Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.9 earthquake - Tajikistan on Tuesday, 9 January 2018

Light mag. 4.9 earthquake  - Tajikistan on Tuesday, 9 January 2018
Date & time: Tue, 9 Jan 00:05:50 UTC
Magnitude: 4.9
Depth: 110.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 38.21°N / 72.79°E (Tajikistan)
Nearest volcano: Vakak (617 km)
Primary data source: GFZ
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Belize (13083.1 km NNW from epicenter) [Map] / MMI II (Very weak shaking)
Andijan (Uzbekistan) (300 km NW from epicenter)(no details): ОДИН ТОЛЧОК (via EMSC)
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Mon, 15 Jan 2018
Mon, 15 Jan 02:58 UTCM 4.6 / 51.2 km - [info]- Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Fri, 19 Jan 2018
Fri, 19 Jan 00:20 UTCM 4.2 / 133.7 km - [info]- 15km ENE of Shughnon, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Tue, 6 Feb 2018
Tue, 6 Feb 19:34 UTCM 4.0 / 132.3 km - [info]- 54km NE of Shughnon, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Tue, 6 Feb 21:53 UTCM 4.8 / 104 km - [info] Tajikistan[Map]GFZ
Wed, 14 Feb 2018
Wed, 14 Feb 12:32 UTCM 4.5 / 134.4 km - [info]- 106km WSW of Murghob, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Wed, 14 Feb 23:21 UTCM 4.5 / 132 km - [info]塔吉克斯坦[Map]CEIC
Wed, 28 Feb 2018
Wed, 28 Feb 16:45 UTCM 4.5 / 22.9 km - [info]- 96km SW of Murghob, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Sat, 10 Mar 2018
Sat, 10 Mar 20:53 UTCM 4.1 / 92.8 km - [info]- 34km SSW of Khorugh, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Mon, 2 Apr 2018
Mon, 2 Apr 15:00 UTCM 4.1 / 149 km - [info]- 4km NE of Roshtqal\'a, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Sat, 7 Apr 2018
Sat, 7 Apr 14:41 UTCM 4.6 / 226.1 km - [info]- 37km ENE of Roshtqal\'a, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Sat, 14 Apr 2018
Sat, 14 Apr 12:46 UTCM 4.1 / 106.9 km - [info]- 8km ENE of Roshtqal\'a, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Tue, 17 Apr 2018
Tue, 17 Apr 14:21 UTCM 4.2 / 107.7 km - [info]- 77km ESE of Vanj, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Sun, 22 Apr 2018
Sun, 22 Apr 23:39 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info]Tajikistan-Xinjiang Border Region[Map]GFZ
Thu, 26 Apr 2018
Thu, 26 Apr 21:33 UTCM 4.2 / 147 km - [info] TAJIKISTAN[Map]EMSC
Sun, 6 May 2018
Sun, 6 May 00:01 UTCM 5.0 / 104 km - [info]Afghanistan-Tajikistan Border Region[Map]GFZ
Mon, 7 May 2018
Mon, 7 May 14:01 UTCM 4.2 / 112.7 km - [info]- 18km S of Khorugh, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Tue, 8 May 2018
Tue, 8 May 02:19 UTCM 3.6 / 18 km - [info]塔吉克斯坦[Map]CEIC
Tue, 19 Jun 2018
Tue, 19 Jun 05:04 UTCM 3.9 / 127 km - [info]塔吉克斯坦[Map]CEIC
Fri, 6 Jul 2018
Fri, 6 Jul 09:56 UTCM 4.4 / 116.8 km - [info]- 17km E of Shughnon, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Sun, 8 Jul 2018
Sun, 8 Jul 11:34 UTCM 4.2 / 10 km - [info]Afghanistan-Tajikistan Border Region[Map]GFZ
Thu, 12 Jul 2018
Thu, 12 Jul 19:46 UTCM 4.9 / 113 km - [info]Tajikistan-Xinjiang Border Region[Map]GFZ
Fri, 20 Jul 2018
Fri, 20 Jul 01:27 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info]Tajikistan-Xinjiang Border Region[Map]GFZ
Fri, 3 Aug 2018
Fri, 3 Aug 00:28 UTCM 4.5 / 100 km - [info] HINDU KUSH REGION, AFGHANISTAN[Map]EMSC
Wed, 8 Aug 2018
Wed, 8 Aug 20:19 UTCM 4.2 / 39.6 km - [info]- 56km ENE of Karakul, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Wed, 22 Aug 2018
Wed, 22 Aug 08:00 UTCM 3.8 / 6 km - [info]新疆克孜勒苏州阿克陶县[Map]CEIC
Wed, 22 Aug 08:01 UTCM 3.6 / 7 km - [info]新疆克孜勒苏州阿克陶县[Map]CEIC
Thu, 30 Aug 2018
Thu, 30 Aug 06:59 UTCM 4.3 / 124.2 km - [info]- 17km SE of Shughnon, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Fri, 7 Sep 2018
Fri, 7 Sep 05:42 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info] TAJIKISTAN[Map]EMSC
Sat, 15 Sep 2018
Sat, 15 Sep 03:47 UTCM 4.7 / 166.2 km - [info]- 7km SW of Roshtqal'a, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Sun, 23 Sep 2018
Sun, 23 Sep 15:05 UTCM 4.6 / 205.1 km - [info]- 42km ENE of Roshtqal'a, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Sun, 7 Oct 2018
Sun, 7 Oct 01:35 UTCM 4.5 / 119.7 km - [info]- 17km NW of Roshtqal'a, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Tue, 9 Oct 2018
Tue, 9 Oct 00:49 UTCM 4.6 / 102 km - [info] Tajikistan[Map]GFZ
Fri, 19 Oct 2018
Fri, 19 Oct 13:25 UTCM 5.1 / 115 km - [info]Tajikistan-Xinjiang Border Region[Map]GFZ
Fri, 9 Nov 2018
Fri, 9 Nov 13:01 UTCM 3.0 / 18 km - [info]新疆克孜勒苏州阿克陶县[Map]CEIC
Sun, 11 Nov 2018
Sun, 11 Nov 02:32 UTCM 4.2 / 147.5 km - [info]- 97km W of Murghob, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Tue, 11 Dec 17:04 UTCM 4.6 / 165 km - [info]- 19km E of Murghob, Tajikistan[Map]USGS
Thu, 13 Dec 2018
Thu, 13 Dec 05:47 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info]Southern Xinjiang, China[Map]GFZ
Thu, 20 Dec 2018
Thu, 20 Dec 11:08 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info]Southern Xinjiang, China[Map]GFZ
Thu, 20 Dec 11:13 UTCM 3.0 / 10 km - [info]新疆克孜勒苏州阿克陶县[Map]CEIC
Thu, 20 Dec 11:49 UTCM 4.3 / 8 km - [info]新疆克孜勒苏州阿克陶县[Map]CEIC
Sat, 22 Dec 2018
Sat, 22 Dec 00:32 UTCM 4.4 / 10 km - [info]Afghanistan-Tajikistan Border Region[Map]GFZ
Sat, 22 Dec 14:11 UTCM 3.8 / 1 km - [info] TAJIKISTAN[Map]EMSC
Sun, 30 Dec 2018
Sun, 30 Dec 04:48 UTCM 4.2 / 125.7 km - [info]- 34km WNW of Murghob, Tajikistan[Map]USGS

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: