Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours:
26 Sep - 1 Oct 2018: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
26 Sep - 10 Oct 2018: Volcanoes and Cultures - Adventures in the South Sea - Vanuatu (South Sea)
30 Sep - 7 Oct 2018: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
30 Sep - 10 Oct 2018: The Volcanoes of Ambrym - the Grand Traverse - Vanuatu (South Sea)
6-13 Oct 2018: Pearl of the Aegean - Santorini - Santorini Island, Greece
12-17 Oct 2018: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano, Sunda Strait
13-20 Oct 2018: Almonds, olives and volcanoes - Nisyros Island, Greece
13-29 Nov 2018: Volcano Special: Ibu - Dukono - Lokon - Halmahera (Indonesia)
17-30 Nov 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
8-21 Dec 2018: Desert, salt and volcanoes - Danakil desert (Ethiopia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - 3km NNE of Jinotepe, Nicaragua on Monday, 12 March 2018

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake  - 3km NNE of Jinotepe, Nicaragua on Monday, 12 March 2018
Date & time: Mon, 12 Mar 06:44:11 UTC
Magnitude: 4.6
Depth: 162.1 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 11.8771°N / 86.1851°W [Map]
Nearest volcano: Masaya (12 km)
Primary data source: USGS
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Mon, 12 Mar
Mon, 12 Mar 14:28 UTCM 3.9 / 14 km - [info] (105 km)85 km al Suroeste de Rivas, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Mon, 12 Mar 18:44 UTCM 4.6 / 162 km - [info]Masaya (12 km)27 km al Sur de Managua, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Thu, 22 Mar
Thu, 22 Mar 18:41 UTCM 4.0 / 20 km - [info] (112 km)NEAR COAST OF NICARAGUA[Map]EMSC
Fri, 23 Mar
Fri, 23 Mar 06:41 UTCM 4.0 / 20 km - [info] (112 km)98 km al Oeste de Rivas, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Sat, 24 Mar
Sat, 24 Mar 09:26 UTCM 4.4 / 42 km - [info] (108 km)- 73km WSW of Masachapa, Nicaragua[Map]USGS
Tue, 27 Mar
Tue, 27 Mar 11:35 UTCM 3.5 / 140 km - [info]Zapatera (26 km)24 km al Noroeste de Rivas, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Wed, 28 Mar
Wed, 28 Mar 16:05 UTCM 4.6 / 35.8 km - [info] (123 km)- 89km WSW of Masachapa, Nicaragua[Map]USGS
Mon, 2 Apr
Mon, 2 Apr 20:29 UTCM 4.5 / 38.3 km - [info] (116 km)- 84km SW of Corinto, Nicaragua[Map]USGS
Fri, 6 Apr
Fri, 6 Apr 03:52 UTCM 3.2 / 6 km - [info] (80 km) NICARAGUA[Map]EMSC
Sat, 7 Apr
Sat, 7 Apr 13:26 UTCM 4.7 / 59 km - [info]Masaya (68 km)Near Coast of Nicaragua[Map]GFZ
Sat, 7 Apr 18:03 UTCM 4.0 / 12 km - [info] (37 km)24 km al Suroeste de La Cruz, Guanacaste.[Map]RSN
Tue, 24 Apr
Tue, 24 Apr 02:29 UTCM 5.3 / 65 km - [info] (59 km)Near Coast of Nicaragua[Map]GFZ
Wed, 25 Apr
Wed, 25 Apr 13:07 UTCM 4.6 / 6 km - [info]Masaya (124 km)128 km al Oeste de Rivas, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Thu, 26 Apr
Thu, 26 Apr 14:17 UTCM 3.3 / 11 km - [info] (165 km)171 km al Suroeste de Managua, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Fri, 27 Apr
Fri, 27 Apr 02:10 UTCM 3.8 / 4 km - [info] (111 km)91 km al Suroeste de Rivas, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Sat, 28 Apr
Sat, 28 Apr 01:48 UTCM 4.7 / 65 km - [info] (56 km)Near Coast of Nicaragua[Map]GFZ
Sat, 28 Apr 06:16 UTCM 4.4 / 78 km - [info]Masaya (52 km)NEAR COAST OF NICARAGUA[Map]EMSC
Sun, 29 Apr
Sun, 29 Apr 10:34 UTCM 3.5 / 49 km - [info] (70 km)OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR[Map]EMSC
Sun, 6 May
Sun, 6 May 05:19 UTCM 4.6 / 147 km - [info]Masaya (16 km)Near Coast of Nicaragua
[Map]
GFZ
Thu, 10 May
Thu, 10 May 12:21 UTCM 4.4 / 31 km - [info] (51 km)56 km al Oeste de Rivas, Nicaragua.
[Map]
RSN
Thu, 17 May
Thu, 17 May 07:41 UTCM 3.1 / 11 km - [info] (106 km)106 km al Oeste de Blufields, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Sat, 26 May
Sat, 26 May 08:09 UTCM 4.3 / 15 km - [info] (111 km)76 km al Oeste de San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Tue, 29 May
Tue, 29 May 07:31 UTCM 3.9 / 36 km - [info] (82 km) OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR
[Map]
EMSC
Thu, 31 May
Thu, 31 May 18:47 UTCM 3.4 / 7 km - [info] (108 km)76 km al Oeste de San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Fri, 1 Jun
Fri, 1 Jun 12:44 UTCM 4.4 / 49.1 km - [info] (94 km)- near the coast of Nicaragua
[Map]
USGS
Sat, 2 Jun
Sat, 2 Jun 17:52 UTCM 3.5 / 51 km - [info] (67 km)[Map]INSIVUMEH
Sat, 2 Jun 17:55 UTCM 4.3 / 56.6 km - [info] (105 km)- 94km SW of Jiquilillo, Nicaragua
[Map]
USGS
Tue, 5 Jun
Tue, 5 Jun 05:23 UTCM 4.0 / 15 km - [info] (95 km)98 km al Suroeste de Leon, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Wed, 6 Jun
Wed, 6 Jun 23:38 UTCM 4.4 / 51 km - [info] (100 km)[Map]INSIVUMEH
Fri, 8 Jun
Fri, 8 Jun 22:36 UTCM 4.8 / 238 km - [info] (111 km)
[Map]
INSIVUMEH
Fri, 8 Jun 22:36 UTCM 4.8 / 185 km - [info]Maderas (21 km)
[Map]
INSIVUMEH
Sat, 9 Jun
Sat, 9 Jun 22:37 UTCM 3.5 / 15 km - [info] (55 km)NEAR COAST OF NICARAGUA
[Map]
EMSC
Wed, 20 Jun
Wed, 20 Jun 07:13 UTCM 3.5 / 34 km - [info] (56 km)41 km al Oeste de San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Sat, 23 Jun
Sat, 23 Jun 23:17 UTCM 4.4 / 10 km - [info] (112 km)NEAR COAST OF NICARAGUA[Map]EMSC
Mon, 2 Jul
Mon, 2 Jul 16:37 UTCM 4.3 / 18.6 km - [info] (131 km)- 93km SSW of Masachapa, Nicaragua[Map]USGS
Sat, 21 Jul
Sat, 21 Jul 08:59 UTCM 4.0 / 19 km - [info] (123 km)97 km al Oeste de San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua.
[Map]
RSN
Mon, 23 Jul
Mon, 23 Jul 23:25 UTCM 4.3 / 52.5 km - [info] (65 km)- 44km SSW of Jiquilillo, Nicaragua[Map]USGS
Tue, 24 Jul
Tue, 24 Jul 10:51 UTCM 4.8 / 82 km - [info] (66 km)Off Coast of Central America
[Map]
GFZ
(68.6 km NNW from epicenter) / MMI V (Moderate shaking): Muy Sensible Para Toda La Zona Costaera al Oriente de El Salvador. Desperto a la Mayoria de la Poblacion. a las 4:51 am. (via app)
Thu, 26 Jul
Thu, 26 Jul 11:49 UTCM 2.8 / 149 km - [info] (43 km)23 km al Oeste de Rivas, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Fri, 27 Jul
Fri, 27 Jul 20:42 UTCM 5.0 / 81 km - [info] (50 km)Near Coast of Nicaragua
[Map]
GFZ
san salvador / MMI IV (Light shaking)
El Salvador, San Salvador (170.2 km NW from epicenter) / MMI IV (Light shaking) (via app)
(89.2 km NNW from epicenter) / MMI III (Weak shaking) (via app)
San Salvador (El Salvador) (159 km NW from epicenter)(no details): Fuerte y rapido (via EMSC)
Read all reports
Tue, 31 Jul
Tue, 31 Jul 10:35 UTCM 2.6 / 120 km - [info] (57 km)18 km al Oeste de San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Wed, 1 Aug
Wed, 1 Aug 22:57 UTCM 4.0 / 67 km - [info] (60 km)NEAR COAST OF NICARAGUA
[Map]
EMSC
jinotepe nicaragua / MMI III (Weak shaking): la pantalla de mi coputadora movio
Mon, 13 Aug
Mon, 13 Aug 03:25 UTCM 3.7 / 29 km - [info] (79 km) OFFSHORE EL SALVADOR[Map]EMSC
Wed, 15 Aug
Wed, 15 Aug 22:44 UTCM 5.1 / 49 km - [info] (167 km)Near Coast of Nicaragua
[Map]
GFZ
(231 km N from epicenter) / MMI III (Weak shaking) (via app)
Sat, 18 Aug
Sat, 18 Aug 14:47 UTCM 3.6 / 134 km - [info] (33 km)32 km al Oeste de Rivas, Nicaragua.
[Map]
RSN
Mon, 20 Aug
Mon, 20 Aug 07:59 UTCM 3.3 / 35 km - [info] (163 km)154 km al Oeste de San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Mon, 20 Aug 12:25 UTCM 3.4 / 15 km - [info] (104 km)111 km al Suroeste de Managua, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Mon, 3 Sep
Mon, 3 Sep 09:17 UTCM 3.2 / 16 km - [info] (104 km)70 km al Oeste de San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua.
[Map]
RSN
Tue, 4 Sep
Tue, 4 Sep 11:01 UTCM 2.7 / 62 km - [info] (58 km)17 km al Suroeste de San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua.[Map]RSN
Thu, 6 Sep
Thu, 6 Sep 00:49 UTCM 4.0 / 46 km - [info] (50 km)37 km al Oeste de La Cruz, Guanacaste.
[Map]
RSN

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: