Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.3 earthquake - 24km SSW of Shushtar, Iran on Tuesday, 9 January 2018

Light mag. 4.3 earthquake  - 24km SSW of Shushtar, Iran on Tuesday, 9 January 2018
Date & time: Tue, 9 Jan 23:12:54 UTC
Magnitude: 4.3
Depth: 10.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 31.8341°N / 48.7839°E (Iran)
Nearest volcano: Damavand (551 km)
Primary data source: USGS
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Mon, 15 Jan 2018
Mon, 15 Jan 22:20 UTCM 3.5 / 18 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Wed, 17 Jan 2018
Wed, 17 Jan 13:52 UTCM 3.5 / 10 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Mon, 12 Feb 2018
Mon, 12 Feb 09:51 UTCM 3.9 / 8 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Fri, 16 Feb 2018
Fri, 16 Feb 14:24 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sun, 18 Feb 2018
Sun, 18 Feb 18:59 UTCM 3.5 / 10 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Tue, 27 Mar 2018
Tue, 27 Mar 23:07 UTCM 4.4 / 10 km - [info]- 21km SW of Shushtar, Iran[Map]USGS
Tue, 27 Mar 23:29 UTCM 3.7 / 8 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Tue, 27 Mar 23:55 UTCM 4.2 / 33 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Wed, 28 Mar 2018
Wed, 28 Mar 00:00 UTCM 3.6 / 9 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Wed, 28 Mar 05:04 UTCM 3.9 / 10 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Wed, 28 Mar 11:47 UTCM 4.0 / 12 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Wed, 28 Mar 11:49 UTCM 3.8 / 8 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Thu, 29 Mar 2018
Thu, 29 Mar 14:08 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sat, 31 Mar 2018
Sat, 31 Mar 12:53 UTCM 3.9 / 10 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Wed, 4 Apr 2018
Wed, 4 Apr 21:31 UTCM 3.6 / 10 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sun, 8 Apr 2018
Sun, 8 Apr 19:35 UTCM 3.9 / 10 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Wed, 11 Apr 2018
Wed, 11 Apr 08:06 UTCM 3.5 / 13 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Fri, 20 Apr 2018
Fri, 20 Apr 00:00 UTCM 3.8 / 10 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sun, 20 May 11:22 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Tue, 22 May 2018
Tue, 22 May 14:48 UTCM 3.8 / 10 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Wed, 23 May 2018
Wed, 23 May 13:43 UTCM 3.9 / 9 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Wed, 23 May 13:47 UTCM 3.9 / 10 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Thu, 24 May 2018
Thu, 24 May 02:24 UTCM 3.9 / 7 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sat, 26 May 2018
Sat, 26 May 14:15 UTCM 4.3 / 8 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sat, 26 May 14:17 UTCM 3.6 / 6 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sat, 26 May 14:24 UTCM 4.2 / 19 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sat, 26 May 14:28 UTCM 3.5 / 8 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sun, 27 May 2018
Sun, 27 May 01:39 UTCM 4.1 / 24 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sun, 27 May 02:04 UTCM 3.5 / 11 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sun, 27 May 04:45 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info]- 16km SE of Shush, Iran[Map]USGS
Sun, 27 May 07:53 UTCM 3.7 / 19 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Tue, 29 May 2018
Tue, 29 May 04:39 UTCM 3.8 / 15 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Wed, 30 May 2018
Wed, 30 May 08:34 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info]Western Iran[Map]GFZ
Fri, 1 Jun 2018
Fri, 1 Jun 07:20 UTCM 3.8 / 12 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sun, 3 Jun 2018
Sun, 3 Jun 20:58 UTCM 3.5 / 10 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Mon, 4 Jun 2018
Mon, 4 Jun 17:38 UTCM 4.0 / 7 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sat, 9 Jun 2018
Sat, 9 Jun 15:26 UTCM 3.7 / 23 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Mon, 11 Jun 2018
Mon, 11 Jun 23:43 UTCM 3.7 / 10 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sat, 30 Jun 2018
Sat, 30 Jun 11:27 UTCM 3.6 / 6 km - [info]CENTRAL IRAN[Map]EMSC
Fri, 6 Jul 2018
Fri, 6 Jul 17:07 UTCM 3.7 / 7 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Wed, 11 Jul 2018
Wed, 11 Jul 23:35 UTCM 4.1 / 24 km - [info] IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Sun, 15 Jul 2018
Sun, 15 Jul 23:42 UTCM 3.7 / 18 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Mon, 13 Aug 2018
Mon, 13 Aug 06:19 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Thu, 16 Aug 2018
Thu, 16 Aug 01:33 UTCM 3.5 / 24 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Thu, 16 Aug 02:36 UTCM 3.7 / 22 km - [info]SOUTHERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sun, 19 Aug 2018
Sun, 19 Aug 05:32 UTCM 3.7 / 10 km - [info] IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Tue, 18 Sep 2018
Tue, 18 Sep 15:34 UTCM 3.8 / 20 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Tue, 2 Oct 2018
Tue, 2 Oct 02:42 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info]Northern and Central Iran[Map]GFZ
Tue, 2 Oct 03:10 UTCM 3.7 / 7 km - [info]CENTRAL IRAN[Map]EMSC
Tue, 2 Oct 04:43 UTCM 3.7 / 7 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: