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info] (728 km)Tajikistan-Xinjiang Border Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 20 Mar
Tue, 20 Mar 05:08 UTCM 3.3 / 8 km - [info] (728 km)吉尔吉斯斯坦[Map]CEIC
Tue, 20 Mar 05:08 UTCM 4.5 / 12 km - [info] (743 km)KYRGYZSTAN[Map]EMSC
Tue, 3 Apr
Tue, 3 Apr 15:11 UTCM 4.2 / 10 km - [info] (650 km)- 17km E of Karakenja, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Sun, 8 Apr
Sun, 8 Apr 17:53 UTCM 3.1 / 12 km - [info] (697 km)新疆克孜勒苏州乌恰县[Map]CEIC
Mon, 16 Apr
Mon, 16 Apr 15:47 UTCM 3.8 / 8 km - [info] (702 km)新疆克孜勒苏州乌恰县[Map]CEIC
Tue, 17 Apr
Tue, 17 Apr 14:21 UTCM 4.2 / 107.7 km - [info] (589 km)- 77km ESE of Vanj, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Sun, 22 Apr
Sun, 22 Apr 23:39 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info] (678 km)Tajikistan-Xinjiang Border Region
[Map]
GFZ
Sun, 6 May
Sun, 6 May 03:17 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info] (727 km)Tajikistan-Xinjiang Border Region
[Map]
GFZ
Sun, 6 May 03:23 UTCM 3.1 / 16 km - [info] (734 km)塔吉克斯坦[Map]CEIC
Tue, 8 May
Tue, 8 May 02:19 UTCM 3.6 / 18 km - [info] (665 km)塔吉克斯坦[Map]CEIC
Tue, 15 May
Tue, 15 May 13:15 UTCM 4.4 / 10 km - [info] (660 km)- 24km N of Karakenja, Tajikistan
[Map]
USGS
Sat, 2 Jun
Sat, 2 Jun 08:45 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info] (678 km) Tajikistan
[Map]
GFZ
Tue, 19 Jun
Tue, 19 Jun 05:04 UTCM 3.9 / 127 km - [info] (657 km)塔吉克斯坦[Map]CEIC
Thu, 12 Jul
Thu, 12 Jul 19:46 UTCM 4.9 / 113 km - [info] (669 km)Tajikistan-Xinjiang Border Region
[Map]
GFZ
Abbottabad (Pakistan) (469 km S from epicenter)(no details): I feel it .location city abbottabad country Pakistan (via EMSC)
Tashkent (Uzbekistan) (490 km NW from epicenter)(no details): скрипело стекло рамы (via EMSC)
Fri, 20 Jul
Fri, 20 Jul 01:27 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info] (694 km)Tajikistan-Xinjiang Border Region
[Map]
GFZ
Wed, 8 Aug
Wed, 8 Aug 20:19 UTCM 4.2 / 39.6 km - [info] (671 km)- 56km ENE of Karakul, Tajikistan
[Map]
USGS

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: