Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
30 Mar - 6 Apr 2019: Land of Theseus - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
2-17 May 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
4-11(12) May 2019: Fascination Volcano - Santorini Island (Greece)
4-12 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
18-26 May 2019: From Stromboli to Etna - Eolian Islands + Etna volcano (Italy)
25 May - 1 Jun 2019: Etna Discovery - Etna volcano (Italy)
7-12 Jun 2019: Adventure Volcano - Yasur Volcano Travel - Tanna Island (Vanuatu)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - on Wednesday, 13 June 2018

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake  -  on Wednesday, 13 June 2018
Jun 13 18:22: Magnitude recalculated from 4.6 to 4.5.
Jun 14 10:12: Magnitude recalculated from 4.5 to 4.6.
Date & time: Wed, 13 Jun 18:17:22 UTC
Local time at epicenter: 13 Jun 2018 12:17:22 Guatemala
Magnitude: 4.6
Depth: 10.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 14.6624°N / 92.6603°W (Mexico)
Nearest volcano: Tacana (94 km)
Primary data source: INSIVUMEH
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 13 Jun 2018
Wed, 13 Jun 18:17 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km- 27km W of Puerto Madero, Mexico[Map]USGS

"I felt it" reports:
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 13 Jun 22:40 UTCM 4.0 / 74 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 14 Jun 2018
Thu, 14 Jun 23:57 UTCM 4.0 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 15 Jun 2018
Fri, 15 Jun 10:14 UTCM 4.1 / 15 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 18 Jun 2018
Mon, 18 Jun 04:26 UTCM 4.1 / 10 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 20 Jun 2018
Wed, 20 Jun 01:13 UTCM 4.2 / 77 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Fri, 22 Jun 2018
Fri, 22 Jun 04:05 UTCM 4.1 / 37 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 22 Jun 19:21 UTCM 4.0 / 17 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Fri, 22 Jun 22:47 UTCM 4.1 / 12 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 24 Jun 2018
Sun, 24 Jun 12:59 UTCM 4.0 / 98 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 25 Jun 2018
Mon, 25 Jun 05:20 UTCM 4.6 / 51.3 km - [info]- 27km S of Iztapa, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Mon, 25 Jun 10:49 UTCM 4.4 / 38 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 26 Jun 2018
Tue, 26 Jun 14:55 UTCM 4.4 / 35 km - [info]- 53km SW of La Gomera, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Wed, 27 Jun 2018
Wed, 27 Jun 14:45 UTCM 4.8 / 10 km - [info] Guatemala[Map]GFZ
Fri, 29 Jun 2018
Fri, 29 Jun 12:29 UTCM 4.3 / 85 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 29 Jun 20:51 UTCM 4.0 / 10 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 1 Jul 2018
Sun, 1 Jul 11:13 UTCM 4.1 / 35 km - [info]- 67km SW of Nueva Concepcion, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Sun, 1 Jul 19:23 UTCM 4.2 / 24 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 2 Jul 2018
Mon, 2 Jul 07:04 UTCM 4.2 / 49.1 km - [info]- 55km SSW of Nueva Concepcion, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Mon, 2 Jul 20:43 UTCM 4.4 / 38 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Wed, 4 Jul 2018
Wed, 4 Jul 04:14 UTCM 4.2 / 108 km - [info]CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 5 Jul 2018
Thu, 5 Jul 03:31 UTCM 4.0 / 85 km - [info]CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 6 Jul 2018
Fri, 6 Jul 02:17 UTCM 4.4 / 91 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Sun, 8 Jul 2018
Sun, 8 Jul 20:02 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 9 Jul 2018
Mon, 9 Jul 04:15 UTCM 4.7 / 117 km - [info]Mexico-Guatemala Border Region[Map]GFZ
Wed, 11 Jul 2018
Wed, 11 Jul 14:47 UTCM 4.0 / 83 km - [info]CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 11 Jul 23:14 UTCM 4.0 / 102 km - [info] GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Fri, 13 Jul 2018
Fri, 13 Jul 07:26 UTCM 4.0 / 12 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 13 Jul 16:02 UTCM 4.5 / 17 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 14 Jul 2018
Sat, 14 Jul 06:20 UTCM 4.1 / 95 km - [info] GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Sun, 15 Jul 2018
Sun, 15 Jul 11:47 UTCM 4.0 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 19 Jul 2018
Thu, 19 Jul 10:16 UTCM 4.1 / 25 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 22 Jul 2018
Sun, 22 Jul 13:40 UTCM 4.2 / 51.8 km - [info]- 24km SSW of Puerto San Jose, Guatemala[Map]USGS
Tue, 24 Jul 2018
Tue, 24 Jul 09:12 UTCM 4.3 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 27 Jul 2018
Fri, 27 Jul 13:07 UTCM 4.0 / 70 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Wed, 1 Aug 2018
Wed, 1 Aug 16:05 UTCM 4.9 / 10 km - [info]Near Coast of Chiapas, Mexico[Map]GFZ
Thu, 2 Aug 2018
Thu, 2 Aug 00:27 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 5 Aug 2018
Sun, 5 Aug 00:55 UTCM 4.2 / 15 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 5 Aug 04:53 UTCM 4.2 / 113 km - [info] GUATEMALA[Map]EMSC
Thu, 9 Aug 2018
Thu, 9 Aug 19:21 UTCM 5.2 / 10 km - [info]Near Coast of Guatemala[Map]GFZ
Fri, 10 Aug 2018
Fri, 10 Aug 03:44 UTCM 4.4 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 13 Aug 2018
Mon, 13 Aug 19:19 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 14 Aug 2018
Tue, 14 Aug 07:03 UTCM 4.1 / 18 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 14 Aug 22:25 UTCM 4.1 / 21 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 16 Aug 2018
Thu, 16 Aug 17:33 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 18 Aug 2018
Sat, 18 Aug 23:47 UTCM 4.1 / 91 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 22 Aug 2018
Wed, 22 Aug 21:28 UTCM 4.3 / 17 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 22 Aug 22:35 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 25 Aug 2018
Sat, 25 Aug 01:54 UTCM 4.0 / 13 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 26 Aug 2018
Sun, 26 Aug 06:50 UTCM 4.2 / 16 km - [info]OFF COAST OF CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 28 Aug 2018
Tue, 28 Aug 12:16 UTCM 4.3 / 15 km - [info]OFFSHORE CHIAPAS, MEXICO[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: