Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
8-21 Dec 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
27 Dec 18 - 2 Jan 2019: Kilauea Volcano Special - Big Island, Hawaiʻi
9-22 Feb 2019: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
11-19 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
8-16 Jun 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
14-30 Jun 2019: Volcanoes and Spices - N-Sulawesi + Halmahera (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.7 earthquake - 80km SSW of Ndoi Island, Fiji on Sunday, 7 January 2018

Light mag. 4.7 earthquake  - 80km SSW of Ndoi Island, Fiji on Sunday, 7 January 2018
Date & time: Sun, 7 Jan 06:06:07 UTC
Magnitude: 4.7
Depth: 600.2 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 21.2844°S / 179.0749°W
Nearest volcano: Unnamed 21.15°S/175.75°W (345 km)
Primary data source: USGS
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 17 Jan
Wed, 17 Jan 15:41 UTCM 4.6 / 479 km - [info] (211 km)Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sat, 20 Jan
Sat, 20 Jan 11:47 UTCM 4.8 / 593 km - [info] (378 km)South of Fiji Islands[Map]GFZ
Sun, 28 Jan
Sun, 28 Jan 20:45 UTCM 4.5 / 505 km - [info] (276 km)FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Mon, 5 Feb
Mon, 5 Feb 15:00 UTCM 4.5 / 573.8 km - [info] (316 km)- 13km SSW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Wed, 7 Feb
Wed, 7 Feb 12:03 UTCM 5.0 / 593 km - [info] (235 km)Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Fri, 9 Feb
Fri, 9 Feb 23:59 UTCM 5.2 / 593 km - [info] (364 km)Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sun, 11 Feb
Sun, 11 Feb 16:38 UTCM 4.9 / 642 km - [info] (359 km)Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sat, 24 Feb
Sat, 24 Feb 02:16 UTCM 5.0 / 608 km - [info] (357 km)Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sun, 25 Feb
Sun, 25 Feb 14:41 UTCM 4.6 / 589.4 km - [info] (316 km)- 41km SSW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sun, 4 Mar
Sun, 4 Mar 22:18 UTCM 4.5 / 535.5 km - [info] (291 km)- 51km SSE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Fri, 9 Mar
Fri, 9 Mar 16:23 UTCM 5.5 / 551 km - [info] (285 km)Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sun, 25 Mar
Sun, 25 Mar 17:15 UTCM 4.7 / 528.5 km - [info] (248 km)- Fiji region[Map]USGS
Fri, 30 Mar
Fri, 30 Mar 23:24 UTCM 4.6 / 470.7 km - [info] (247 km)- 102km SE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sun, 8 Apr
Sun, 8 Apr 05:16 UTCM 4.6 / 567 km - [info] (376 km)SOUTH OF FIJI ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Thu, 12 Apr
Thu, 12 Apr 03:30 UTCM 4.7 / 611 km - [info] (331 km)FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Fri, 13 Apr
Fri, 13 Apr 15:44 UTCM 4.5 / 498.3 km - [info] (204 km)- 107km ESE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Mon, 16 Apr
Mon, 16 Apr 05:53 UTCM 4.7 / 352.6 km - [info] (239 km)- 165km SSE of Ndoi Island, Fiji
[Map]
USGS
Sun, 13 May
Sun, 13 May 14:05 UTCM 4.7 / 538 km - [info] (255 km)FIJI REGION
[Map]
EMSC
Mon, 14 May
Mon, 14 May 16:54 UTCM 4.5 / 526.1 km - [info] (261 km)- 52km ESE of Ndoi Island, Fiji
[Map]
USGS
Thu, 24 May
Thu, 24 May 14:48 UTCM 5.1 / 489 km - [info] (247 km)Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Sat, 2 Jun
Sat, 2 Jun 11:23 UTCM 4.7 / 530.5 km - [info] (218 km)- 103km E of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sun, 10 Jun
Sun, 10 Jun 23:15 UTCM 4.8 / 604.2 km - [info] (379 km)- 133km SSW of Ndoi Island, Fiji
[Map]
USGS
Sun, 17 Jun
Sun, 17 Jun 13:39 UTCM 4.8 / 592 km - [info] (376 km)South of Fiji Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Sun, 17 Jun 13:41 UTCM 5.4 / 568.3 km - [info] (385 km)- 182km SSW of Ndoi Island, Fiji
[Map]
USGS
Fri, 29 Jun
Fri, 29 Jun 12:03 UTCM 4.6 / 523.7 km - [info] (272 km)- 56km ENE of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Fri, 29 Jun 17:07 UTCM 5.0 / 605 km - [info] (381 km)South of Fiji Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Sun, 1 Jul
Sun, 1 Jul 06:28 UTCM 4.9 / 600.2 km - [info] (294 km)- 37km NE of Ndoi Island, Fiji
[Map]
USGS
Mon, 2 Jul
Mon, 2 Jul 17:15 UTCM 4.9 / 491 km - [info] (277 km)Fiji Islands Region
[Map]
GFZ
Wed, 11 Jul
Wed, 11 Jul 13:25 UTCM 4.6 / 551.2 km - [info] (285 km)- 51km SSE of Ndoi Island, Fiji
[Map]
USGS
Sat, 14 Jul
Sat, 14 Jul 15:49 UTCM 4.8 / 301 km - [info] (145 km) FIJI REGION
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 15 Jul
Sun, 15 Jul 03:19 UTCM 4.7 / 584 km - [info] (384 km)- 184km SSW of Ndoi Island, Fiji
[Map]
USGS
Wed, 29 Aug
Wed, 29 Aug 06:10 UTCM 4.9 / 566.3 km - [info] (311 km)- 32km S of Ndoi Island, Fiji
[Map]
USGS
Tue, 18 Sep
Tue, 18 Sep 12:38 UTCM 5.2 / 528.6 km - [info] (253 km)Fiji Islands Region
[Map]
GeoAu
Wed, 10 Oct
Wed, 10 Oct 11:11 UTCM 4.6 / 580 km - [info] (367 km) SOUTH OF FIJI ISLANDS
[Map]
EMSC
Thu, 11 Oct
Thu, 11 Oct 06:24 UTCM 4.6 / 572 km - [info] (393 km)South of Fiji Islands
[Map]
GFZ
Sun, 21 Oct
Sun, 21 Oct 14:35 UTCM 4.7 / 605.5 km - [info]- 145km SSW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Mon, 22 Oct
Mon, 22 Oct 19:06 UTCM 4.6 / 582.6 km - [info]- 177km SSW of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sun, 28 Oct
Sun, 28 Oct 00:06 UTCM 4.6 / 523 km - [info] FIJI REGION[Map]EMSC
Sat, 3 Nov
Sat, 3 Nov 03:08 UTCM 4.5 / 423 km - [info] (182 km) FIJI REGION
[Map]
EMSC
Wed, 7 Nov
Wed, 7 Nov 02:59 UTCM 4.5 / 601 km - [info] (338 km) FIJI REGION
[Map]
EMSC
Thu, 8 Nov
Thu, 8 Nov 01:18 UTCM 4.8 / 567 km - [info] (272 km)Fiji Islands Region
[Map]
GFZ
Thu, 22 Nov
Thu, 22 Nov 22:13 UTCM 4.8 / 550 km - [info] (285 km)Fiji Islands Region
[Map]
GFZ
Tue, 27 Nov
Tue, 27 Nov 03:13 UTCM 5.0 / 548.3 km - [info]- 164km S of Ndoi Island, Fiji[Map]USGS
Sat, 1 Dec
Sat, 1 Dec 05:49 UTCM 5.0 / 576 km - [info]Fiji Islands Region[Map]GFZ
Wed, 5 Dec
Wed, 5 Dec 06:16 UTCM 4.9 / 540 km - [info] (255 km)Fiji Islands Region
I FELT IT
[Map]
GFZ
Wed, 5 Dec 22:38 UTCM 4.6 / 494 km - [info] (225 km) FIJI REGION
I FELT IT
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 9 Dec
Sun, 9 Dec 12:36 UTCM 4.6 / 497 km - [info] (257 km) FIJI REGION
I FELT IT
[Map]
EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: