Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
16-20 Jan 2019: Etna Volcano Special - Etna volcano
9-22 Feb 2019: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
11-19 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
8-16 Jun 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
14-30 Jun 2019: Volcanoes and Spices - N-Sulawesi + Halmahera (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - GUERRERO, MEXICO on Tuesday, 23 January 2018

Light mag. 4.1 earthquake  - GUERRERO, MEXICO on Tuesday, 23 January 2018
Date & time: Tue, 23 Jan 09:16:59 UTC
Magnitude: 4.1
Depth: 41.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 17.07°N / 100.09°W
Nearest volcano: Nevado de Toluca (229 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
(277.2 km NNE from epicenter) [Map] / MMI III (Weak shaking) (via app)
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 24 Jan
Wed, 24 Jan 05:45 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info] (277 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 27 Jan
Sat, 27 Jan 00:02 UTCM 4.2 / 29 km - [info] (313 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 29 Jan
Mon, 29 Jan 17:41 UTCM 4.6 / 16 km - [info] (241 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 4 Feb
Sun, 4 Feb 05:27 UTCM 4.3 / 13 km - [info] (269 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 7 Feb
Wed, 7 Feb 04:43 UTCM 4.2 / 9 km - [info] (322 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 8 Feb
Thu, 8 Feb 14:44 UTCM 4.3 / 35 km - [info] (232 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 10 Feb
Sat, 10 Feb 11:41 UTCM 4.2 / 31 km - [info] (229 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 15 Feb
Thu, 15 Feb 10:27 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info] (296 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 17 Feb
Sat, 17 Feb 06:23 UTCM 4.2 / 12 km - [info] (300 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 17 Feb 09:07 UTCM 4.4 / 17 km - [info] (322 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 17 Feb 14:57 UTCM 4.3 / 12 km - [info] (298 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 17 Feb 19:42 UTCM 4.4 / 8 km - [info] (319 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 18 Feb
Sun, 18 Feb 03:57 UTCM 4.0 / 15 km - [info] (307 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 18 Feb 07:17 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info] (302 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 18 Feb 20:54 UTCM 4.2 / 54 km - [info] (231 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 19 Feb
Mon, 19 Feb 06:05 UTCM 4.2 / 12 km - [info] (309 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 23 Feb
Fri, 23 Feb 20:39 UTCM 4.0 / 6 km - [info] (288 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 25 Feb
Sun, 25 Feb 15:05 UTCM 4.0 / 12 km - [info] (309 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 25 Feb 15:18 UTCM 4.3 / 11 km - [info] (311 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 26 Feb
Mon, 26 Feb 03:38 UTCM 4.0 / 19 km - [info] (261 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 27 Feb
Tue, 27 Feb 15:21 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info] (319 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 28 Feb
Wed, 28 Feb 18:42 UTCM 4.3 / 21 km - [info] (295 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 1 Mar
Thu, 1 Mar 15:41 UTCM 5.0 / 15 km - [info] (314 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 2 Mar
Fri, 2 Mar 04:37 UTCM 4.7 / 16 km - [info] (315 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 5 Mar
Mon, 5 Mar 14:30 UTCM 4.4 / 13 km - [info] (312 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 5 Mar 21:28 UTCM 4.1 / 12 km - [info] (313 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 6 Mar
Tue, 6 Mar 12:40 UTCM 4.0 / 16 km - [info] (301 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Tue, 13 Mar
Tue, 13 Mar 23:14 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info] (292 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 17 Mar
Sat, 17 Mar 05:35 UTCM 4.5 / 41 km - [info] (217 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 20 Mar
Tue, 20 Mar 16:44 UTCM 4.6 / 85 km - [info] (312 km)Near Coast of Guerrero, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Tue, 20 Mar 17:46 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info] (290 km)Near Coast of Guerrero, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Mon, 26 Mar
Mon, 26 Mar 12:58 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info] (317 km)OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 28 Mar
Wed, 28 Mar 00:00 UTCM 4.1 / 5 km - [info] (275 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 30 Mar
Fri, 30 Mar 20:43 UTCM 4.0 / 12 km - [info] (309 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 3 Apr
Tue, 3 Apr 00:40 UTCM 4.1 / 13 km - [info] (310 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 3 Apr 01:45 UTCM 4.1 / 14 km - [info] (301 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 3 Apr 21:57 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info] (248 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 10 Apr
Tue, 10 Apr 01:34 UTCM 4.0 / 11 km - [info] (296 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 15 Apr
Sun, 15 Apr 05:54 UTCM 4.5 / 5 km - [info] (270 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
Ciudad de México (Mexico) (323 km NE from epicenter)(no details): No sé sintió (via EMSC)
Ciudad de México (Mexico) (317 km NE from epicenter)(no details): Afortunadamente nada. (via EMSC)
Benito Juárez (Mexico) (309 km NE from epicenter)(no details): No se sintió (via EMSC)
Read all reports
Sat, 28 Apr
Sat, 28 Apr 17:54 UTCM 4.0 / 41 km - [info] (215 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 2 May
Wed, 2 May 00:18 UTCM 4.1 / 5 km - [info] (261 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 4 May
Fri, 4 May 15:16 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info] (278 km)Near Coast of Guerrero, Mexico
[Map]
GFZ
Cancun aeroporte / MMI IV (Light shaking)
Sat, 5 May
Sat, 5 May 21:56 UTCM 4.0 / 35 km - [info] (253 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 6 May
Sun, 6 May 05:43 UTCM 4.0 / 11 km - [info] (302 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 7 May
Mon, 7 May 08:27 UTCM 4.1 / 13 km - [info] (310 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 10 May
Thu, 10 May 09:50 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info] (253 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 14 May
Mon, 14 May 00:49 UTCM 4.3 / 9 km - [info] (297 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO
[Map]
EMSC
(428.6 km NE from epicenter) / MMI II (Very weak shaking) (via app)
Mon, 14 May 15:14 UTCM 4.2 / 24 km - [info] (254 km)OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 18 May
Fri, 18 May 08:56 UTCM 4.1 / 9 km - [info] (304 km)OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 19 May
Sat, 19 May 00:27 UTCM 4.1 / 39 km - [info] (238 km)GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: