Get our newsletter!
Check out our volcano tours on VolcanoAdventures.com!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - app for iPhone & iPad

Guaranteed tours:
15-17 Jun 2019: Treasures of the Saronic Gulf - Saronic Gulf (Greece)
15-30 Jun 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
8-23 Jul 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
12-30 Aug 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
13-29 Aug 2019: Volcanoes of Java - Java (Indonesia)
14-17 Aug 2019: Krakatau Volcano Special - Krakatau volcano (Indonesia)
1-19 Sep 2019: Kamchatka - Land of Colors - Kamchatka (Russia)
3-18 Sep 2019: From Krakatau to Bali - Java (Indonesia)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Interactive map of latest earthquakes and active volcanoes in the world

Support us?


Maintaining the volcano and earthquake news sections on this website, the free Volcano Webcams tool and interactive map widget is a free-time, both time- and server cost intensive effort.
If you find the information useful and would like to support us, and help keep it alive and improve it, please consider making a small donation. Thank you!
Random pictures

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake - OAXACA, MEXICO on Tuesday, 10 July 2018

Light mag. 4.6 earthquake  - OAXACA, MEXICO on Tuesday, 10 July 2018
Jul 10 02:21: Magnitude recalculated from 4.2 to 4.6.
Hypocenter depth recalculated from 50.0 to 30.0 km.
Date & time: Tue, 10 Jul 01:52:45 UTC
Magnitude: 4.6
Depth: 30.0 km
Epicenter latitude / longitude: 15.88°N / 97.09°W (Mexico)
Nearest volcano: Pico de Orizaba (288 km)
Primary data source: EMSC
Estimated released energy: 5*10^11 J (139 MWh / 120 tons of TNT) [learn more]
If you felt this quake (or if you were near the epicenter), please share your experience with us and submit a short "I felt it" report.
You can use your GPS or device location as well to show where you were during the earthquake.
- thank you.

Data for same earthquake as reported from other agencies
TimeMag. / DepthLocationSource
Tue, 10 Jul 2018
Tue, 10 Jul 01:52 UTCM 4.2 / 49.8 km- 10km NW of San Vicente Coatlan, MexicoUSGS

"I felt it" reports:
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca / MMI III (Weak shaking): Heard it for a second before I felt it. Thought it was thunder, then felt the shaking. Relatively short.
Puerto Escondido / MMI II (Very weak shaking)
Earthquakes in same area up to 1 year afterwards (likely aftershocks)
TimeMag. / DepthLocationMapSource
Wed, 11 Jul 2018
Wed, 11 Jul 22:35 UTCM 4.3 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 13 Jul 2018
Fri, 13 Jul 00:25 UTCM 4.1 / 56 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 14 Jul 2018
Sat, 14 Jul 06:29 UTCM 4.2 / 72 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 15 Jul 2018
Sun, 15 Jul 00:41 UTCM 4.2 / 5 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 15 Jul 02:35 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 17 Jul 2018
Tue, 17 Jul 11:43 UTCM 4.3 / 13 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 18 Jul 2018
Wed, 18 Jul 03:37 UTCM 4.5 / 7 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 18 Jul 20:20 UTCM 4.2 / 28 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 20 Jul 2018
Fri, 20 Jul 05:37 UTCM 4.1 / 12 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 20 Jul 08:05 UTCM 4.0 / 12 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 20 Jul 23:33 UTCM 4.5 / 62 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 21 Jul 2018
Sat, 21 Jul 01:29 UTCM 4.7 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 23 Jul 2018
Mon, 23 Jul 00:25 UTCM 4.1 / 16 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 24 Jul 2018
Tue, 24 Jul 06:06 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 25 Jul 2018
Wed, 25 Jul 11:59 UTCM 4.0 / 12 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 27 Jul 2018
Fri, 27 Jul 10:51 UTCM 4.0 / 77 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 27 Jul 22:34 UTCM 4.1 / 18 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 28 Jul 2018
Sat, 28 Jul 01:14 UTCM 4.1 / 54 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sat, 28 Jul 13:50 UTCM 4.1 / 49 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 29 Jul 2018
Sun, 29 Jul 03:57 UTCM 4.0 / 15 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 30 Jul 2018
Mon, 30 Jul 07:45 UTCM 4.1 / 18 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 31 Jul 2018
Tue, 31 Jul 01:06 UTCM 4.0 / 45 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 31 Jul 02:51 UTCM 4.2 / 26 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 31 Jul 08:51 UTCM 4.2 / 64 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 1 Aug 2018
Wed, 1 Aug 19:30 UTCM 4.1 / 38 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 2 Aug 2018
Thu, 2 Aug 06:10 UTCM 4.1 / 65 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 2 Aug 06:35 UTCM 4.0 / 5 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 2 Aug 21:21 UTCM 3.7 / 24 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 5 Aug 2018
Sun, 5 Aug 05:08 UTCM 4.2 / 7 km - [info]GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 6 Aug 2018
Mon, 6 Aug 02:39 UTCM 4.0 / 12 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 6 Aug 04:43 UTCM 4.0 / 14 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 9 Aug 2018
Thu, 9 Aug 17:11 UTCM 4.3 / 30 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 10 Aug 2018
Fri, 10 Aug 13:31 UTCM 3.5 / 13 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 12 Aug 2018
Sun, 12 Aug 08:05 UTCM 4.4 / 15 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 12 Aug 08:11 UTCM 4.1 / 59 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 13 Aug 2018
Mon, 13 Aug 04:57 UTCM 4.2 / 15 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 13 Aug 23:46 UTCM 4.2 / 30 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 15 Aug 2018
Wed, 15 Aug 21:29 UTCM 4.0 / 60 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 16 Aug 2018
Thu, 16 Aug 16:15 UTCM 4.5 / 31.8 km - [info]- 22km E of Santa Maria Zacatepec, Mexico[Map]USGS
Thu, 16 Aug 17:25 UTCM 4.2 / 6 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 17 Aug 2018
Fri, 17 Aug 01:32 UTCM 4.1 / 69 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 20 Aug 2018
Mon, 20 Aug 03:46 UTCM 4.4 / 67 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Tue, 21 Aug 2018
Tue, 21 Aug 13:47 UTCM 3.7 / 12 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 24 Aug 2018
Fri, 24 Aug 21:32 UTCM 4.1 / 5 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Fri, 24 Aug 23:57 UTCM 4.5 / 10 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 26 Aug 2018
Sun, 26 Aug 15:08 UTCM 4.0 / 6 km - [info]OFFSHORE GUERRERO, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Mon, 27 Aug 2018
Mon, 27 Aug 21:49 UTCM 4.2 / 69 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Wed, 29 Aug 2018
Wed, 29 Aug 02:56 UTCM 4.1 / 4 km - [info]OFFSHORE OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Thu, 30 Aug 2018
Thu, 30 Aug 15:20 UTCM 4.0 / 14 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC
Sun, 2 Sep 2018
Sun, 2 Sep 09:37 UTCM 4.0 / 13 km - [info]OAXACA, MEXICO[Map]EMSC

 

More on VolcanoDiscovery:

Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Text and images on this webpage are copyrighted. Further reproduction and use without authorization is not consented. If you need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint || Français | Deutsch
Follow us: