Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
17-30 Nov 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
8-21 Dec 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
27 Dec 18 - 2 Jan 2019: Kilauea Volcano Special - Big Island, Hawaiʻi
6-13 Apr 2019: Pearl of the Aegean - Santorini - Santorini Island, Greece
22-27 Apr 2019: Aegean's Hidden Gem: Isle of Milos - Milos Island (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
11-19 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - 188km SSE of Taron, Papua New Guinea on Saturday, 6 January 2018

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake  - 188km SSE of Taron, Papua New Guinea on Saturday, 6 January 2018
Date & time: Sat, 6 Jan 18:15:03 UTC
Magnitude: 4.6
Depth: 6.7 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 6.0622°S / 153.6322°E
Nearest volcano: Tore (146 km)
Primary data source: USGS
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Fri, 19 Jan
Fri, 19 Jan 05:44 UTCM 4.9 / 182 km - [info]Balbi (4 km)Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Tue, 23 Jan
Tue, 23 Jan 05:59 UTCM 5.5 / 158 km - [info]Tore (17 km)Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Sun, 28 Jan
Sun, 28 Jan 13:04 UTCM 4.7 / 35 km - [info]Balbi (46 km)- 76km W of Panguna, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Thu, 8 Feb
Thu, 8 Feb 18:33 UTCM 5.0 / 12.7 km - [info]Tore (114 km)- 176km W of Panguna, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sun, 11 Feb
Sun, 11 Feb 05:51 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info]Tore (171 km)- 158km SSE of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sat, 17 Feb
Sat, 17 Feb 15:13 UTCM 5.0 / 33 km - [info]Balbi (85 km)BOUGAINVILLE REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Sun, 18 Feb
Sun, 18 Feb 00:25 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info]Tore (94 km)BOUGAINVILLE REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Mon, 26 Feb
Mon, 26 Feb 04:40 UTCM 5.5 / 10 km - [info] (73 km)New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Sat, 3 Mar
Sat, 3 Mar 12:20 UTCM 4.5 / 24.2 km - [info] (151 km)- 218km ESE of Kimbe, Papua New Guinea
[Map]
USGS
Mon, 5 Mar
Mon, 5 Mar 06:02 UTCM 4.5 / 189 km - [info]Tore (111 km)Solomon Islands[Map]GFZ
Sun, 11 Mar
Sun, 11 Mar 08:18 UTCM 4.6 / 107.6 km - [info]Bagana (22 km) - Bougainville Island, Papua New Guinea- 49km W of Panguna, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sun, 18 Mar
Sun, 18 Mar 04:22 UTCM 4.6 / 174.2 km - [info]Tore (16 km)- 91km WNW of Arawa, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sun, 25 Mar
Sun, 25 Mar 05:09 UTCM 5.3 / 10 km - [info] (157 km)New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Thu, 29 Mar
Thu, 29 Mar 21:50 UTCM 5.1 / 111 km - [info] (77 km)New Britain Region, P.N.G.[Map]GFZ
Thu, 29 Mar 22:51 UTCM 5.3 / 96 km - [info] (112 km)New Britain Region, P.N.G.
[Map]
GFZ
Kokopo butuwin (646.9 km SW from epicenter) / MMI IV (Light shaking) (via app)
Fri, 30 Mar
Fri, 30 Mar 02:00 UTCM 4.9 / 35 km - [info] (75 km)NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Fri, 30 Mar 10:04 UTCM 4.7 / 67 km - [info]Hargy (92 km)NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Fri, 30 Mar 17:15 UTCM 4.6 / 44.8 km - [info] (82 km)- 146km SSW of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sat, 31 Mar
Sat, 31 Mar 00:52 UTCM 4.6 / 35 km - [info] (61 km)- 150km SSW of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sat, 7 Apr
Sat, 7 Apr 05:15 UTCM 5.4 / 35 km - [info] (88 km)- 132km SSW of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea
[Map]
USGS
Kokopo butuwin (136 km NNE from epicenter) / MMI III (Weak shaking): 2 pulse of weak shakes. (via app)
Kokopo butuwin (134.9 km NNE from epicenter) / MMI III (Weak shaking): 2xweak pulse of shakes. (via app)
Wed, 9 May
Wed, 9 May 07:57 UTCM 5.9 / 10 km - [info] (108 km)New Britain Region, P.N.G.
[Map]
GFZ
Sun, 13 May
Sun, 13 May 02:32 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info] (108 km)New Britain Region, P.N.G.
[Map]
GFZ
Fri, 18 May
Fri, 18 May 01:11 UTCM 4.8 / 38.1 km - [info] (117 km)- 154km S of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea
[Map]
USGS
Mon, 21 May
Mon, 21 May 19:12 UTCM 5.3 / 10 km - [info] (51 km)Solomon Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Sun, 27 May
Sun, 27 May 03:50 UTCM 4.9 / 35 km - [info] (134 km)- 108km SSW of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Tue, 29 May
Tue, 29 May 02:40 UTCM 4.6 / 21.5 km - [info] (144 km)- 98km SSE of Taron, Papua New Guinea
[Map]
USGS
Thu, 31 May
Thu, 31 May 11:24 UTCM 4.7 / 52 km - [info] (104 km) NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Fri, 1 Jun
Fri, 1 Jun 18:31 UTCM 4.5 / 85.7 km - [info] (42 km)- 42km SW of Panguna, Papua New Guinea
[Map]
USGS
Mon, 4 Jun
Mon, 4 Jun 16:06 UTCM 4.7 / 35 km - [info] (135 km)- 103km SSE of Taron, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sat, 9 Jun
Sat, 9 Jun 19:50 UTCM 5.0 / 71 km - [info] (116 km)New Britain Region, P.N.G.
[Map]
GFZ
Sat, 9 Jun 20:53 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info] (121 km)- 173km S of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sun, 10 Jun
Sun, 10 Jun 01:19 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info] (128 km)- 184km S of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea
[Map]
USGS
Wed, 13 Jun
Wed, 13 Jun 18:26 UTCM 4.8 / 209 km - [info]Bagana (9 km) - Bougainville Island, Papua New GuineaSolomon Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Sun, 17 Jun
Sun, 17 Jun 03:59 UTCM 5.0 / 35 km - [info] (57 km)- 69km SSW of Panguna, Papua New Guinea
[Map]
USGS
Brooks / MMI IX (Violent shaking)
Sat, 7 Jul
Sat, 7 Jul 08:18 UTCM 4.7 / 10 km - [info] (66 km)- 85km WSW of Panguna, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Sat, 28 Jul
Sat, 28 Jul 12:23 UTCM 4.9 / 35 km - [info] (62 km) BOUGAINVILLE REGION, P.N.G.
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 29 Jul
Sun, 29 Jul 17:59 UTCM 4.9 / 33.7 km - [info] (98 km)- 167km SSW of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Wed, 8 Aug
Wed, 8 Aug 01:12 UTCM 4.8 / 35 km - [info] (71 km)- 140km SSW of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea
[Map]
USGS
Fri, 17 Aug
Fri, 17 Aug 00:50 UTCM 4.3 / 16.6 km - [info] (139 km)- 180km W of Panguna, Papua New Guinea[Map]USGS
Fri, 17 Aug 02:51 UTCM 5.1 / 10 km - [info] (169 km) NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 19 Aug
Sun, 19 Aug 06:21 UTCM 5.0 / 58 km - [info] (73 km) NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.[Map]EMSC
Wed, 22 Aug
Wed, 22 Aug 20:58 UTCM 5.2 / 10 km - [info] (91 km) NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 2 Sep
Sun, 2 Sep 17:56 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info] (52 km)Solomon Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Tue, 11 Sep
Tue, 11 Sep 04:40 UTCM 4.6 / 64.3 km - [info] (105 km)- 141km S of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea
[Map]
USGS
Thu, 20 Sep
Thu, 20 Sep 07:05 UTCM 5.1 / 10 km - [info] (214 km)New Britain Region, P.N.G.
[Map]
GFZ
Thu, 27 Sep
Thu, 27 Sep 15:53 UTCM 5.0 / 236 km - [info] (45 km)Solomon Islands
[Map]
GFZ
solomon islANDS (63.2 km E from epicenter) / MMI V (Moderate shaking)
Fri, 28 Sep
Fri, 28 Sep 16:47 UTCM 4.6 / 60 km - [info] (100 km)- 146km S of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea
[Map]
USGS
Thu, 4 Oct
Thu, 4 Oct 23:07 UTCM 4.8 / 167 km - [info]Tore (25 km) BOUGAINVILLE REGION, P.N.G.
[Map]
EMSC
Fri, 19 Oct
Fri, 19 Oct 18:52 UTCM 4.5 / 58.4 km - [info] (119 km)- 194km ESE of Kimbe, Papua New Guinea
[Map]
USGS
Mon, 22 Oct
Mon, 22 Oct 00:53 UTCM 4.5 / 35 km - [info] (109 km) NEW BRITAIN REGION, P.N.G.
[Map]
EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: