Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
22-27 Jul 2018: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
22 Jul - 5 Aug 2018: Volcanoes and Cultures - Adventures in the South Sea - Vanuatu (South Sea)
26 Jul - 5 Aug 2018: The Volcanoes of Ambrym - the Grand Traverse - Vanuatu (South Sea)
30 Jul - 13 Aug 2018: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
10-15 Aug 2018: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano, Sunda Strait
15-31 Aug 2018: Volcanoes and Spices - N-Sulawesi + Halmahera (Indonesia)
2-20 Sep 2018: Kamchatka - Mountains of Fire & Ice - Kamchatka peninsula (Russia)
14-29 Sep 2018: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
26 Sep - 1 Oct 2018: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
26 Sep - 10 Oct 2018: Volcanoes and Cultures - Adventures in the South Sea - Vanuatu (South Sea)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Moderate mag. 5.2 earthquake - Northern Molucca Sea on Monday, 8 January 2018

Moderate mag. 5.2 earthquake  - Northern Molucca Sea on Monday, 8 January 2018
Date & time: Mon, 8 Jan 14:09:43 UTC
Magnitude: 5.2
Depth: 1.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 2.697°N / 126.91°E [Map]
Nearest volcano: Tarakan (141 km)
Primary data source: GeoAu
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 10 Jan
Wed, 10 Jan 11:40 UTCM 4.7 / 70 km - [info] (120 km)Northern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Fri, 12 Jan
Fri, 12 Jan 01:49 UTCM 4.6 / 13 km - [info] (119 km)MOLUCCA SEA[Map]EMSC
Sun, 14 Jan
Sun, 14 Jan 21:44 UTCM 4.6 / 87.6 km - [info] (94 km)- 100km ENE of Bitung, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Sun, 11 Feb
Sun, 11 Feb 07:05 UTCM 4.7 / 73 km - [info] (70 km)Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]GFZ
Tue, 13 Feb
Tue, 13 Feb 05:35 UTCM 4.6 / 128 km - [info] (48 km)Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]GFZ
Tue, 13 Feb 11:00 UTCM 3.8 / 35 km - [info] (109 km)227 km S 26[Map]PHILVOLCS
Tue, 13 Feb 11:00 UTCM 4.0 / 81 km - [info] (112 km)264 km S 25[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sat, 17 Feb
Sat, 17 Feb 05:31 UTCM 4.7 / 60 km - [info] (143 km)KEPULAUAN TALAUD, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 26 Feb
Mon, 26 Feb 17:23 UTCM 3.0 / 2 km - [info] (51 km)212 km S 15[Map]PHILVOLCS
Mon, 26 Feb 17:23 UTCM 3.1 / 78 km - [info] (60 km)245 km S 14[Map]PHILVOLCS
Wed, 28 Feb
Wed, 28 Feb 06:48 UTCM 4.0 / 2 km - [info] (165 km)309 km S 33[Map]PHILVOLCS
Wed, 28 Feb 06:48 UTCM 4.5 / 63 km - [info] (104 km)Northern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Sat, 3 Mar
Sat, 3 Mar 18:08 UTCM 4.4 / 100.5 km - [info] (40 km)- 73km W of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Mon, 5 Mar
Mon, 5 Mar 23:19 UTCM 4.6 / 66.4 km - [info] (127 km)- 150km ENE of Bitung, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Wed, 7 Mar
Wed, 7 Mar 15:34 UTCM 4.0 / 108 km - [info] (120 km)360 km S 37[Map]PHILVOLCS
Wed, 7 Mar 15:34 UTCM 4.7 / 79 km - [info] (143 km)Talaud Islands, Indonesia[Map]GFZ
Sun, 11 Mar
Sun, 11 Mar 23:52 UTCM 4.5 / 226 km - [info] (138 km)HALMAHERA, INDONESIA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 17 Mar
Sat, 17 Mar 05:23 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info] (124 km)- 129km N of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Wed, 21 Mar
Wed, 21 Mar 15:33 UTCM 4.6 / 39.3 km - [info] (34 km)- 49km NNW of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Wed, 21 Mar 15:33 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info]Tobaru (12 km)Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]GFZ
Thu, 22 Mar
Thu, 22 Mar 14:24 UTCM 3.9 / 96 km - [info] (48 km)230 km S 10[Map]PHILVOLCS
Mon, 26 Mar
Mon, 26 Mar 12:31 UTCM 3.4 / 54 km - [info] (30 km)254km S 06[Map]PHILVOLCS
Wed, 28 Mar
Wed, 28 Mar 17:13 UTCM 4.7 / 47 km - [info] (120 km)Northern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Thu, 29 Mar
Thu, 29 Mar 11:38 UTCM 3.1 / 6 km - [info] (48 km)242 km S 11[Map]PHILVOLCS
Thu, 29 Mar 20:47 UTCM 3.3 / 44 km - [info] (62 km)209 km S 18[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sat, 31 Mar
Sat, 31 Mar 19:49 UTCM 5.2 / 65 km - [info] (67 km)Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]GFZ
Mon, 2 Apr
Mon, 2 Apr 19:23 UTCM 4.5 / 191 km - [info] (31 km)Northern Molucca Sea
[Map]
GFZ
Tue, 3 Apr
Tue, 3 Apr 09:14 UTCM 5.4 / 88 km - [info] (143 km)Talaud Islands, Indonesia
[Map]
GFZ
Fri, 6 Apr
Fri, 6 Apr 23:18 UTCM 4.6 / 10 km - [info] (190 km)Talaud Islands, Indonesia
[Map]
GFZ
Fri, 6 Apr 23:18 UTCM 4.9 / 60 km - [info] (176 km)KEPULAUAN TALAUD, INDONESIA
[Map]
EMSC
Sat, 7 Apr
Sat, 7 Apr 08:05 UTCM 4.6 / 238.1 km - [info] (132 km)- 127km NNE of Tobelo, Indonesia
[Map]
USGS
Thu, 12 Apr
Thu, 12 Apr 17:46 UTCM 4.4 / 70.7 km - [info] (142 km)- 150km N of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Fri, 13 Apr
Fri, 13 Apr 16:22 UTCM 4.6 / 67.5 km - [info] (152 km)- 160km N of Tobelo, Indonesia
[Map]
USGS
Tue, 17 Apr
Tue, 17 Apr 09:21 UTCM 4.5 / 63 km - [info] (149 km)- 156km N of Tobelo, Indonesia
[Map]
USGS
Mon, 23 Apr
Mon, 23 Apr 21:40 UTCM 4.6 / 54.6 km - [info] (46 km)- 60km NE of Bitung, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Thu, 26 Apr
Thu, 26 Apr 05:02 UTCM 4.5 / 87 km - [info] (121 km)MOLUCCA SEA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 30 Apr
Mon, 30 Apr 16:39 UTCM 4.5 / 235.1 km - [info] (130 km)- 126km NNE of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Tue, 1 May
Tue, 1 May 19:33 UTCM 5.1 / 53 km - [info] (106 km)Northern Molucca Sea[Map]GeoAu
Tue, 1 May 19:33 UTCM 4.4 / 58 km - [info] (116 km)Northern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Tue, 1 May 21:09 UTCM 5.2 / 64 km - [info] (122 km)Northern Molucca Sea[Map]GFZ
Thu, 3 May
Thu, 3 May 09:53 UTCM 5.1 / 200 km - [info] (150 km)Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]GeoAu
Thu, 3 May 09:53 UTCM 4.5 / 217 km - [info] (125 km)Halmahera, Indonesia[Map]GFZ
Tue, 8 May
Tue, 8 May 07:36 UTCM 2.8 / 2 km - [info] (58 km)006 km N 89[Map]PHILVOLCS
Thu, 10 May
Thu, 10 May 22:52 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info] (159 km)Talaud Islands, Indonesia
[Map]
GFZ
Fri, 11 May
Fri, 11 May 14:29 UTCM 4.4 / 138 km - [info] (206 km)384 km S 58[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sat, 12 May
Sat, 12 May 22:07 UTCM 3.3 / 110 km - [info] (116 km)271 km S 26[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sat, 12 May 22:07 UTCM 3.3 / 110 km - [info] (116 km)271 km S 26[Map]PHILVOLCS
Sat, 12 May 22:07 UTCM 4.5 / 34.8 km - [info] (169 km)- 227km NNW of Tobelo, Indonesia[Map]USGS
Mon, 14 May
Mon, 14 May 23:26 UTCM 3.3 / 1 km - [info] (72 km)233 km S 17[Map]PHILVOLCS
Mon, 14 May 23:26 UTCM 3.3 / 1 km - [info] (72 km)233 km S 17[Map]PHILVOLCS

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

 
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: