Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
13-29 Nov 2018: Volcano Special: Ibu - Dukono - Lokon - Halmahera (Indonesia)
17-30 Nov 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
8-21 Dec 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
27 Dec 18 - 2 Jan 2019: Kilauea Volcano Special - Big Island, Hawaiʻi
6-13 Apr 2019: Pearl of the Aegean - Santorini - Santorini Island, Greece
22-27 Apr 2019: Aegean's Hidden Gem: Isle of Milos - Milos Island (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
11-19 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - 73km SSW of Tecpan de Galeana, Mexico on Saturday, 13 January 2018

Light mag. 4.1 earthquake  - 73km SSW of Tecpan de Galeana, Mexico on Saturday, 13 January 2018
Date & time: Sat, 13 Jan 20:08:36 UTC
Magnitude: 4.1
Depth: 10.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 16.6125°N / 100.8917°W
Nearest volcano: Nevado de Toluca (302 km)
Primary data source: USGS
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 17 Jan
Wed, 17 Jan 23:24 UTCM 4.3 / 46 km - [info] (222 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 23 Jan
Tue, 23 Jan 09:16 UTCM 4.1 / 41 km - [info] (229 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 24 Jan
Wed, 24 Jan 05:45 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info] (277 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 29 Jan
Mon, 29 Jan 17:41 UTCM 4.6 / 16 km - [info] (241 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 4 Feb
Sun, 4 Feb 05:27 UTCM 4.3 / 13 km - [info] (269 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 8 Feb
Thu, 8 Feb 14:44 UTCM 4.3 / 35 km - [info] (232 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 10 Feb
Sat, 10 Feb 11:41 UTCM 4.2 / 31 km - [info] (229 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 15 Feb
Thu, 15 Feb 10:27 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info] (296 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 17 Feb
Sat, 17 Feb 14:57 UTCM 4.3 / 12 km - [info] (298 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 18 Feb
Sun, 18 Feb 20:54 UTCM 4.2 / 54 km - [info] (231 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 26 Feb
Mon, 26 Feb 03:38 UTCM 4.0 / 19 km - [info] (261 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 26 Feb 22:44 UTCM 4.0 / 13 km - [info] (348 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 1 Mar
Thu, 1 Mar 15:41 UTCM 5.0 / 15 km - [info] (314 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 13 Mar
Tue, 13 Mar 23:14 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info] (292 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 3 Apr
Tue, 3 Apr 21:57 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info] (248 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 10 Apr
Tue, 10 Apr 01:34 UTCM 4.0 / 11 km - [info] (296 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 15 Apr
Sun, 15 Apr 05:54 UTCM 4.5 / 5 km - [info] (270 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Ciudad de México (Mexico) (323 km NE from epicenter)(no details): No sé sintió (via EMSC)
Ciudad de México (Mexico) (317 km NE from epicenter)(no details): Afortunadamente nada. (via EMSC)
Benito Juárez (Mexico) (309 km NE from epicenter)(no details): No se sintió (via EMSC)
Read all reports
Wed, 2 May
Wed, 2 May 00:18 UTCM 4.1 / 5 km - [info] (261 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 5 May
Sat, 5 May 21:56 UTCM 4.0 / 35 km - [info] (253 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 8 May
Tue, 8 May 17:34 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info] (337 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 10 May
Thu, 10 May 09:50 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info] (253 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 14 May
Mon, 14 May 00:49 UTCM 4.3 / 9 km - [info] (297 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
(428.6 km NE from epicenter) / MMI II (Very weak shaking) (via app)
Mon, 14 May 15:14 UTCM 4.2 / 24 km - [info] (254 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 19 May
Sat, 19 May 00:27 UTCM 4.1 / 39 km - [info] (238 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 28 May
Mon, 28 May 19:09 UTCM 4.2 / 42 km - [info] (230 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 29 May
Tue, 29 May 05:05 UTCM 4.0 / 28 km - [info] (242 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 16 Jun
Sat, 16 Jun 17:23 UTCM 4.2 / 30 km - [info] (239 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 17 Jun
Sun, 17 Jun 22:20 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info] (309 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 24 Jun
Sun, 24 Jun 19:43 UTCM 4.4 / 34 km - [info] (247 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 4 Jul
Wed, 4 Jul 03:36 UTCM 4.1 / 12 km - [info] (244 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 19 Jul
Thu, 19 Jul 09:47 UTCM 4.3 / 43 km - [info] (222 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Sat, 21 Jul
Sat, 21 Jul 01:29 UTCM 4.7 / 10 km - [info] (327 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Mon, 23 Jul
Mon, 23 Jul 00:25 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info] (331 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 12 Aug
Sun, 12 Aug 05:13 UTCM 4.3 / 7 km - [info] (305 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Sun, 12 Aug 14:42 UTCM 4.6 / 35 km - [info] (230 km)- 0km ENE of Tecpan de Galeana, Mexico
[Map]
USGS
Cd de México (300.2 km NNE from epicenter) / MMI IV (Light shaking): Objetos colgantes se movieron ligeramente se alcanzó a percibir (via app)
Cd de México (300.2 km NNE from epicenter) / MMI IV (Light shaking): Objetos colgantes se movieron ligeramente se alcanzó a percibir (via app)
Ciudad de México (Mexico) (278 km NE from epicenter)(no details): Leve en Azcapotzalco CDMX (via EMSC)
Mon, 13 Aug
Mon, 13 Aug 01:30 UTCM 4.2 / 5 km - [info] (257 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 26 Aug
Sun, 26 Aug 15:08 UTCM 4.0 / 6 km - [info] (317 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 27 Aug
Mon, 27 Aug 16:57 UTCM 4.1 / 45 km - [info] (217 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Acapulco de Juárez Guerrero México (7.5 km SW from epicenter) / MMI IV (Light shaking) (via app)
Sun, 2 Sep
Sun, 2 Sep 12:04 UTCM 4.1 / 49 km - [info] (229 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 11 Sep
Tue, 11 Sep 19:28 UTCM 4.0 / 47 km - [info] (227 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
(274.2 km NNE from epicenter) / MMI III (Weak shaking) (via app)
Wed, 19 Sep
Wed, 19 Sep 09:14 UTCM 4.0 / 48 km - [info] (233 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 21 Sep
Fri, 21 Sep 16:38 UTCM 4.3 / 12 km - [info] (229 km)OFFSHORE MICHOACAN, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 24 Sep
Mon, 24 Sep 16:41 UTCM 4.2 / 48 km - [info] (236 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
I FELT IT
[Map]EMSC
Mon, 24 Sep 19:26 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info] (331 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 25 Sep
Tue, 25 Sep 04:48 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info] (290 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 2 Oct
Tue, 2 Oct 02:07 UTCM 4.5 / 21 km - [info] (229 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Ciudad de México (305.3 km NE from epicenter) / MMI II (Very weak shaking): Me avisó la alerta del app del celular me percate de un movimiento muy ligero de objetos colgantes (via app)
Thu, 4 Oct
Thu, 4 Oct 08:08 UTCM 4.2 / 34 km - [info] (252 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
(100.2 km NNW from epicenter) / MMI IV (Light shaking) (via app)
Sat, 13 Oct
Sat, 13 Oct 11:24 UTCM 4.1 / 5 km - [info] (259 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
I FELT IT
[Map]
EMSC
Acapulco de Juárez (Mexico) (18 km NE from epicenter)(no details): Renato Cuauhtémoc Ursúa Hernández:❗ Sismo Detectado - Intensidad Ligero - cerca de Acapulco, Guerrero Costa Central (33) 13 Oct 18 06:25:13 (via EMSC)
Acapulco de Juárez (Mexico) (18 km NE from epicenter)(no details): Renato Cuauhtémoc Ursúa Hernández:❗ Sismo Detectado - Intensidad Ligero - cerca de Acapulco, Guerrero Costa Central (33) 13 Oct 18 06:25:13 (via EMSC)

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: