Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.8 earthquake - IRAK REVISE01 (2018.02.24 on Saturday, 24 February 2018

Light mag. 4.8 earthquake  - IRAK REVISE01 (2018.02.24 on Saturday, 24 February 2018
Date & time: Sat, 24 Feb 16:26:00 UTC
Magnitude: 4.8
Depth: 15.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 34.1732°N / 44.2135°E (Iraq)
Nearest volcano: Sharat Kovakab (402 km)
Primary data source: KOERI-RETMC
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
(75.9 km SE from epicenter) [Map] / not felt (via app)
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 28 Feb 2018
Wed, 28 Feb 10:29 UTCM 3.8 / 20 km - [info]IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Sat, 3 Mar 2018
Sat, 3 Mar 13:38 UTCM 3.6 / 8 km - [info]IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Sun, 11 Mar 2018
Sun, 11 Mar 09:48 UTCM 3.6 / 16 km - [info]IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Mon, 19 Mar 2018
Mon, 19 Mar 10:39 UTCM 3.7 / 10 km - [info]IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Tue, 20 Mar 2018
Tue, 20 Mar 02:27 UTCM 3.8 / 2 km - [info]IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Wed, 21 Mar 2018
Wed, 21 Mar 03:13 UTCM 3.5 / 8 km - [info]IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Wed, 21 Mar 07:35 UTCM 4.0 / 20 km - [info]IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Wed, 28 Mar 2018
Wed, 28 Mar 00:27 UTCM 3.9 / 2 km - [info]IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Wed, 28 Mar 01:19 UTCM 3.7 / 2 km - [info]IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Wed, 28 Mar 12:10 UTCM 3.5 / 14 km - [info]IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Sun, 1 Apr 2018
Sun, 1 Apr 08:35 UTCM 5.0 / 10 km - [info]Western Iran[Map]GFZ
Sun, 1 Apr 16:01 UTCM 3.5 / 8 km - [info]IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Mon, 2 Apr 2018
Mon, 2 Apr 03:03 UTCM 4.2 / 10 km - [info]- 16km SW of Sarpol-e Zahab, Iran[Map]USGS
Wed, 4 Apr 2018
Wed, 4 Apr 21:47 UTCM 3.6 / 12 km - [info]IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Sun, 22 Apr 2018
Sun, 22 Apr 18:48 UTCM 3.6 / 10 km - [info]IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Mon, 30 Apr 2018
Mon, 30 Apr 22:13 UTCM 4.0 / 8 km - [info]IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Mon, 30 Apr 22:14 UTCM 3.9 / 16 km - [info]IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Sat, 5 May 2018
Sat, 5 May 10:49 UTCM 3.8 / 9 km - [info]IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Mon, 7 May 2018
Mon, 7 May 16:04 UTCM 3.7 / 10 km - [info]IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Wed, 9 May 2018
Wed, 9 May 10:37 UTCM 3.8 / 10 km - [info]IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Tue, 22 May 2018
Tue, 22 May 00:31 UTCM 4.4 / 10 km - [info]Iran-Iraq Border Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 22 May 11:36 UTCM 4.3 / 20 km - [info] IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Wed, 6 Jun 2018
Wed, 6 Jun 00:07 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info]- 25km ENE of Sarpol-e Zahab, Iran[Map]USGS
Wed, 20 Jun 2018
Wed, 20 Jun 18:47 UTCM 3.9 / 10 km - [info] IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Sat, 23 Jun 2018
Sat, 23 Jun 21:37 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info]Iran-Iraq Border Region[Map]GFZ
Tue, 26 Jun 2018
Tue, 26 Jun 17:57 UTCM 4.7 / 10.2 km - [info]- 34km NE of Sarpol-e Zahab, Iran[Map]USGS
Tue, 26 Jun 22:13 UTCM 4.2 / 10 km - [info]Iran-Iraq Border Region[Map]GFZ
Sat, 30 Jun 2018
Sat, 30 Jun 06:08 UTCM 3.7 / 8 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Tue, 3 Jul 2018
Tue, 3 Jul 21:46 UTCM 3.7 / 8 km - [info] IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Thu, 5 Jul 2018
Thu, 5 Jul 08:38 UTCM 3.5 / 10 km - [info] IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Thu, 5 Jul 17:16 UTCM 3.9 / 12 km - [info] IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Sun, 15 Jul 2018
Sun, 15 Jul 13:40 UTCM 3.7 / 11 km - [info] IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Sun, 22 Jul 2018
Sun, 22 Jul 10:07 UTCM 5.7 / 10 km - [info]Western Iran[Map]GFZ
Mon, 23 Jul 2018
Mon, 23 Jul 00:59 UTCM 4.1 / 75 km - [info]Western Iran[Map]GFZ
Tue, 24 Jul 2018
Tue, 24 Jul 19:58 UTCM 4.5 / 5 km - [info] IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Wed, 25 Jul 2018
Wed, 25 Jul 01:47 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info]Western Iran[Map]GFZ
Thu, 26 Jul 2018
Thu, 26 Jul 15:51 UTCM 3.9 / 10 km - [info] IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Thu, 2 Aug 2018
Thu, 2 Aug 11:45 UTCM 3.5 / 10 km - [info] IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Sun, 5 Aug 2018
Sun, 5 Aug 13:59 UTCM 3.5 / 10 km - [info] IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Sat, 11 Aug 2018
Sat, 11 Aug 19:10 UTCM 3.6 / 10 km - [info] IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Mon, 13 Aug 2018
Mon, 13 Aug 10:18 UTCM 3.9 / 8 km - [info] IRAN-IRAQ BORDER REGION[Map]EMSC
Wed, 15 Aug 2018
Wed, 15 Aug 02:32 UTCM 3.6 / 2 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sat, 25 Aug 2018
Sat, 25 Aug 22:13 UTCM 6.0 / 10 km - [info]Western Iran[Map]GFZ
Sun, 26 Aug 2018 (6 earthquakes)
Sun, 26 Aug 00:11 UTCM 3.7 / 10 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sun, 26 Aug 05:18 UTCM 4.0 / 2 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sun, 26 Aug 08:25 UTCM 4.1 / 20 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sun, 26 Aug 12:33 UTCM 3.7 / 8 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sun, 26 Aug 17:38 UTCM 3.8 / 2 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Sun, 26 Aug 18:44 UTCM 3.9 / 2 km - [info]WESTERN IRAN[Map]EMSC
Wed, 29 Aug 2018
Wed, 29 Aug 05:34 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info]- western Iran[Map]USGS

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: