Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
14-29 Sep 2018: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
26 Sep - 1 Oct 2018: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
26 Sep - 10 Oct 2018: Volcanoes and Cultures - Adventures in the South Sea - Vanuatu (South Sea)
30 Sep - 7 Oct 2018: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
30 Sep - 10 Oct 2018: The Volcanoes of Ambrym - the Grand Traverse - Vanuatu (South Sea)
6-13 Oct 2018: Pearl of the Aegean - Santorini - Santorini Island, Greece
13-20 Oct 2018: Almonds, olives and volcanoes - Nisyros Island, Greece
13-29 Nov 2018: Volcano Special: Ibu - Dukono - Lokon - Halmahera (Indonesia)
17-30 Nov 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
8-21 Dec 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - 101 km S 69 on Wednesday, 27 December 2017

Light mag. 4.1 earthquake  - 101  km S    69 on Wednesday, 27 December 2017
Date & time: Wed, 27 Dec 23:34:00 UTC
Magnitude: 4.1
Depth: 51.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 5.27°N / 127.16°E [Map]
Nearest volcano: Balut (198 km)
Primary data source: PHIVOLCS
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Thu, 28 Dec
Thu, 28 Dec 21:54 UTCM 2.9 / 30 km - [info] (156 km)100 km S 25[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sun, 31 Dec
Sun, 31 Dec 13:32 UTCM 2.9 / 109 km - [info] (100 km)062 km S 83[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sun, 31 Dec 13:32 UTCM 2.9 / 135 km - [info] (109 km)038 km S 78[Map]PHILVOLCS
Mon, 1 Jan
Mon, 1 Jan 05:22 UTCM 2.8 / 103 km - [info] (122 km)096 km S 74[Map]PHILVOLCS
Tue, 2 Jan
Tue, 2 Jan 12:04 UTCM 4.8 / 106 km - [info] (163 km)Mindanao, Philippines[Map]GFZ
Thu, 4 Jan
Thu, 4 Jan 16:05 UTCM 2.9 / 22 km - [info] (135 km)094 km N 85[Map]PHILVOLCS
Fri, 5 Jan
Fri, 5 Jan 17:21 UTCM 2.6 / 61 km - [info] (90 km)080 km S 81[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sun, 7 Jan
Sun, 7 Jan 17:58 UTCM 2.7 / 126 km - [info] (77 km)033 km S 81[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sun, 14 Jan
Sun, 14 Jan 20:44 UTCM 2.7 / 135 km - [info] (116 km)057 km S 74[Map]PHILVOLCS
Mon, 15 Jan
Mon, 15 Jan 18:54 UTCM 4.4 / 115.1 km - [info] (103 km)- 79km ESE of Caburan, Philippines[Map]USGS
Tue, 16 Jan
Tue, 16 Jan 10:39 UTCM 2.7 / 121 km - [info] (99 km)036 km S 63[Map]PHILVOLCS
Wed, 17 Jan
Wed, 17 Jan 02:02 UTCM 2.9 / 9 km - [info] (110 km)100 km S 75[Map]PHILVOLCS
Wed, 17 Jan 10:51 UTCM 2.8 / 1 km - [info] (124 km)116 km S 70[Map]PHILVOLCS
Wed, 17 Jan 14:13 UTCM 3.2 / 14 km - [info]Awu (79 km)123 km S 12[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sat, 20 Jan
Sat, 20 Jan 00:23 UTCM 3.3 / 61 km - [info] (138 km)117 km S 29[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sat, 20 Jan 09:24 UTCM 3.7 / 1 km - [info] (136 km)103 km S 84[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sat, 20 Jan 13:38 UTCM 3.1 / 65 km - [info] (140 km)094 km S 32[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sun, 21 Jan
Sun, 21 Jan 06:52 UTCM 3.4 / 78 km - [info] (133 km)109 km S 73[Map]PHILVOLCS
Mon, 22 Jan
Mon, 22 Jan 17:04 UTCM 3.3 / 137 km - [info] (83 km)051 km S 70[Map]PHILVOLCS
Tue, 23 Jan
Tue, 23 Jan 05:04 UTCM 3.3 / 137 km - [info] (83 km)051 km S 70[Map]PHILVOLCS
Thu, 25 Jan
Thu, 25 Jan 08:03 UTCM 4.1 / 57 km - [info] (75 km)064 km S 85[Map]PHILVOLCS
Thu, 25 Jan 08:03 UTCM 4.8 / 100 km - [info] (71 km)MINDANAO, PHILIPPINES[Map]EMSC
Thu, 25 Jan 15:33 UTCM 3.0 / 94 km - [info] (151 km)125 km S 78[Map]PHILVOLCS
Fri, 26 Jan
Fri, 26 Jan 06:24 UTCM 2.6 / 53 km - [info] (64 km)052 km S 44[Map]PHILVOLCS
Fri, 26 Jan 09:47 UTCM 3.2 / 118 km - [info] (270 km)260 km S 77[Map]PHILVOLCS
Fri, 26 Jan 20:14 UTCM 2.7 / 102 km - [info] (67 km)029 km S 67[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sat, 27 Jan
Sat, 27 Jan 19:23 UTCM 2.6 / 94 km - [info] (178 km)142km S 43[Map]PHILVOLCS
Wed, 31 Jan
Wed, 31 Jan 21:35 UTCM 2.9 / 104 km - [info] (51 km)021 km S 30[Map]PHILVOLCS
Mon, 5 Feb
Mon, 5 Feb 17:38 UTCM 3.0 / 48 km - [info] (152 km)090 km S 40[Map]PHILVOLCS
Tue, 6 Feb
Tue, 6 Feb 12:31 UTCM 2.9 / 37 km - [info] (184 km)170 km S 68[Map]PHILVOLCS
Fri, 9 Feb
Fri, 9 Feb 08:17 UTCM 2.8 / 36 km - [info] (159 km)136 km S 76[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sat, 10 Feb
Sat, 10 Feb 05:12 UTCM 4.3 / 44.3 km - [info] (34 km)- 36km SSW of Sarangani, Philippines[Map]USGS
Wed, 14 Feb
Wed, 14 Feb 01:59 UTCM 2.8 / 45 km - [info] (87 km)038 km N 85[Map]PHILVOLCS
Fri, 16 Feb
Fri, 16 Feb 19:12 UTCM 3.4 / 25 km - [info] (85 km)077 km S 63[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sat, 17 Feb
Sat, 17 Feb 20:40 UTCM 3.1 / 55 km - [info] (46 km)014 km N 33[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sun, 18 Feb
Sun, 18 Feb 14:24 UTCM 3.5 / 64 km - [info] (142 km)113 km S 79[Map]PHILVOLCS
Mon, 19 Feb
Mon, 19 Feb 15:42 UTCM 3.0 / 127 km - [info] (236 km)218 km S 46[Map]PHILVOLCS
Mon, 19 Feb 20:48 UTCM 4.5 / 139.9 km - [info] (165 km)- 79km SE of Pondaguitan, Philippines[Map]USGS
Sat, 24 Feb
Sat, 24 Feb 07:58 UTCM 3.1 / 39 km - [info] (143 km)103 km S 67[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sun, 25 Feb
Sun, 25 Feb 16:10 UTCM 3.5 / 24 km - [info] (79 km)058 km S 57[Map]PHILVOLCS
Tue, 27 Feb
Tue, 27 Feb 00:42 UTCM 4.3 / 77 km - [info] (149 km)110 km S 35[Map]PHILVOLCS
Tue, 27 Feb 00:42 UTCM 4.0 / 62 km - [info] (135 km)057 km S 30[Map]PHILVOLCS
Wed, 28 Feb
Wed, 28 Feb 13:11 UTCM 3.1 / 11 km - [info] (213 km)181 km S 48[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sat, 3 Mar
Sat, 3 Mar 13:46 UTCM 3.0 / 1 km - [info] (169 km)161 km S 69[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sat, 3 Mar 15:02 UTCM 3.1 / 8 km - [info] (197 km)162 km S 47[Map]PHILVOLCS
Mon, 5 Mar
Mon, 5 Mar 01:53 UTCM 3.0 / 62 km - [info] (108 km)092 km S 61[Map]PHILVOLCS
Mon, 5 Mar 06:01 UTCM 3.4 / 132 km - [info] (172 km)136 km S 42[Map]PHILVOLCS
Mon, 5 Mar 06:01 UTCM 3.8 / 2 km - [info] (230 km)211 km S 46[Map]PHILVOLCS
Tue, 6 Mar
Tue, 6 Mar 20:31 UTCM 3.4 / 30 km - [info] (170 km)110 km S 58[Map]PHILVOLCS
Thu, 8 Mar
Thu, 8 Mar 16:32 UTCM 3.0 / 3 km - [info] (121 km)112 km S 72[Map]PHILVOLCS

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: