Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
13-29 Nov 2018: Volcano Special: Ibu - Dukono - Lokon - Halmahera (Indonesia)
17-30 Nov 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
8-21 Dec 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
27 Dec 18 - 2 Jan 2019: Kilauea Volcano Special - Big Island, Hawaiʻi
6-13 Apr 2019: Pearl of the Aegean - Santorini - Santorini Island, Greece
22-27 Apr 2019: Aegean's Hidden Gem: Isle of Milos - Milos Island (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
11-19 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - 76km SW of Puerto San Jose, Guatemala on Sunday, 7 January 2018

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake  - 76km SW of Puerto San Jose, Guatemala on Sunday, 7 January 2018
Date & time: Sun, 7 Jan 19:01:28 UTC
Magnitude: 4.6
Depth: 44.5 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 13.4213°N / 91.3033°W
Nearest volcano: Fuego (126 km)
Primary data source: USGS
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Tue, 16 Jan
Tue, 16 Jan 20:47 UTCM 3.6 / 17 km - [info] (73 km)OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR[Map]EMSC
Thu, 18 Jan
Thu, 18 Jan 10:05 UTCM 4.0 / 100 km - [info] (100 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 19 Jan
Fri, 19 Jan 18:16 UTCM 3.7 / 34 km - [info] (76 km)OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR[Map]EMSC
Sun, 21 Jan
Sun, 21 Jan 09:45 UTCM 4.2 / 66.1 km - [info] (81 km)- offshore Guatemala[Map]USGS
Mon, 22 Jan
Mon, 22 Jan 19:45 UTCM 3.7 / 17 km - [info] (88 km)OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR[Map]EMSC
Wed, 24 Jan
Wed, 24 Jan 00:23 UTCM 3.9 / 29 km - [info] (94 km)OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR[Map]EMSC
Thu, 1 Feb
Thu, 1 Feb 08:13 UTCM 4.3 / 47 km - [info] (93 km)OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Thu, 1 Feb 18:03 UTCM 3.9 / 31 km - [info] (55 km)OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR[Map]EMSC
Sun, 4 Feb
Sun, 4 Feb 03:38 UTCM 4.4 / 13 km - [info] (166 km)OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 8 Feb
Thu, 8 Feb 12:04 UTCM 4.5 / 86 km - [info] (128 km)OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 10 Feb
Sat, 10 Feb 15:15 UTCM 4.3 / 82.9 km - [info] (48 km)- 10km ESE of Nueva Concepcion, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Fri, 16 Feb
Fri, 16 Feb 11:43 UTCM 4.9 / 50 km - [info] (100 km)Near Coast of Guatemala[Map]GFZ
Sat, 17 Feb
Sat, 17 Feb 10:06 UTCM 4.3 / 77 km - [info] (49 km)OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 3 Mar
Sat, 3 Mar 14:33 UTCM 4.5 / 47 km - [info] (93 km)OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Wed, 7 Mar
Wed, 7 Mar 06:14 UTCM 4.4 / 70.2 km - [info] (67 km)- 23km S of Nueva Concepcion, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Sun, 18 Mar
Sun, 18 Mar 05:01 UTCM 4.1 / 40 km - [info] (75 km)OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR[Map]EMSC
Mon, 19 Mar
Mon, 19 Mar 14:05 UTCM 4.3 / 24 km - [info] (106 km)OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR[Map]EMSC
Tue, 20 Mar
Tue, 20 Mar 02:31 UTCM 3.7 / 19 km - [info] (129 km)OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR[Map]EMSC
Fri, 23 Mar
Fri, 23 Mar 06:40 UTCM 3.5 / 29 km - [info] (74 km)OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR[Map]EMSC
Fri, 23 Mar 17:16 UTCM 4.6 / 99 km - [info]Atitlán (24 km) - Guatemala- 6km SSW of Santa Barbara, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Fri, 23 Mar 20:02 UTCM 4.4 / 34.8 km - [info] (112 km)- 51km S of Champerico, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Sun, 25 Mar
Sun, 25 Mar 18:19 UTCM 3.7 / 30 km - [info] (78 km)OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR[Map]EMSC
Mon, 26 Mar
Mon, 26 Mar 06:23 UTCM 4.0 / 15 km - [info] (163 km)OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 26 Mar 11:17 UTCM 4.1 / 80 km - [info] (159 km)OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 26 Mar 16:28 UTCM 4.0 / 8 km - [info] (147 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 29 Mar
Thu, 29 Mar 01:21 UTCM 4.5 / 73.1 km - [info] (43 km)- 15km NW of La Gomera, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Sun, 1 Apr
Sun, 1 Apr 12:12 UTCM 4.7 / 10 km - [info] (97 km)Near Coast of Chiapas, Mexico
[Map]
GFZ
Tapachula (74.3 km N from epicenter) / MMI II (Very weak shaking) (via app)
Wed, 4 Apr
Wed, 4 Apr 08:15 UTCM 4.1 / 45 km - [info] (60 km)OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR[Map]EMSC
Fri, 6 Apr
Fri, 6 Apr 23:33 UTCM 4.0 / 55 km - [info] (81 km)OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR[Map]EMSC
Sat, 7 Apr
Sat, 7 Apr 08:06 UTCM 4.1 / 45 km - [info]Atitlán (36 km) - Guatemala GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Sun, 8 Apr
Sun, 8 Apr 05:08 UTCM 5.1 / 10 km - [info] (84 km)Near Coast of Guatemala
[Map]
GFZ
San Pedro (127.7 km NE from epicenter) / MMI V (Moderate shaking) (via app)
Jalandhar punjab / not felt
(109.8 km NE from epicenter) / MMI IV (Light shaking) (via app)
Read all reports
Sun, 8 Apr 05:34 UTCM 4.4 / 42 km - [info]Atitlán (99 km) - GuatemalaOFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Sun, 8 Apr 08:19 UTCM 4.4 / 53.6 km - [info]Atitlán (85 km) - Guatemala- 42km SW of Nueva Concepcion, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Wed, 11 Apr
Wed, 11 Apr 23:25 UTCM 4.2 / 35 km - [info] (121 km)- 64km SSW of Puerto Madero, Mexico[Map]USGS
Wed, 18 Apr
Wed, 18 Apr 04:51 UTCM 4.2 / 20 km - [info] (110 km)OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 19 Apr
Thu, 19 Apr 02:36 UTCM 4.1 / 15 km - [info] (167 km)OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Thu, 19 Apr 20:37 UTCM 4.0 / 58 km - [info] (65 km)OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR
[Map]
EMSC
San Salvador / MMI III (Weak shaking)
Mon, 23 Apr
Mon, 23 Apr 13:04 UTCM 4.2 / 27 km - [info] (131 km)OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Wed, 25 Apr
Wed, 25 Apr 22:18 UTCM 4.6 / 186 km - [info]Jumaytepeque (17 km) - Guatemala Guatemala
[Map]
GFZ
Sun, 29 Apr
Sun, 29 Apr 10:23 UTCM 3.8 / 3 km - [info]Apaneca Range (11 km) - El SalvadorEL SALVADOR
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 29 Apr 17:19 UTCM 4.1 / 5 km - [info]Apaneca Range (8 km) - El SalvadorEL SALVADOR
[Map]
EMSC
Mon, 30 Apr
Mon, 30 Apr 04:10 UTCM 4.3 / 75.1 km - [info] (60 km)- 32km S of La Libertad, El Salvador
[Map]
USGS
Mejicanos (El Salvador) (60 km N from epicenter)(no details): Fue leve pero hay que tener precaución (via EMSC)
San Salvador (El Salvador) (56 km N from epicenter)(no details): Fast and strong (via EMSC)
San Salvador (El Salvador) (54 km N from epicenter)(no details): Un solo jalón moderado pero nos puso alerta (via EMSC)
Read all reports
Tue, 1 May
Tue, 1 May 03:59 UTCM 3.7 / 51 km - [info] (82 km)OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR
[Map]
EMSC
Tue, 1 May 05:48 UTCM 3.9 / 46 km - [info] (57 km)OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR
[Map]
EMSC
Fri, 4 May
Fri, 4 May 11:09 UTCM 4.7 / 15 km - [info] (147 km)OFFSHORE GUATEMALA
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 6 May
Sun, 6 May 02:41 UTCM 4.2 / 35 km - [info] (111 km)- 60km SSE of Champerico, Guatemala
[Map]
USGS
Sun, 6 May 07:07 UTCM 4.6 / 27 km - [info] (87 km)OFFSHORE GUATEMALA
[Map]
EMSC
Mon, 7 May
Mon, 7 May 06:57 UTCM 4.3 / 97 km - [info] (76 km)El Salvador[Map]GFZ
Fri, 11 May
Fri, 11 May 12:29 UTCM 4.3 / 52 km - [info] (87 km)OFFSHORE GUATEMALA
[Map]
EMSC
Fri, 18 May
Fri, 18 May 06:04 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info] (121 km) OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: